Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Holiday Reviews of Marsa Alam



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Marsa Alam

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 25 review(s)

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

loved the hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 22/05/2011 Anonymous  from Norfolk said...

The first impression of the hotel was wonderful, and throughout our stay we kept the same impression. the pool bar staff were excellent and the same staff in the evenings carried on their hard work. It was a shame they kept running out of glasses! The hotel only had 40% occupancy which made it relaxed and no trouble in getting a bed at the pool or on the beach! Overall we had a lovely relaxed holiday and would recommend it to everyone.

Review based on a trip in May 2011

not a nice place

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 08/01/2011 Anonymous  from Northamptonshire said...

if the food wasn't cooked it was over cooked pasta dishes every day too salty the rest we couldn't even look at survived on bread and cheese for two weeks as the only edible food there. the rooms were not clean a quick lick and promise to do it later was all we got until we complained about it not only once but twice in two day's then they tried ( I do mean tried as they still never moved anything) entertainment not really never happened we did not go to the gala evenings thank god as we were told they were not up to much by others that went, The heated pool was not open and was being worked on when we got there nobody informed us at all that is was having an overhaul but when they stated spraying the bridges with varnish and not moving anybody with the drift of the varnish going over all the holidaymakers we were disgusted also the pool bar DO NOT DRINK HERE they if you are watching just rinse the glasses under their running water not a drop of washing up liquid did I ever see if you were not watching they just took the dirty glass from somebody else and filled it for you. it took them 1 day after the storm we had to get the water back on so you could wash but is was erratic on then off same with the electric we even before the storm had power cuts. not a clean place not able to eat in the canteen as that is what it is the Space a waste of space. An English manager can not run an Egyptian Hotel. This was our 6th trip to Egypt and this was the most horrid place we have ever stayed in the first impression is it looks out of this world but it is let down by the food and the management and some of the staff. we couldn't wait to get out of there and home for a decent meal .

Review based on a trip in December 2010

FABULOUS RESTA GRAND......ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!!!! AMAZING HOLIDAY!!!!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 24/08/2010 Anonymous  from Tyne & Wear said...

I have recently returned from the resta grand marsa alam.....and what an amazing hotel that is, infact the BEST hotel i have stayed in. The staff were fantastic and friendly and would do anything for you. Food was really really nice, much better than any other all inclusive hotel ive stayed in. Drinks were really good, coca cola/pepsi/sprite/stella :-) and some lovely cocktails. The pool was lovely, especially the pool bar, was never away from it haha. Sun loungers were really comfy, had cushion tops which were a bonus. The bar staff would often coume around the sun loungers asking if anyone wanted drinks and they would bring them to you. All i did most days was lie around the pool, never short of sun beds or habe to be up mega early to get one there is plenty. Bedrooms were amazing, bathroom was huge, 2 kingsize beds and a flatscreen tv!! what more could you ask for. There is a safe in the room also which is handy for everything. The cleaner often leaves nice patterns out of towels when they change your room, the best one was a monkey! As for the nightlife.......there wasnt much going on, the entertainment staff would put on shows in the evening and have a mini disco for kids but there wasnt much else going on so wasnt that lively but one night we went to a foam party on the beach which was absolutely brilliant and the staff from the hotel organised that, would love to do that again. They often have beach partys/disco later in the evening which is quite good but obviously not like your clubbing holidays which was perfect for me as i wanted a nice peacful time. Trips are quite good, i only did one, swimming with dolphins, which was amazing, there was about 100 of them is was great. I cant really express how absolutely fantastic this hotel is but i would recommend it to everyone and i will be returning in the very near future! staff are fantastic/friendly/very very hard working and seem to love the guests. SO OVERALL AN AMAZING HOLIDAY!!!! :-)

Review based on a trip in August 2010

Resta Grand not yet 5 Star

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/04/2010 Anonymous  from Lancashire said...

The restaurant is large and airy and the food is of good standard, although we were served raw chicken one night. My family did not eat together for the two weeks as we were a group of ten and the staff were not prepared to push two tables together. At times it was hard to find a clean table, I set one myself one evening. On three occassions the floor was disgusting at breakfast time from the previous night. Sometimes you are offered a drink and sometimes not. The AI is confusing and changed while we were there. If you take an early breakfast there is no where to get a drink until the pool bar opens at 10am. The Pub bar is of good quality and the cocktails are excellent although chargeable. The service is good but slow at times. Waiter service at the main bar and pool bar improved during our stay and delays were reduced. The A La Carte arrangements remain a complete mystery to me. I could find no menus or prices. We did not see anyone use the, what we thought may be an A La Carte restaurant, in the whole two weeks. Entertainment is confined to the main bar terrace and a weekly beach party, which we did not find out about until it was too late as communication is usually via the grape vine. A major disappointment was the beach as we had several keen snorkelers in our party. Access to the reef is difficult and dangerous. Various injuries cost us #150 in medical costs. The jetty was destroyed by a storm and there is no sign of it being reinstated soon. The hotel laid on a shuttle bus to a proper beach 30 mins away, but once again, you have to tune in to the right grape vine to find out about these things. The rooms were of good quality and the room service good. The pools, one heated, and gardens are of good standard. The laundry service was good and well priced. The massages were excellent as was the helpfulness of the reception staff. The Resta Grand is a fairly new hotel that is striving to improve. Right now it feels more like a 3 star at times, not the 5 star advertised. The service of the rep, Amanda, was excellent. The overnight trip to Luxor including the hot air balloon was incredible. The full day snorkelling trip to the Hamata islands is not to be missed. The whole area is being developed and there is a lot of building work. Activities like quad bike riding, jeep safaris and the beach camel ride which are readily available to other resorts have not yet been established.

Review based on a trip in April 2010

Loved Resta Grande Resort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 23/02/2010 Anonymous  from South Yorkshire said...

We have just returned from Resta Grande resort in Marsa Alam. If you are looking for a resetful, peaceful holiday, with great food, polite staff and an ambience hard to equal, this is the place for you. The staff could not do enough for you. There was always the head chef on duty in the restaurant willing to answer any questions on the gastronomic delights. All in all a perfect holiday for my wife and me, and at the pace we like to amble along at.

Review based on a trip in February 2010


Page 2 of 5

1  2  3  4  5  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson