Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 5 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Nice upcoming resort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/02/2013 Anonymous  from South Yorkshire said...

Hotel room and atmosphere and location great. The breakfast was nice and varied but we only ate in the hotel in the evening on the first night. We weren't very impressed and it was quite expensive. We had planned to eat out the other nights anyway and prices were about half of the hotel. The resort isn't finished yet. There is only one bar selling alcohol (The Italian). The other restaurants (TGI Fridays and Grand Cafe) are nice but said they weren't allowed to sell alcohol. The other 2 or 3 restaurants were closed for winter. We chose this hotel because we wanted to be able to go out at night and I'm glad we did. The other hotels up and down the coast seem to be in the middle of nowhere so you would be pretty stuck in the hotels only. The bit of Port Ghalib that is built was very nice but it was very quiet in Feb. The locals were in their thick coats and jumpers but it was still very hot for us. It was windy during the day and you need a jacket in the evening. We tend to use Thomson for our flight and hotel and then make the rest of our holiday ourselves so we dived with Extra divers who are based on the marina front and were great. 5 mins from the hotel. The whole set up was perfect for divers and the diving was easy. They offer day boat diving and minibus shore diving everyday. We look forward to going back in a few years when hopefully the resort will be a bit bigger.

Review based on a trip in February 2013

Hotel fine, location dead, Thomson dreadful or non-existent!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 24/01/2012 Anonymous  from Surrey said...

Egypt is suffering dreadfully with a fall away in guests in most locations. This is particularly true at this time of year (Jan) - in the entire hotel (with a capacity of 309 rooms and suites) there were a total of 6-10 guests! This makes the hotel very very quiet. Perhaps this was the reason that we didn't see nor hear from the Thomson rep all week... despite making several requests as we wished to book some trips (lost revenue to Thomson).

We didn't mind the hotel being so empty as we were looking for a tranquil break away but this throws up some potential issues. Firstly and most importantly security: almost every day the hotel security was non existent. We could come and go without being challenged or any proof of id being requested. We watched as other locals (not staff) came and went as if they lived there. Whilst there has not been any terrorism issue here previously the location of the resort and hotel is so far from anywhere that security and safety might be a concern.

Secondly, being so quiet, meant that eating in the restaurant was not the pleasant experience we had hoped - such that we stopped eating in the hotel entirely - it was hard to create an nice ambience when there are so few guests dining and so many staff with nothing to do. It means dinner is completed so quickly... and then there is absolutely NOTHING to do at the hotel by way of entertainment (unless you make it yourself).

The break was fine for us, but if you require more lively times or have children then you would be better selecting a hotel better equipped to entertain you as guests.

Would I return? I am confident that Egypt will resume its former levels, but this is going to take quite some time with the current political changes still underway. Until then I feel its best avoided.

And Thomson.. a truly dreadful experience. An a la carte holiday... but where was the customer experience... the transfer driver couldn't even find the hotel and wanted to dump us at the side of the road. Surly and abrupt staff. Not recommended.

Review based on a trip in January 2012

Amazing holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 21/08/2011 Anonymous  from Kent said...

Luxurious and peaceful. What a lovely hotel and staff, we cannot give enough praise. A huge salt water lagoon, a luxurious fresh water pool, our own coral reef to snorkel right on our doorstep and first class fantastic scuba diving 5 minutes away. Attentive and friendly staff in the most sumptuous surrounding possible. Good food and a spa to enjoy. What more can you ask for? We loved it.

Review based on a trip in August 2011

marsa alam

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 05/12/2010 Anonymous  from Greater Manchester said...

hotel very nice with with pleasant staff. service was rather slow at times but then we were on holiday so it didn't really matter. food in hotel very limited and also expensive along with drinks. not many places to eat round near the marina as it is a very new resort and things are only just getting going. don't go to this hotel or resort if you are looking for lively entertainment as there isn't any just peace and quiet. however it's sister hotel next door does have entertainment on but the hotel is nowhere near as nice as the intercontinental. although the beach is man made it is private to the hotel and is kept spotlessly clean. if you just want time away with nothing to do then this is the hotel for you.

Review based on a trip in November 2010

What a Palace

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 11/07/2010 Anonymous  from Lincolnshire said...

We had such an unforgettable holiday at The Palace which lived up to it's name, every thing from the standard of our room, cleanliness throughout the hotel, the facilities the hotel offers, the quality of the food from a variety of restaurants both in the hotel and close by at the marina, friendly staff, the salt water lagoon the large swing pool and large private beach all of these and more, combine together to make a superb holiday, we cant wait to return.

Review based on a trip in June 2010


Page 1 of 1

1  

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson