Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Gran Sol



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Gran Sol

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 121 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Gran Sol - Great Hotel!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 31/08/2009 Anonymous  from Bedfordshire said...

Just returned from a week in Majorca, staying at the hotel 'Gran Sol' in Cala Bona. Brilliant! Loved the hotel, the food, the staff, even the other guests! (I was half board + glad I'd made that choice!) I had booked a single room and was apprehensive on arrival. How big was the single bedroom going to be? Which part of the attic/ cellar would I be based in? When I walked in I was thrilled to find myself in a large double room with a great bathroom and a small balcony overlooking the beach/ sea. Admittedly I also overlooked the hotel next door but the sun rises made up for that.... The beach was a few steps from the hotel - a little too much seaweed for my liking..... However, the sea was clean, the sand was 'sandy'! and there were sunbeds and umbrellas for hire (3:5 Euros per item for the day). The Hotel pool area was superb. Clean, comfortable and quiet. No hordes of kids....sorry but I teach and it's great to escape on holiday! Waiters came round, usually twice a day, with canapes and always available to get you a drink. All staff very helpful, friendly and eager to please. Food in the restaurant was beautifully presented and in plentiful supply. Lots of choice that should suit all tastes. Drinks not too pricey - but definitely not cheap. The resort itself was not so good - a bit 'tacky' in places, in my opinion, not a place to get beautiful presents for friends+ family! However, if you stay bed + breakfast only, there are places to eat that are OK - be wary of the curries! Turning right out of the Hotel towards the Port is a better experience than going left..... Didn't do any trips, but a friend did and was disappointed that she was the only English woman on the boat! Check beforehand unless you are multi-lingual! I'd certainly go back to the Hotel again, in spite of the resort.....10/10

Review based on a trip in August 2009

Excellent hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 30/08/2009 Anonymous  from Wiltshire said...

Have just spent a week at the Gran Sol in Cala Bona. The hotel is right on the beach and in the centre of the resort. While the resort is a bit of a disappointment, the hotel more than makes up for it. Extremely clean and comfortable and all the staff very welcoming. The restaurant is very good - show cooking and buffet available. The pool is fairly small and shallow, but as the hotel has only apporx 60 rooms this isnt a problem. Sunbeds and parasols can be hired on the beach, but quite expensive. Most people bought inflatable lilos and umbrellas instead. Thomson Rep very helpful. Transfers take 1 hour, but comfortable coaches. All in all, a lovely holiday.

Review based on a trip in August 2009

Superb hotel!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 26/08/2009 Anonymous  from West Midlands said...

The Gran Sol hotel is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and is definitely the cleanest! The hotel interior is very chic and modern but comfortable too. Our room was on the ground floor and although it had a sea view, a room on a higher floor would have been much better(and that really is my only gripe!) We stayed half board and didn't regret it. The food was superb and the service was excellent(especially Miguel who displayed endless patience as we tried to practise our very basic spanish. He seemed to enjoy helping us with it) The hotel is set on the beach front and I believe there are unrivaled views from the hotel onto the beach. You can't beat nodding off to sleep to the sound of the sea! As you leave the hotel and turn right you are very close to a lovely harbour that comes alive at night and has a lovely atmosphere. Walking to the left of the hotel is less scenic-lots of tacky shops and english pubs and cafes. On the day of our departure we checked out of our room at 6pm(charged at 25 euros) but the hotel room was cleaned for us, we had use of the room safe and were given fresh towels. It was much appreciated. We will definitely return!

Review based on a trip in August 2009

Totally chilled

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 23/08/2009 Anonymous  from Hampshire said...

Pleasantly suprised how quiet Cala Bona was for time of year. We wanted a totally restfull holiday and got it. Looks just like the picture in brochure. Very clean and friendly.Right by shops bars, but no hassle from timeshare etc. Loved the hotel one of best weve ever been to and weve been to some lovely places. Staff were helpfull,polite and friendly. Our room was spotless. The food was great we booked b/b but ended up eating in every night. Great variations and very reasonably priced. Much preffered it to Cala Millor, If walking you can tell which area you are in by, if fishes are on the floor, you are in Cala Millor, Fishes a gonna your in Cala Bona. There is a red path for cyclists only and the bikes can be hired. The path is flat so will suit all age groups, great way of getting around and fun. Beach lovely but sand is mixed with small stones.

Review based on a trip in August 2009

best hotel ever

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 08/08/2009 Anonymous  from Lancashire said...

what a hotel ! the best we have stayed in, rooms are beautiful we had a junior suite with sea view, restaurant is beautiful overlooking the sea, food is excellent, staff are friendly and could not do enough for us and my 12 year old grandaugher, we also enjoyed the entertainment at their sister hotels every night. we like to try different hotels each year, but cant wait to go back to this hotel next year

Review based on a trip in July 2009


Page 20 of 25

19  20  21  22  23  24  25  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson