Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Holiday Reviews of Albufeira



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Albufeira

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 15 review(s)

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Portugal is a hidden gem

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/04/2013 Anonymous  from Northamptonshire said...

We stayed in Alfagar II aparthotel and loved every minute of it. The room and the facilities in the room were way beyond our expectations. Kitchen equipment was in A1 condition, some unused. The TV was an LCD and had a variety of channels including 15 or so UK Freeview channels. The village complex that we were on had a great atmosphere and was very spacious with lots amenities. The complex has loads of pools interspersed between the various apartment blocks. The indoor pool is very good. The are some lovely walks down to a great little beach. You should rent a car to see more of the area and to do a trip to more economical supermarkets. Local taxis are really cheap 3 Euros to the strip and 5.50 Euros to the old town. All of the staff on the resort are excellent. They all care about making your stay perfect. This will probably be our annual family holiday destination, year after year. Simply stunning!

Review based on a trip in April 2013

loved Albuferia.

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/07/2012 Anonymous  from County Down said...

Albuferia was the best holiday we have been on in the past 3 years,Loved all the shops in the old town the puppet show on in the square was amazing all the children watching really enjoyed it.we had a beautiful meal in the Shalom grilled pancake and rib house in the old town well worth the money.We stayed in Pateo villiage Apartments were Excellent highly recomend it for families.The local people were very friendly and helpful.looking forward to returning in the future.The beach is totally amazing ,

Review based on a trip in July 2012

Can not believe Thompson have rated this hotel 5 star

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 20/04/2012 Anonymous  from Tyne & Wear said...

Stayed at the Sao Raphael Atlantico hotel in the Algarve from the 12th of April to the 19th of April. This hotel has beautiful grounds and access to a gorgeous beach. The rooms were large and spacious. The hotel had five star facilities however I would not rate it as a five star hotel for the following reasons: I have never stayed in a five star hotel before where I have had to pay for the tiny cartons of milk in my room and for water; being expected to pay for use of the spa I.e The sauna, jacuzzi and hot tub;the food was not of five star quality; the decor was depressing (brown walls and carpets everywhere) and the hotel dining room reminded me of a college refectory.

Albufiera old town offers very little for the shopper - caters more for stag and hen parties and no

Charm about it. The new town is even more depressing. The marina has many boarded up retail units although you can find cheaper meals and drinks in a variety of cares there. The surrounding area however is run down and depressing with evidence of the depressed economy everywhere ...buildings abandoned, basic repairs to walkways not done. We went on a Thompson excursion to Loule and found that depressing too with shops full of what could only be called tat.

The hotel is meant to be exclusively for adults although there were children and families there when we stayed. Facilities described in the Thompson brochure were not accurate e.g. The bar and restaurant on the beach was closed and the piano bar had no piano and was not always open. The fact that the weather was not wonderful meant that there was very little to do in and around the hotel. Would not revisit this resort or hotel and can not understand why Thompson have given this five stars.

Review based on a trip in April 2012

Unbeatable

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 20/10/2011 Anonymous  from East Sussex said...

Casa Luna was very difficult to get to, once there impossible to beat.

Review based on a trip in October 2011

Cerro Da Marina

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Atmosphere
 
Cost of food and drink
 
Things to do
 
Restaurants and nightlife
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/07/2011 Anonymous  from Devon said...

What a lovely small spotless hotel. Everyboby was very friendly, the food was very good and very reasonable. Trust is a big part of their day to day running of the hotel. there is an honesty book where you help yourself to drinks or a game of pool and enter it in a book with your room number, this then is added to your bill at the end of your stay. Brilliant idea and at the end of our stay was not shocked at what we had spent - excellent. Antonio the owner is a lovely man and comes along in the mornings and chats to you. He has a gorgeous little yorkie dog called Junior. Carol and Paulo manning the reception were very friendly as were all the staff. the entertainment on the Friday night was hillarious and our friends and us could not stop laughing and crying - brilliant. Overall a brilliant relaxing holiday.

Review based on a trip in July 2011


Page 1 of 3

1  2  3  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson