Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Holiday Reviews of North Male Atoll



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

North Male Atoll

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 4 review(s)

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Makunudu Island Resort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 31/10/2011 Anonymous  from Cheshire said...

How can you put paradise into words, easy, Makunudu Island Resort, this island is outstanding, it's reefs are full of amazing fish, Rays, Turtles and Sharks all of which you can see from in the water or just having a drink in the bar overlooking the sea, we actually swam with Sharks which was something I never thought we would ever do.

The rooms are a lot bigger than I expected and you step out onto your beach straight from your back door to crystal clear water, Saeed who looked after our room was very nice, always smiling and attentive.

The charges for little things at the bar such as Fresh Orange juice and hot chocolate on an All inclusive holiday did surprise us but that would be the only little thing I could say.

Overall this island is outstanding and I would recommend anybody (especially couples) to visit the island.

10/10 from me

Review based on a trip in January 2011

meerufenfushi

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 25/05/2007 Anonymous  from West Sussex said...

Well this island is so relaxed, laid back,luxurious,clean wonderful selection of meals. Excellent service by all staff , this is the closest place to paradise that we have ever found. The robinson crusoe experience was one definetly not to be missed. Wonderful clear warm sea for snorkelling and kayaking.

Review based on a trip in November 2006

Hudhuran Fushi Resort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
Cost of food and drink
Things to do
Restaurants and nightlife
Overall
 

Writing on 15/02/2007 Anonymous  from Edinburgh said...

Hudhuran Fushi is an island roughly 800m by 400m with a high point of 2m. Technically it's uninhabited; in practice it's a resort community. It was warm and dry in February; scrupulously clean and with very friendly staff. The villas are single-storey and have thatched roofs; the bathroom is partly uncovered so you shower under the stars - a fine touch. The food satisfied us: the variety was good and we could help ourselves to as much as we wanted.

Most people disappeared into their villas between about 11am and 4pm, favouring air-conditioning to the sun. Outside those hours there was plenty to do, particularly discovering the wonderful array of fish just under the surface. A trip to the 'coral garden' for a couple of hours' snorkelling was the highlight of the week, closely followed by an afternoon's scuba diving (after a morning's training in the swimming pool). The sunset fishing trip was fun although not especially productive, and sundowner visits to the gym kept our appetites up. The water sports centre tried hard with free taster sessions but was largely ignored by most.

A stunningly-beautiful resort, smiles everywhere and a relaxing week. Good value for money too. We loved every minute of it.

Review based on a trip in February 2007

Huduranfushi resort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
Cost of food and drink
Things to do
Restaurants and nightlife
Overall
 

Writing on 13/01/2007 unhappy holiday makers  from Greater London said...

We travelled to this resort over Christmas 2006 and were extremely dissapointed.There is no way that this can be considered a 4* resort.

The resort itself describes its approach as ?Semi-All Inclusive.? The range of drinks, both alcoholic and non alcoholic, that were included and available under this policy was minimal. In addition, the policy seemed to vary from day to day and by location!

The brochure said that ?beauty of this island extends far below the water where you will find a colourful array of marine life? sadly the reality fell far short of this description:

The lagoon on one side of the island had plainly been destroyed by the tsunami and only tiny patches of living coral remained amidst what can only be described as a graveyard of rubble. One corner of the island had no beach at all and was walled off to prevent guest access. On the side of the island where the main restaurant and bar were located swimming conditions were better and there was some limited reef life, but this area stretched from a projecting line of metal poles at one end to the jetty at the other and faced directly onto the two islands being used by the construction crews for storage and living quarters, of which more later.

Finally, the small area of beach which provided access to the best snorkelling was littered with broken tiles and rubble and provided conditions which can only be described as both unpleasant and dangerous.

It was clear to all of us from the moment of our arrival that we were not coming to the paradise we had all hoped, and paid, for but to a resort that was unfinished and on which building work was still on going.Numerous examples could be given but here are a just a few: Our meals were regularly interrupted by a JCB digger moving around the island.The spa was under construction during our stay as were some ?garden? rooms. Building works often went on through the night.Broken tiles, glass, and rubble were to be found on island paths as well as on some beaches. Piles of builders materials are stored on an island opposite the main bar and pool alongside another island covered in shacks used to house construction workers. A long line of rusting metal supports,the basis of water bungalows, stretches out into the lagoon.

In summary - If you're looking for paradise...this ain't it!

Review based on a trip in December 2006

Thomson replied...

" Our overseas staff keep us constantly informed about any building work - especially in growing resorts. We have no control over building schedules. However, we always do our best to tell you about any specific work going on near your accommodation, if time allows before you go on holiday. All work is now been fully completed at Hudhuranfushi. "

Page 1 of 1

1  

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson