Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Atlantica Aegean Blue



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Atlantica Aegean Blue

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 220 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

NOT WORTHY OF IT'S 5* RATING.....

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 28/10/2010 Anonymous  from Essex said...

Resort - Very small and mainly shut down as end of season hotel rooms - excellent, can't fault them cleanliness - very very good all over the complex facilities - well where to start.... the beach taverna, juice bar, pool towel huts and Asian restuarants were all closed as it's end of season!!!! Main restuarant - food dwindles quickly to a very limited choice, drinks machines shut down and genrally average for this standard of hotel, because....it was end of season. Please NEVER NEVER consider this hotel for the last part of October as it's END OF SEASON and will either be partly or indeed mainly closed.!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review based on a trip in October 2010

3 not 5 Star

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 21/10/2010 Anonymous  from Greater London said...

Oct13-20th 2010 hotel about half full (800) + poor weather. Mostly adults at hotel due to time of year, outside schools hols and the adults (Brits) we spoke to were generally dissatisfied but not complaining. Best part of hotel was very friendly staff. Room ok but often not made up till 3 or 4pm + not always cleaned properly. Towels, tired looking, grey not white + beds rock hard. Max occupancy 1400 guests + in good weather would possibly be ok due to outside dining, lounge + garden areas/bars. In bad weather nowhere to go, sit or eat. no quiet lounge therefore very noisy, despite there not being many children. Summer holidays + bad weather, absolute nightmare. What it would have been like if hotel was full, dread to think - all crowded in together in lounge/main bar area for 200, indoors with 4 staff? Dining room tried but couldn't cope huge queues fro dinner and as said lounge could only seat about 200 - chaos. Bar staff in lounge excellent though, tried v hard. Food not good, bland but never went hungry. Fine for kids, however only warm at best unless freshly cooked, never saw anyone testing temperature, raw meat not unusual (pork and chicken). Didn't eat it got something else staff didn't seem to understand it could be dangerous. Little variation, also 2 guests we spoke to had stomach trouble, suspected the food and 3 other couples moved to hotel opposite. Our friends changed bedrooms due to constant + pervading smell from kitchen and another couple moved due to noise from generator.

Kolymbia itself has a few tourist shops, Rhodes is 27 kilometers, buses to quote staff run on GMT (Greek Maybe Time). To be fair, hotel probably had the best entertainment set-up for children up to about 10/12 we have seen anywhere and pools except one were clean. Hotel geared up for Germans/English but our and our friends impression was former dominates - there were more Germans in hotel than Brits. In short the worst Thomson holiday we have had in 10 years and hotel certainly nowhere near as good as others used, certainly not Platinum, Gold are vastly superior in terms of food, comfort, entertainment. Atlantic Aegean Blue best described as mediocre but it was end of season as closing at end of October. If however you have young kids and good weather the kids will probably love it - free ice cream, drinks, hot dogs, burgers and chips. Certainly NOT worth the money

Review based on a trip in October 2010

Thomson replied...

" Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear the hotel appears not to meet our usual high standards. We will pass these comments back to our suppliers to make sure these issues have been rectified. "

Good Holiday But Not 5 Star

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 14/10/2010 Anonymous  from Lanarkshire said...

3 Star Hotel in a 1 Star Location with 5 Star Staff. The accomodation is never 5 star. We had upgraded to a deluxe room with private terrace complete with sun loungers and parasol but were very dissapointed. The accomodation was average and sadly faced a brick wall with no view/outlook. The room facilities were poor and lacked any kind of 5 star luxury. Despite it being advertised in the brochure - there was no tea/coffee facilities, no bathrobes, no slippers and no welcome pack. We asked at the reception when we arrived if we could change rooms to something with a bit of a view and ended up in a standard room in the main hotel. It's facilities were the exact same as the so called upgraded room we'd come from but at least we had a view. I wished we hadn't bothered forking out the extra to upgrade as it was a waste of money. Hotel itself was great and the food was excellent with plenty of variety. The staff were all excellent. I was celebrating a birthday during our holiday and the manager sent wine and fruit to the room which i though was a very nice touch. The entertainment team were great and worked really hard however, the evenings were a bit low key with the entertainment only lasting about and hour. This was a problem given the lack of thing to do in surrounding area. You were definately in the middle of knowhere. The biggest let down of all was the air-con being turned off throughout the hotel. The public areas are fine but in the rooms especially at night it really is far too hot still in sept/oct not to have it. The hotel should definately consider either keeping it on or charge a supplement to those who wish it. We had to sleep with the patio door open and ended up bitten alive. Sadly I would not return to this hotel and feel it is a shame as the staff really work very hard but the air-con and quality of accomodation let it down

Review based on a trip in September 2010

not a five star,

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 07/10/2010 Anonymous  from Glamorgan/Morgannwg said...

yes, ok this was a nice hotel but it was not 5star and doesn't deserve platinum status, I say this because we stayed in an Atlantica 5star platinum in Cyprus in June and the two do not compare! in Aegean there was no cocktail welcome and leaving party with the management, no fresh bottled water brought to your room daily and lots of other little things that make a hotel 5star. the paper cups that were used for the all inclusve drinks outside were a joke, they were like childrens party cups, I know you can not use glass and fully understand this, but surely there is something more suitably available. which brings me to the first choice village hotel next door. we had friends staying there the same time so went to view, now that was 5star, and what a difference! the rooms were so much nicer, the pool areas were fab, even their plastic glasses were more inviting than paper cups, the other significant difference was the price, this hotel was cheaper than the aegean! how can thompsons-first choice justify this? having said all this yes the staff were pleasant and helpful and overall it was a nice hotel, but if you are looking for 5star platinum, which we were, this is not it.

Review based on a trip in October 2010

Slightly disapointed

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 06/10/2010 Anonymous  from Nottinghamshire said...

Holiday was fantastic!!! This was mainly down to the free upgrade we got to the first choice holiday village across the road!! The aegean Blue looks nice on the pictures and is nice as a hotel but the food just isnt good quality and the hotel has far too many nationalities arounf the place! to be honest with this hotel being a Thomson Premier I expected much more!!! I asked for champagne to be in my room on arrival and this wasnt there which was abit annoying as it was supposed to be a suprise for my girlfriends birthday, I complained and they apoligised and offered us the free upgrade, we also had chocolates and fruit sent up to our room to apologise! The holiday village was alot more premium and 5 star than this hotel, better food, better rooms, better pools and a swim up bar plus this hotel was a lot more English!!! The aegean Blue is a nice hotel but not worth premium, if you have the choice go to the holiday village as the hotel is amazing and kolymbia itself is a quiet resort and perfect for a relaxing holiday!!!

Review based on a trip in September 2010


Page 26 of 44

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson