Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Aparthotel Golden Avenida Suites



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Aparthotel Golden Avenida Suites

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 323 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Ruined Holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/11/2010 Anonymous  from Devon said...

We were looking for a last minute break in the sun for the October half term and were recommended the Avendia Apartments by a First Choice travel agent, she told us she had been there and it was wonderful. The pictures and description in the brochure made it look really good so we went ahead and booked it. On arrival we realised this was not the case. The apartments are described as bright and fresh with modern furnishing, they are in fact dark and stuffy with furnishings that were old and very worn out. The fridge was covered in rust and the walls and skirting boards were worn away and marked, with the bathroom mouldy and smelt very damp and of wee. Most of the kitchen equipment had been put away without being washed properly and had not been checked by the cleaners. The floor was very dirty and I had to wash it before we could use the apartment. The hotel was running out of a lot of things and as it was the end of the season they were not replacing things, e.g. the icecream freezer had a sign up for a good selection of icecreams but there were only about 2 choices left in the freezer and they were not filling it up with any more. We decided to go half board so everything was in the one place, but because of so few guests at the hotel we had to take half out meals in another hotel down the road which we were not told when we booked the half board option. There was very little choice in the way of food and most of it was, at best, luke warm. At breakfast there was a microwave for heating up babies bottles but people were actually heating their cooked breakfasts up in it so they were of an ideal temperature to eat. I have a very fussy son and when we booked we were told there was a childrens buffet at dinner, for the first few night this was true, but at the other hotel we had to eat in there was not one. We were told by the rep that she would sort this out but nothing changed. I was told there were chips for the kids for dinner and BREAKFAST and that as they were on holiday I should give them these !! One thing my children were looking forward to doing on this holiday was going swimming but in this hotel this was not possible. The whole week we were there only one person went in to the swimming pool and that was my husband. The pool was so cold it was actually impossible to swim in. I would not recomend anyone goes to this hotel and will reconsider going with Thomson/First Choice in the future.

Review based on a trip in October 2010

Thomson replied...

" Thank you for your comments. Should the points in your review have been mention at the time of your stay, everything possible would have been done to rectify the problems The hotel where you took your dinner is in fact a higher quality hotel, being 4T instead of 3T and caters for does have a children¿s buffet. The Aparthotel Golden Avenida Suites does in fact have a heated indoor pool which would have been an alternative for you to the outside swimming pool, during your stay. "

Fantastic holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 01/11/2010 Anonymous  from East Lothian said...

We had a fantastic holiday in October at the Golden Avenida Suites, my husband, son and myself, we were self catering so didn't use the meal option but everything else was spot on.The rooms were clean and tidy, the reception staff very friendly and helpful. But most of all the resort team (Abby, Abi and Lou) were fantastic! They are so helpful, friendly and knowlegeable and nothing is too much trouble. I found all the facilities to be excellent and the provision of a small grocery section in the bar area very useful. We had the pleasure of travelling to Barcelona on the arranged excursion, which was well organised, made all the better by commentary and care from the tour guide Tracy. Overall we are very sad to have to come home as we had such a great holiday, needless to say we will be back and will book with Thomson again. Thank you very much for fantastic service, great care and attention and a flawless holiday.

Review based on a trip in October 2010

Sensational Sunny Salou

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 27/10/2010 Anonymous  from West Yorkshire said...

Salou is a great place for a bit of winter sun, although a little chilly at night and early morning.  The Golden Avenida Suites cannot be faulted, the staff are all friendly, the rooms are spotless and the pool area is especially good.  Although we had no children with us, we could not help but be impressed by the entertainment staff who worked tirelessly to make sure that the kids were having a good time and by so doing so, making the parents' stay more enjoyable.  It is worth taking a trip over to Cambrils and also do not miss the dancing fountains, which is a show in itself, music, lights, lasers!!  We will definintely be back.

Review based on a trip in October 2010

Thomson Animation Team in Resort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 16/10/2010 Anonymous  from Lincolnshire said...

The excursions were very good and Thomson animators team were perfect in this resort, but the rooms were much lower my expectations. The cleaners were throwing quilts on the floor and were not cleaning floor. In the morning cleaners were banging on doors and not letting us to sleep. When we asked them politely not to bang on the door, they returned in 10 minutes and started banging even harder. Also we bought late-checkout till 6pm and we had to move our rooms at 11 o'clock which was very uncomftable, so we had to pack our luggage in the early morning.

Review based on a trip in October 2010

Loved Salou but not the hotel.

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 11/10/2010 Anonymous  from East Lothian said...

Just back from a week in the Avenida Sutes, the rooms were great with the appartment style hotel meaning that you had a fridge and a seperate bedroom which was good. The room was cleaned daily and bedding changed twice. Towels were changed daily if required. Food was below average as most of the time it was luke warm, although when the roasts were on these made for it. There was never an evening that there was nothing that you would want to eat although labeling the food was not done very well all fish was FISH and pork was PIG - this was not good we would have liked to know what kind of fish it was. Facilities were mainly for children and since this holiday was just myself and my partner this was really not what we were looking for. We used the hotel as a base and toured around Salou this is worth while going for walks along the coast which takes you along to the smaller bay in Salou, wandering along the beach front with its fountains and pit stops. The beach is fab and if you go nearer the harbour it is not as busy the beds are only 4euro to hire per day which we thought was very reasonable. Note that although when booking and at the welcome meeting you are told that the hotel do not allow keeping of beds by putting your towel down this does happen and they are not lifted. Also note that the pool area is not in the sun all day long which is frustrating by the afternoon there is no way of moving to a sunny spot when the shade comes over. I suggest that the beach is much better and quieter. The hotel staff were very helpful as were the Thomson Reps at the hotel. Overalll if we had kids with us I would book this hotel as the reps and staff were geared up to cater for them. We will be visiting Salou again but not going to this hotel we will opt for one of the other hotels in Salou.

Review based on a trip in October 2010


Page 24 of 65

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson