Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Clubhotel Riu Ocho Rios



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Clubhotel Riu Ocho Rios

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 152 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Best Holiday Ever!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 11/12/2010 Anonymous  from West Yorkshire said...

I arrived home from Jamaica on 5th December after staying at the Riu Ocho Rios and this was by far the best holiday Ive ever had! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous - Fantastic location on its own clean, massive beach. The rooms were very spacious as were the balconies and the beds and pillows were very very comfortable! The food in all the restaurants was so good - make sure you eat at the Jerk Hut on the beach at lunchtime, the chicken is brilliant! The entertainment staff really made this holiday for us as they are so friendly and absolutely hilarious, really really genuine people - the daytime and evening entertainment never got boring. We did horse riding, cool runnings and swimming with dolphins while we were there and I would recommend all of these excursions. I would recommend an organised visit to Kingston too - real eye opener and insight into the real Jamaica. We left the hotel to go to Ocho Rios and do some shopping (10 mins by taxi which cost $15 US each way) and we also went out to a club a couple of nights called Margaritaville which the hotel organises transport for - make sure you go there if you want to party and do something different. Absolutely fantastic! We felt very safe while over there - myself and my friend are both 23 year old women. Jamaicans are so friendly and only ever want to help you get the most out of your holiday. Ive actually just booked us another 2 weeks in June and thought Id write a review while I was here. As we are both Travel Agents we don't read or write reviews or visit the same place twice but I had to rave about this place and we just cant wait to go back!

Review based on a trip in November 2010

Spoilt by beach vendors

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/10/2010 Anonymous  from Cambridgeshire said...

We always try to stay in Riu hotels. This one is really huge, the rooms smelt musty but it lived up to most of Riu expectations. A word of advice - get your pool towels BEFORE you go to the welcome meeting. We left the meeting at 11am and all the towels had gone and there were no more until mid afternoon. We used bath towels instead until then. Also we often waited for our room towels to arrive. A couple of times I went to reception to complain but managed to catch a maid on her rounds to get fresh towels. This happened all too often for my liking. There were several other downsides to our holiday, the main one being the hassle we got on the beach from the vendors. They are all illegel and are not supposed to be on there but we could not walk along without them trying to sell us all sorts of tacky things. To add to that they came in the water after you too! Then there were the jet skis - the men sat all around the edge of the swimming area and called and histled all day long for business. We complained bitterly to our rep (Pauline, a Jamaican) and SHE told us that Thomson and the management could do nothing about it. Funny that because within half an hour the police arrived and sent them all packing. Would you believe that we were free of them for about 3 days after that. So something could be done. We also went on several Thomson trips and every one we went on TIPPING WAS EXPECTED. Every coach had notices for tips. Got really fed up with it!!! In fact on Cool Runnings to Dunns River Falls a girl even stood in the way on the gangplank on our return holding a bucket as we went to get off! Dunns River Falls itself was a disaster. Forget health and safety it was every man for himself with not a guide to be seen. Our group waited ages for a guide to arrive. When one did turn up, he led us to the base of the falls, linked us up to the previous group and then cleared off! We only saw him again when he took a photo of us under a waterfall about 20 feet up and when we were still left on our own. So much for the sales pitch that you have a guide every step of the way! We left at the first exit because my wife slipped on a rock and badly grazed and bruised her leg on a steep climb. It could have been so much worse. The only comment we got was from the photographer who said it was a souvenir of the Falls to take home! We would not go back to Ocho Rios. Very disappointed as it was not up to the usual Thomson standards we have had in the past.

Review based on a trip in August 2010

Thomson replied...

" We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet all your expectations; we will forward your comments to the hotel management so these issues can be rectified. We are pleased to say that the towels situation has now resolved. We are also sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Dunn's River Falls excursion. We appreciate your comments and will pass these back to our suppliers to make sure they are rectified. "

Book it Now.....

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 03/10/2010 Anonymous  from Greater London said...

I've read a lot of reviews and I've never heard such dross. I went with my girlfriend, 7th of september. Arrived at the hotel, got our keys within about 4 minutes, was asked if we wanted someone to take our bags, which we said no, they gave us a map and we went to the room. We were in room 2203, View of the beach (spotless by the way) and the sea,Clear Blue. Had a fridge stuffed with beer, bigga drinks, tonic water,diet coke and water, plus litre bottle of rum, vodka, Gin and brandy. You can't go wrong really. So far, brilliant. to cut a story short, I have nothing bad to say about this resort, but read on.... Spend the rest of your day exploring the resort, it's massive, go to the welcome meeting If your have Pauline (you're in for a treat). She is the rep that will be real with you. There is no hard sell and she'll tell you the truth. Remember everything over there is "no problem." There are bars all over the place, In the Foyer, on the beach, in the pools, so you will get drunk...(bob marley and Ocean breeze With rum were our drinks of choice). Food. You're in jamaica, There will be a lot of jamaican food, but they have other foods from around the world as well as the resturants that you have to book... Sir Richard, Mamee Bay are superb, stupendous,fabulous and any other words you can think off that means GREAT. You have to remember that everything in Jamaica is laid back, Everyone says hello to you, and if you look after them, They'll look after you. Excursions aren't that expensive... Dunns River Falls is a must. Evening entertainment was "the Dogs", every evening was something different and the crew get everyone envolved... Do you know what, why are you reading this? go and book the holiday to this resort.Now! .. I want to go again next year

Review based on a trip in September 2010

Excellent can't wait to go back

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 19/09/2010 Anonymous  from East Yorkshire said...

We have just recently from this fab hotel. The rooms are excellent we were in a room with a whirlpool bath.Rooms are cleaned every day.The hotel is spotless, with fresh flower in all the restrooms. The food is really good there is so much choice and it was not repetative. The Gourmet restaurant is lovely, as is the Asian and Steak house, we had no problem booking the restaurants (and did not have to queue for hours to book them). We never had a problem getting a sunbed no matter what time of day it was, either on the beach or around the pools. Nothing is to much trouble and you are always made to feel special. The staff are so friendly. On our last day we felt we were leaving freinds we had known a long time. Pauline the Thompsons rep is great she is very loud but such a bubble comical person. She shouts to u every time she sees u and make you feel that you are the only holiday makers she has to look after and she really cares about you. Cannot wait to go back.

Review based on a trip in August 2010

Absolutly loved Riu Ocho Rios

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 14/09/2010 Anonymous  from England said...

I cant wait to go back, it was the most beautiful resort and the entertianment was amazing i loved every show , the dancers in the Ent crew were amazing they can bust a move!!!! the Jerk hut was fantastic , ate there everyday for lunch and everytime was amazing ..... the entertainment staff was really great they know how to interact with every one and they made the trip very fun and exciting my kids loved it so much .... hats off to Anthony he was very pleasant and patient and showed my kids great dance moves that they cant wait to show there friends he was fantastic... Big Bird and Crazy Mona were other favorites that my kids enjoyed they even cried when we left lol so did I ! we are deffintley coming back .. best time ever and Iam going back .. food was great and resort is beyond gorgeous , the beach words cant even describe and staff was always smiling and friendly , WE WENT FOR A WEDDING AND ALL I CAN SAY IS I HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS PLACE FOR WEDDINGS GORGEOUS!!! My Name is Sandra Mckenzie , Iam from Hamilton , Ontario Canada and visited this great place on 05 sept 2010 till 12 sept 2010

Review based on a trip in September 2010


Page 6 of 31

5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson