Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Cala Saona



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Cala Saona

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 8 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Have always loved Formentera

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/07/2010 Anonymous  from Derbyshire said...

We have stayed at the Cala Saona nearly every year for the last 25 years and have loved every minute of our holidays - I am just about to book another - hopefully! The location of the hotel could not be beaten - the food could be better, but the owners and staff are superb. The island itself is beautiful and it is a joy to stay somewhere you know you can both swim in the sea at the same time and your belongings are safe on the beach! We especially like the beach at Cala Saona and Vogi Mari - naturist or not - it's your choice!

Review based on a trip in May 2009

Formentera

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/06/2010 Anonymous  from Bristol said...

Hotel location was just as we hoped for, right on the beach. The bay and sea was just right, not crowded, and the sea like a warm bath, and this in early June!! Our request for a sea view could not be met although the Hotel was not full, however the ( pine forest ) view was fine and proved to be a very quiet room. Our room,320, was very small. Island a joy, will return and to the same hotel. Hired a scooter for a few days and saw all aspects of this lovely, laid back island. The Thompson staff were faultless, both Paul on Ibiza and Lesley on Formentera giving more help than we are used to after 30 plus years of foreign holidays, and gave massive help at every move. On returning to Ibiza Airport we were met by Thompson rep Michelle who took us straight to Gate 20, bypassing long queues at the other 3 check-ins, amazing!! I have never had a holiday where everything has gone so smoothly and free of any hick-ups! Formentera must have been beutiful and ultra relaxing in the 60's when the Hippies visited, and certainly that laid back atmosphere still holds today. A must is a copy of "Formentera Report" a free coffee table book with lots of pictures going back decades. Look out for these at bars in St Fransisco, the capital. Some good quality restaurants are to be found around the island and make for a change from the hotel food, and quality shops , especially clothes, in St Fransisco. All this and only a 2 hour flight. Thompson certainly went that extra yard in making our holiday so enjoyable. See you there again soon!

Review based on a trip in June 2010

A little piece of heaven

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 07/01/2009 Anonymous  from Pembrokeshire/Sir Benfro said...

Unbelievable island and Cala Sahona is truely exceptional, have been going for 5 years now with Thomson partner company Portland Direct. We may never go anywhere else! The Thomson rep is outstanding, there to help but not constantly in your face, we go there to relax with the knowledge that the rep is available if we need her. The transfer which involves both coach and boat is always smooth without any hassle. Wonderful staff at the hotel, very friendly and happy and always willing to help. The beaches are wonderfully clean and you can always find a quiet one if you are prepared to cycle around the island. No one could ever have a negative comment about Formentera or Cala Sahona.

Review based on a trip in August 2008

The most perfect place

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 23/09/2008 Anonymous  from Flintshire/Sir Fflint said...

My husband and I have been going to the Hotel Cala Saona in Formentera for at least 10 years now. It is the perfect place to relax, away from the crowds, as is the island of Formentera itself. The hotel accommodation is good, and has recently been updated. There is a lovely patio area, for after dinner drinks, with marvellous sea views. Buffet meals are a mix of Spanish, Italian and British foods. Hotel staff go out of their way to help. Apart from Hotel Cala Saona the bay has two restaurants perched on the headland. The nearest village about 10 minutes away by car or a lovely 50 minutes walk along country paths. There is a small hotel shop but you would be better hiring a car or getting a taxi to the main village/town - San Francesc, where there is a medium sized supermarket. Formentera itself is a small friendly island with lots of beautiful white sand beaches, Illetas and Llevante being two of the best. Es Pujols is a small beach resort with a number Hotels and evening Hippy Market along the prom. There is also a Hippy Market at El Pilar on Wednesdays and Sundays which is worth going to. Formentera is like the Mediterranean used to be, before all the huge hotels were built every where else!

Review based on a trip in June 2008

Peace and quiet, with great sunset

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 20/10/2007 Keith & Tina  from Dorset said...

Fantastic location, small friendly hotel right on the beach. Had a great time exept the rude Tompson staff, but don't let this put you off.

Good for families and couples with a very helpful shop next to the hotel,

Review based on a trip in May 2007

Thomson replied...

" We're sorry to hear the rep service you received was disappointing. We strive to provide the best possible service with regards to all aspects of your holiday and can assure you that we will be looking into this further. "

Page 2 of 2

1  2  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson