Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Resta Grand Resort



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Resta Grand Resort

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 178 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Escape to paradise & be treated like royalty-literally! (Cleopatra spa package,yum)

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 15/06/2010 Anonymous  from Greater Manchester said...

We booked a week's stay at the Resta Grand and found ourselves praying for the volcano to trap us there for longer. The hotel is beautiful, welcoming, warm and friendly. The pool is perfectly sized to get a little exercise by swimming up to the bar for a cocktail and poolside drinks service is regular. Food was delicious, healthy and varied every day. Service is second to none and I was never disappointed by the staff's willingness to help or their desire for us to enjoy our stay. I left my digital camera a half hours drive away at Abu Dabbab bay and the shuttle bus driver simply set off back to go get it without complaint. He did return with the camera which is testament to the honesty of the local guys who man the beach. I would highly recommend that anyone looking to escape reality book into this hotel - it has everything you could need and is remote enough that you can leave all the rat race behind and fully unwind. We used the Plateau a la carte restaurant situated at the beach one evening and as the restaurant was quiet we were seated where I guess honeymooners would usually, right on the sandy terrace above the waves. The food was delicious (Red Sea shrimp highly recommended) and waiter service exceptional. I chipped my toe nail polish and went to the salon to have it fixed. They found a perfect match and refused any payment! I can also recommend the spa, where we spent a lazy afternoon being pampered with the Cleopatra package. This involved being scrubbed all over with coconut flesh and milk, followed by a Thai massage which left me blissed out for the rest of the evening. Cat, the therapist is a real gem. It was great value for money. Trips I'd recommend whilst there are the Valley of the Camels and the Islands of Hamata - both really reasonable and superb days out.

Review based on a trip in May 2010

Definitely not a Platinum Hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 12/06/2010 Anonymous  from Lancashire said...

We have just returned from the Resta Grand Resort. This is definitely not a Platinum Hotel. We have stayed in several 4 star hotels in Egypt and this hotel was in line with them and not at all Platinum. The bedrooms were lovely and the hotel itself was lovely, but the food and entertainment not at all Platinum. The restaurant was very busy and the staff take away your cutlery and glasses before you have even finished your meal. The food itself was edible. The deserts were beautiful and the soup but the main course could have been improved. The evening entertainment left something to be desired. When you have seen the belly dancer and the twirling man once that should be enough but this went on for four evenings a week! The staff were always helpful and friendly and work hard. Daytime activities were ok but there were not enough animation team .... only two! After the so called 'show' in the evening the animation team went to the disco every evening at 11pm! This resulted in there being nothing left to do in the evening. Overall the holiday was ok but would not come back to this hotel.

Review based on a trip in June 2010

Fantastic Hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 11/06/2010 Anonymous  from West Yorkshire said...

Me and my partner visited the resta grande resort for my 21st birthday and it was perfect! Was a little worried when reading reviews on trip advisor before hand as many people were complaining about the food and the building work etc but it really is nothing to worry about. There is a big selection of food in the main restaurant, only niggle was sometimes you would have to queue whilst waiting for certain types of food. We tried the Plateau restaurant which you have to pay extra for on my birthday and they set up a table for us on the beach. This food was fantastic and a la carte style, although had to wait a long time for it as they were cooking it all from scratch. The building work is only at the front of the hotel so when you are actually inside the resort you can't even tell anything is going on, the resort will be huge when its finally finished. The hotel and grounds have been spectacularly designed with lights everywhere which look beautiful at night. We were lucky enough to have a pool view room so we were right in the middle of the resort. All aspects of the hotel and room were brilliantly clean and staff could not do enough for you, they were extremely helpful, courteous and happy. Only problem i think would make this resort better is the entertainment, its ok but gets a little monotonous throughout your stay so be prepared to make your own entertainment on some evenings. I don't agree with a previous review on here which suggests that staff don't service them unless they tip them at the very start of your stay, we found that they were very helpful, and when we finally tipped staff at the end of our stay some were even reluctant to take the money and seemed extremely grateful of us tipping them. Overall, i can't wait to go back to this resort, as i had an amazing time here. I've never been to the same hotel twice as i have never been that impressed, but this resort has definitely got me wanting to go back!

Review based on a trip in June 2010

Bronze not Platinum grade

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 10/06/2010 Anonymous  from England said...

Sadly a Bronze has been awarded by myself for the RESTA GRAND resort.The resort lacked the 24/7 service and location which Thomson promise in there Platinum graded resorts.The main restaurant The Space had a good range of foods,the other 3 chargeable restaurants were always empty and never used by any guests from Thomson or any other travel companies . The Main restaurant suffered from poor waiter service if you did't tip every time they got you something you got no service from the 2nd day onwards . Its a shame as pool area was a big let down aswell by the waiter service which is only 100% when you 1st arrive on the 2nd day if you did't leave any money the next day they would walk by you and serve the person next to you which round the pool is very very poor its hot and you need fluids and there is only one drink station which is a swim up bar full of smokers and heavy drinks so no fun when all you want is a cola! and to stay dry!So i dont agree with the 24/7 service.If you asked for a drink the waiter would still not bring you drink. The beach has very LIMITED access to the sea so no swimming as there are no swathes of golden sandy beaches only a hard dead coral shelf with rock pools no palms would be ideal location for training for a Mars mission.There is a jetty in the next door hotel which goes over the coral shelf but that has its limits snorkelling in a area roped off.Inside the resort the rooms were ok but not 4 to 5 star still very clean and cant fault the cleaner who cleaned the room daily . Grounds in the resort were nice and green with lots of paths.The location of the resort is in a desert nothing around apart from a half built port so you are trapped in your resort with the drinkers and the smokers . Any trips are by air or 5h bus rides.Thomson should make sure the staff at the resorts are paid and not to be tip dependant on all inclusive 4 to 5 star resorts.

Review based on a trip in June 2010

Loved the RESTA GRANDE

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 07/06/2010 Anonymous  from Gwynedd said...

Had a wonderful week at this hotel, nothing was too much trouble for the staff,the only complaint was the very slow service in the evening on the terrace trying to get a drink due to only 2 waiters working like mad to serve a very busy terrace. The restaurant and staff were lovely, food was plentiful. The pool side bar run by MAHMOUD was great and what can i say about LAMO and LITO the animation guys, they were fantastic and had us old ones u and joining in some of the activities.We had a fantastic time and are planing on going back in October. The write ups were not looking good before we left but i dont think they stayed at the same resta grande as us. Thanks also to our rep who tried to sort out the shortage of staff in the evenings. The beach side restaurant was fantastic and made a birthday cake for one of our party and we had an amazing meal at the waterside. Thanks to you all at the RESTA GRANDE and look forward to seeing you soon.

Review based on a trip in May 2010


Page 34 of 36

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson