Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Resta Grand Resort



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Resta Grand Resort

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 178 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

best ever holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/09/2010 Anonymous  from Greater Manchester said...

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Resta Grand and what a fantastic time we had.Vee the Thomson rep is the best we have ever had and cannot thank her enough for her friendly and caring personality to all.5 stars to Vee and to the manager who go the extra mile to make sure everyone has a troublefree holiday.The annimation staff work hard and are happy and friendly, motivating people of all ages to join in the many activities on offer.The hotel is of a very high standard with luxurious modern spacious rooms and a fantastic lounge at reception.All other staff (bar,pool,dining) are really friendly and polite. This holiday is everything the brochure says and more. There are more than enough extra comfy sun beds at the poolside and on the beach.It was so nice not having to worry about will there any beds left.I would definately recommend this holiday as it was superb and worth the 5 star+.

Review based on a trip in August 2010

Don't go to this hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/09/2010 Anonymous  from West Midlands said...

Resently returned from the Resta Grand Resort, we booked this 5* platinum hotel through First Choice Thomson. On first arrivals to the hotel we was greeted with large scale building sites both sides of the drive. Reception was very grand and rooms were upto standard. The main pool around pool bar had green mould growing in the grouting of the tiles. Food at this hotel was hardly ever hot and the range of food was poor. Portions of meats were tiny and when asked for more was told to move on. (What happened to ALL INCULSIVE) Waiter service very poor contantly no clean glasses. The food was the same throughout the two weeks and very salty. Had to self service our own cutlery and clean of tables before we could sit and eat. Entertainment was nil. We wouldn't rate this hotel a 5* it is only a 3* and half board. People writing other reviews about this hotel haven't been to a 5* all inculsive hotel before and haven't realised what they are missing. If you ask for a quiet resort to relax well this is it you are in the middle of nowhere and i mean nowhere it can be very frightening. Watch out for the needles (there are lots of them inculding the bottles of stuff and lots o rubbish) in the sand while you are walking to the only 4 shops by you. I could keep going on about the resort but the photos say it all. All we can say is see for yourself.

Review based on a trip in August 2010

FANTASTIC !!!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/09/2010 Anonymous  from Norfolk said...

WHAT CAN I SAY THE RESTA GRAND RESORT IS FANTASTIC ME AND MY FAMILY STAYED FOR TWO WEEKS FROM THE 25TH OF AUGUST TO THE 8TH OF SEPTEMBER 2010 AND HAD A GREAT TIME FROM START TO FINSH MY FIRST MEMORY WALKING INTO WHAT I WOULD CALL A PALACE OF A RECEPTION THEN BEING WISKED AWAY BY GOLF BUGGY TO MY ROOM WHICH QUICKLY PUTS A BIG SMILE ON YOUR FACE,THE ROOMS ARE VERY SPACIOUS AND COMFORTABLE THE BEACH IS GREAT AND OFFERS THE CHANCE FOR YOU TO SNORKAL WITHIN AN AMAZING PEICE OF RED SEA CORAL WHICH IS TEEMING WITH ALL DIFFERENT TYPES OF CORAL AND FISH SPECIES BUT REMEMBER IF THERE IS A BLACK FLAG YOU CAN SEE JUST AS MANY FISH IN THE SHALOW POOLS THESE POOLS ARE ALSO GREAT FOR YOUNG CHILDREN LEARNING TO SNORKAL.THE SWIMMING POOL LOOKS JUST LIKE IT DOES IN THE BROCHURE AND IS VERY CHILD FRIENDLY, THE KIDS CLUB WAS A HIT WITH THE KIDS AND VERY WELL RUN. THE FOOD IN THE SPACE RESTRAUNT (BUFFET) WAS VERY GOOD BUT REMEMBER YOU ARE IN EGYPT AND ALOT OF THE FOOD WE TAKE FOR GRANTED WOULD BE SOME WHAT OF A DELICACY IN THIS PART OF THE WORLD BUT THERE IS ALWAYS SOMETHING TASTY TO EAT. THE PLATEAU ON THE BEACH FRONT OFFERS A LIMITED MENU AT LUNCH THE ZEIT RESTRAUNT WHICH YOU NEED TO BOOK IS A SET MENU AND IS VERY GOOD ALSO THEY MADE MY MUM AND DADS 37TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY VERY SPECIAL THANKS TO ALL STAFF INVOLVED THEY MADE THE EVENING PERFECT VEE OUR REP WAS ALSO ABSOULTLY FANTASTIC ALL STAFF ARE VERY FRIENDLY AND DID EVERYTHING THEY COULD TO MAKE THE HOLIDAY A FANTASTIC PERESONAL EXPERIENCE. OVERALL A BRILLIANT HOLIDAY AND 2 WEEKS IS NOT LONG ENOUGH AND IF YOU MEET KHALED AND FAHD (FANTASTIC POOL BAR STAFF) TELL THEM JESSICA, FAITH AND HARRY (BARMAN) ALL SAY HELLO AND THEY MISS THEM!!! THE PEOPLE WHO GIVE THIS PLACE A BAD REVIEW MUST HAVE STAYED SOMEWHERE ELSE AS WE FOUND NO FAULTS. I HAVE BEEN ALL OVER FROM THE CANARIES TO THE CARRIBEAN AND THIS HOLIDAY RATES AMONGST MY TOP HOLIDAY EXPERIENCES. AND MOST OF ALL REMEMBER A HOLIDAY IS WHAT YOU MAKE OF IT!!!

Review based on a trip in September 2010

friendly hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 01/09/2010 mrs b  from Norfolk said...

we stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from 7th july-21st. the holiday was brilliant, there was my husband, me and our 2 girls. the room was fantastic and the room cleaner was superb, making different animals with towels every day and very polite. the waiters were so friendly we loved them, they made my daughters birthday a day to remember! she got a cake and singing from the staff which was wonderfull and unexpected. the beach is lovely and the sea and fish are out of this world. No complaints about the food, i think we ate so much... The pool is fantastic, huge with a bar whenever you want a drink. Overall the holiday was fantastic and would definately go back. I would like to see toilets near the pool as we had to go to the reception which was a bit of a pain but not the end of the world!! I don't know how people can moan about this place, i have never met such friendly people who are there to help you any time. but you will always get someone who will find something to moan about!! I say a holiday is what you make it!!! have a great time, we did.

Review based on a trip in July 2010

This Hotel is not Platinum, avoid it for your own good

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 23/08/2010 Anonymous  from Shropshire said...

We have travelled to Egypt several times and appreciate that 5 star here is not up to international 5 star standards. We booked through Thompson as they advertise it in their Platinum Range. I'd describe is as Platinum plated Tin, scratch the surface of the Hotel and it is 3 star at best. Do believe the negative reviews. We spoke to many people on holiday and those that enjoyed it were first timers in Egypt. those that hated it were regular Egypt visitors who, based on experience of Egypt expected more. 40 minutes to get waiter service for drinks. Pool warm easy access but filthy, no toilets around the pool, gardens were scruffy and flower beds overgrown with weeds, I am being tested for Dysentery, (I have travelled all over the world and never been ill, and my 5 year old daughter had a bought of uncontrollable diarrhea just as the hotels water supply ran dry, had to wash her down in bottled water and flush the toilet with the same. Reception informed and turned up to help two hours later after water supply restored, typical) Thompson rep ran out of illness forms, might have been the pool or the lukewarm uninspiring food, or the dirty restaurant that never had any tables laid and continaully ran out of glasses and crockery, or it might have been the fiulthy plastic glasses that your poolsode drinks were served in, or maybe the powdered, yes powdered, drinks in the chiller machines in the the canteen (not a restaurant) and the pool bar. This hotel is badly managed and totally unorganised. Food and beverage was a total disappontment. Good bits - Room was large and well furnished, poolside and beach sunbeds great, kids club exceoptionally good. If you got to Marsa Alam got to The Three Corners, Thompson shoud read the reviews on trip advisor take heed and drop this hotel.

Review based on a trip in August 2010

Thomson replied...

" We're sorry to hear the hotel appears not to meet our usual high standards. We are surprised by your comments as the hotel is very clean and food scores have improved over time. We will pass back all your comments to the hotel management for their attention. "

Page 30 of 36

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson