Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Sonesta Beach Resort



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Sonesta Beach Resort

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 210 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

very disapointing!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 10/07/2010 Anonymous  from Derbyshire said...

We went to the Sonesta for 2 wks. First impressions were good, gardens are kept immaculate, and the pools are great. Room was ok but need updating! On the 3rd day my husband got the dreaded tummy bug that everyone gets in Egypt; myself and my 3 children all got it too. This lasted on and off for the whole 2wks. We went to the doctor and we were given some tablets this cost 60euros. Later we discovered we could buy from the local chemist for much cheaper. They helped for a day or so but than the bug returned. Most people at the resort had the bug and for most of their holiday. It completely ruined it. Staff in the dome restaurant were nice at first but than towards the end of our holiday, they didnt even bother to bring water to our table, get us a highchair or set our table; all of which we did ourselves.

The entertainment is really poor; it's aimed mainly at the Italians and russians. The kids club reps were terrible and when we went to the party at the club there were kids aged 13+ having full blown fights, which the reps found funny. They were susposed to be doing face painting for the kids but couldn't be bothered and only did a couple of kids than said no to my daughter leaving her in tears.

Overall really dissapointing holiday, hygiene must be a problem, as everyone gets so ill, drinks are obviously recycled! they were disgusting. Pop was flat with film of grease on top. The food from the pool bar where the chef made up rolls infront of you, he was really rude and the cheese in the tubs were covered in mould; if this is what you can see; i dread to think whats going on behind the scenes! I would not reccomend this holiday to anyone!!!

Review based on a trip in June 2010

Thomson replied...

" Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were unwell during your stay. Sickness in Egypt is common and we do take every reporting very seriously. Your comments on the buffet restaurant will be passed back to the hotelier and restaurant manager for their attention. The Sonesta Beach is an international hotel and therefore has to cater for Italians and Russians along with other nationalities. As printed in the brochure you will find that the entertainment is only advertised as low key with 5 shows a week performed but local Egyptian acts. The kids club at this particular hotel is not run by Thomson. Regarding the staff you have mentioned, this will be monitored and of course relayed back to the head of departments within the hotel. "

fab stay

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 26/06/2010 Anonymous  from Hampshire said...

The resort was wonderfull .The staff are very friendly and carn't do enough to please you .We took our 2 girls with us and they used the kids club nearly every day and loved it .The rooms and bedding etc are cleaned every day but the floors and the bathroom could have done with a bit more attention,but would not put us off going back. Pools and gardens are amongs the cleanest i have ever seen on our travels

Review based on a trip in June 2010

Our holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 23/06/2010 Anonymous  from Edinburgh said...

Excellent location, Nice room, Pools nice,...now for the moans,............Flights over and back were dismal!, Lotus Air!! OMG!!!!!!!!!!..........No inflight entertainment, no drinks to be had, apart from red wine, A 5 and half hour flight, with crabbit air attendants, especially to young children, No water to be had apart from meal time, not even any to buy! Never saw attendant till an hour and a half after take off, there and back! Will never fly with that airline again. Enjoyed actual holiday, just a few wee gripes, no tea n coffee facilities in rooms, meals a bit samey, but we were there for 14 days, but edible, breakfast was best meal off the day...As we were all inclusive expected better drinks on offer through the day. Entertainment was the same ppl all the time when we were there, so got bored off it after 2 nights. All staff were freindly and helpful, didnt like get hassled at pool by staff to go on ecursions etc. But overal really enjoyed it, Thomson rep josef was really helpful, as he was egyptian he let us know where to get things etc.

Review based on a trip in June 2010

Return visit to Sonesta Beach Resort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 24/05/2010 Anonymous  from Surrey said...

Have stayed at this hotel before - we returned because we enjoyed the first visit so much. We prefer the beach - although crowded, we always found beds and the beach boys are so helpful. We returned because the snorkelling is brilliant - the reefs just off the beach are wonderful - the glass bottomed boats are there for a good reason. Too many people feed the fish and we did say that better notices are required. People just want good photographs of the fish and I'm sure do not realise that feeding them is prohibited and not good for the ecology of the reef. We saw a huge variety of fish including wrays, octopus, lion fish and even clown fish (affectionately called 'nemos'). The hotel staff are wonderful - very polite and friendly - even the gardeners will greet you with a smile if you take the time to say hello to them. The 'seafood' evening dinner on the beach was particularly good value for money. We did not go on any trips - we did the 'Tiran Island' snorkelling last time. The food is very good - there is so much choice, you would have to be really picky not to find something you like. We particularly loved the fresh fish - melt in the mouth stuff! The location of the room was quite a distance from the beach but great for the Cactus pool. The view of the sunset over the mountains is quite something and quite frankly, with all the wonderful food - the exercise was definitely needed. The best time for snorkelling is early morning before the boats and people churn the silt up - although the farther out you go to the edge of the reef this is not too much of a problem. Some people were put off by a few jelly fish - these are small pink things that do not sting, however, one day quite a few of them got washed in and the staff scooped them out for the guests. We got badly bitten by mosquitoes on the first night - we hadn't unpacked the spray - so beware! We would definitely return to this hotel at some future date and recommend it to friends.

Review based on a trip in May 2010

Superb Hotel in beautiful surrounding

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 23/05/2010 Anonymous  from Hampshire said...

Have just returned back from the Sonesta Beach Resort Hotel, my wife & I throughly enjoyed every minute of our stay here, the food was always hot & fresh with choices for any age group, the Sonesta is kept in an immaculate condition daily, the rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels & bed linen, the gardens are constantly pruned & is presented beautifully, there are choices of restaurant for you to choose from with staff who are eager to please you throughout your stay, the restaurant we most frequently used was the "Citadel" the manager here is called Wafy Saied, he could not do enough for you and would find you a table to dine at any time of the day, he even bought my wife a hat to wear because she got a little sun stroke & was genuinely concerned for her, he even made her an Egyptian remedy for feeling unwell which is rather like hot lemon & syrup & it did the trick. we were supposed to travel earlier to the Sonesta but unfortunate events such as the Volcanic ash prevented that from happening, but all the staff at Thomsons were brilliant & we went a couple of weeks later instead, also the rep at the resort who's name was Yousiff is a credit to thomson, once again he would go out of his way to ensure your stay is a pleasant one (well done to him), after reading some of the comments made by other travellers to this Hotel, left me wondering did they stay at the same hotel? everybody we spoke to were already making plans to return here in an instance, including us! so do go to the Sonesta Beach Resort and just simply enjoy every minute of it as we did, thankyou Thomsons we shall be seeing you again very soon to re-book our trip back to the Sonesta.

Review based on a trip in May 2010


Page 30 of 42

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson