Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Savoy Gardens



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Savoy Gardens

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 420 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Honeymoon

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 19/07/2013 Anonymous  from Essex said...

We wanted to go somewhere special for our honeymoon and people had recommended Madeira as we didnt want a long haul flight. What people didnt tell us was it was very hilly! The hotel itself is a bit dated and seemed to be stuck in a time wharp! However, our room was fantastic, it was the top room with a bedroom, lounge area and a double large balcony with sunbeds and table chairs, our only gripe was the bed which was really hard and we did have a small infestation for a cople of days. But in saying that, the hotel did sort the problem out for us very quickly. The staff were very friendly and courteous and kept the place looking nice and clean. The Thomson staff were also very friendly, sometimes a little crazy, but again the entertainment although very good, was stuck in a time wharp. The outside entertainment brought in could have been a bit better. We did do a couple of trips, the Enchanting East and the West and we also did the cable car and toboggans, which is a must, not as scary as they look!! The weather was a little poor when we first arrived, but then had a heatwave which was lovely. Although the hotel is situated on a hill, it wasnt a bad location, as you could walk 10 mins down to the larger hotels and some shops and bars and if you walked the other direction down it took you about 15-20 mins to walk into Funchal and the harbour. All in all we had a lovely time, with some nice memories, but because of all the hills, very much doubt we will go again.

Review based on a trip in July 2013

great madiera

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/07/2013 Anonymous  from Merseyside said...

food was fantastic at this hotel which included a full english breakfast which we didnt expect .we stayed on the 5th floor. .bedroom was smaller than we are used to..going down into madiera from hotel was a pleasant walk but coming back was a grualling uphill struggle.excursions to the east coast was a great day out with a smashing lunch and a bottle of wine included.. will return in future to the same hotel.

Review based on a trip in July 2013

Class hotel. Great service.

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 12/07/2013 Anonymous  from West Sussex said...

Very good couples only hotel. rooms have a mini fridge and kettle (take your own tea & coffee). Beds Hugh. The roof terrace has a large hot tub, the only downside is there are no umbrellas or shade so be careful ( we had bad sunburn). Large pool with plenty of sun beds. The area is very hilly so if you walk into town you will need a taxi back. (5-8 euros). Thompson staff very helpful. Take the four wheel drive tours, they are good value and a great time. The island is small but beautiful. Beaches none unless you like rocks. Overall a good holiday, we would return to the Savoy gardens.

Review based on a trip in July 2013

Lovely Hotel, great stay

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 11/07/2013 Anonymous  from Essex said...

Hotel has great facilities and very friendly helpful staff. Restaurant very well run and food excellent, great choice at both breakfast and dinner. Entertainment very good, the team are very motivated and friendly. Position on steep hill could be a slight problem but buses run frequently close to the hotel and taxi's in abundance and reasonable. Went to 'The Fort' restaurant in the old town for special meal and can certainly recommend, very memorable meal in lovely surroundings. Funchal is a lovely city and scenery in the hills is stunning, a lovely place for a holiday.

Review based on a trip in July 2013

Amazing holiday!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 05/07/2013 Anonymous  from Berwickshire said...

My partner and I had a weeks holiday in june. Being a young couple in our 20's many people commented on the strange choice of destination as its normally associated with the more mature travellers. However, it totally depends on what you want from a holiday. If you want beach, buzzing nightlife and lazing about its not for you. We love to sightsee and explore and this was the best holiday for this. So much to see and do, scenery is stunning, weather great, friendly people, great food and fab hotel. Very painful on the legs as wherever you go there are very steep hills!! Would definitely go for another holiday and stay at this hotel, couldnt fault it. To top it off my partner proposed at the end of the holiday, perfect!

Review based on a trip in June 2013


Page 1 of 84

1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson