Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Grupotel Macarella Suites



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Grupotel Macarella Suites

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 59 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Macarella Suites & Spa Amazing

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/06/2011 Anonymous  from Oxfordshire said...

Came back from here on the 8th June 2011, after an 11 night stay.

The hotel and staff are amazing and the hotel is in great surroundings, we love Menorca and cala'n Bosch itself and have been to the area many times.

The hotel facilities are great, very clean, very tidy and the food is perfect.

The selection of food is fantastic and everyone will find something to eat here.

The staff are so friendly, welcoming and helpful.

It was nice to find a quality hotel to get some well earned rest.

The spa facilities are brilliant and very usable.

The Thomson rep at our hotel, Laura, was very nice, helpful and great to have a chat with.

Only 2 things let the actual holiday down

1. Noisy English children that just want to be heard around the pool, whereas we just wanted the piece and quiet.

2. Thomson airways flights, well the planes to be more precise, they were old planes and very cramped, I could not get the tray on the back of the seat down in from of me, this was a first for me, and yes I have been on budget airlines as well as top quality ones.

However the hotel is fantastic as is the resort.

Hire a car a defiantly go to Mahon and a trip to the top of el torro is a must.

Review based on a trip in June 2011

Great place to stay, let down by the lukewarm food.

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 12/10/2010 Anonymous  from West Yorkshire said...

The Macarella hotel is part of Grupotel offering suites with in a hotel. It offers more than just a bedroom, it comprises double bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette (cooker, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle etc.), dining room and lounge (with flat screen tv with UK tv programs) all rooms a/c and two balconies. We were staying half board, but this was a great asset to prepare snacks and keep drinks cool in the fridge. The pool was large enough for everyone, large towels for poolside free from reception with deposit of 10 euros, these could be changed twice in 10 days. The hotel had a policy of no early morning towels to book sun beds which is good. The cleaning service is very good and the hotel is spotlessly clean, towels and sheets changed regularly. The food has still not reacted to earlier comments of not been hot most of the evening meal's food is lukewarm, although you can get the main meat course cooked for you if you are prepared to wait. There is a reasonable choice but does get repeated. Breakfast plenty of choice but pretty much the same comments on being lukewarm, but really good omelettes can be cooked to order and are fine, always hot. The restaurant policy is long trousers, no shorts, at evening meal time, this is good, but I think all the hotels above a certain standard should re-phrase this to no shorts or jeans. Many younger people came into the restaurant with old faded jeans and T shirt. This is not smart and they looked more like workmen coming to repair the cooking equipment, they may think that this covers the long trousers issue but does not, and is nothing short of scruffy when 85 of guests make the effort to dress smart. The hotel should address the issue, no shorts, no jeans. We went in October and there was almost no entertainment in the hotel, the bar was not a great place to go either, but we went into the marina area and enjoyed that, this did start to close down during the first week of October, and I think by mid October there will be little there. So we were able to sit on the balcony and drink our own much cheaper drinks from the nearby supermarket, a bottle of wine was 2 to 3 euros and beer/lager 1.5 euros for a litre bottle. Compare that with 4.8 euros (£4.25) for a half litre of beer/wine around the marina and hotel. Things are expensive, much more so than UK, we are lucky back in UK, only drinks from the supermarket are of a comparable price. All in all a good holiday and value for money

Review based on a trip in October 2010

Relaxing time

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 10/10/2010 Anonymous  from Lancashire said...

Stayed here for ten days and we had a brilliant holiday. We had a one bedroom apartment with a lovely kitchen area, large bathroom with a seperate bath and shower and a large lounge area our balcony looked over the pool. There was never a rush for sun beds you could go to the pool at any time of day and get one, alas you still get certain people (YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE)putting down towels before breakfast every morning because they had to have the same spot each day. (THERE WAS NO NEED). The staff and rep were fantastic and happy to help. The marina is a great place for families with family friendly bars LEGENDS BAR is reccomended. If i was pushed to complain about anything it would be the food was a bit hit and miss, a bit dry and cold at times so we ate out more times than not. We will DEFFINETLY be going back next year but would probably go bed and breakfast.

Review based on a trip in August 2010

Great for an easy, relaxing family break

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 31/07/2010 Anonymous  from Berkshire said...

This hotel pretty much matched the expectations we had having read previous reviews, but with a couple of pleasant extras. The room was a generous size, great air conditioning, adequate kitchen facilities, clean, decent amount of storage space although a few extra hangers would have been good. Bathroom had bath and separate shower. The restaurant offered a big range of food at both breakfast and dinner, and varied enough from day to day to keep it interesting (unlike some other hotels we've been in). Quality was good, especially the 'show cooked' meats and paellas, although the kids' options were poor. The pool was lovely - clean with well-separated shallow and deep areas, plenty of sunbeds - and one major plus was the lifeguard, so we felt comfortable about our two 10-year olds swimming without us being on watch. One note - lilos etc. weren't allowed once the hotel started getting busy in late July. Didn't try the spa - we seemed to have more than enough to do elsewhere. Evening entertainment in the hotel was patchy - rip-off parrot show was just an excuse to sell photos, but the dancing and violin shows were very good. Unfortunately, tiny audiences meant there wasn't much atmosphere. The Kids' Club looked pretty half-hearted so we were glad we weren't relying on it. The hotel's location was great - easy stroll to the small beach and marina with shops and many restaurants. Bus to Cuitadella costs 1.75 euros each way and runs till midnight, so it's easy to go in for evening shopping and a meal. The only trips we did were two half-day boat trips - Amigos from Cala'n Bosch and a 'Classic Cruise' through Thomson. Both were enjoyable and we'd recommend them, but very different. The Classic Cruise was expensive but we thought worth it for just 12 people on the boat plus two helpful British crew, kayaks, snorkelling equipment and an excellent lunch - much better than a standard boat barbecue. We also went to the Aquarock waterpark twice (10 mins walk) - 4 big slides, good wave machine, plenty of seating, and decent food in the restaurant. It's cheaper after 2.30pm which was long enough really.

Review based on a trip in July 2010

Macarella

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 26/07/2010 Anonymous  from Essex said...

My teenage daughter and I spent one week here, the hotel room was large and comfortable, the terrace looked onto a small lawn and in the evening was extremly peaceful. The room was kept very clean and had efficient air conditioning. The pool was large and had plenty of sunbeds, although there was no mention of it being next to a road. There was a large range of food suitable for most ages and tastes. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The hotel was five minutes from the Marina which had plenty of bars, restuarants and shops. The hotel was next to a supermarket which sold everything. The bus stop, which was outside the supermarket, took you into Ciutadella every half an hour and fares across the island were very reasonable. We found the beaches a little disappointing as they were smaller than expected. Overall, we would definetly go back to the hotel in the future.

Review based on a trip in July 2010


Page 9 of 12

8  9  10  11  12  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson