Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Santellini



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Santellini

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 26 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Great location but not very comfortable

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/09/2009 Anonymous  from Nottinghamshire said...

We were expecting the rooms to be basic and they were. The beds were like concrete & very narrow. The shower was very small, impossible to wash yourself without the shower curtain sticking to you & water going all over the floor. To be fair everything was spotlessly clean & well maintained and they did provide some softer pilows when we asked.

The only English TV channel was BBC World, could have done with something else to watch on the days it rained.

Breakfast was nice, the best yogurt I've ever had. Pool was nice and everywhere was very clean but there wasn't enough shade for us and there are no cushions on the sunbeds (same on the beach - they charge 7 euros and there's no cushion). The beach was disappointing, I was surprised it was so dirty. I watched cafe staff on the promenade sweep their muck onto the beach & it also serves as a giant litter tray for the many cats in the resort. Even further down the beach by the sea, the areas around the sunbeds were choked with cigarette butts.

It's a small island so not much to do, Thira and Oia are easily accessible by local bus, 1.4 euro each way. There are plenty of buses, every half an hour until late at night, you don't need to pay Thomson 22 euro to go to Thira. You have to go to Thira first to get the bus to Oia but it is worth doing, a very pretty village. Kamari has 2 cinemas, outdoor & indoor both costing 7 euros. Programmes change every couple of days & it's a nice thing to do, especially the outdoor one.

We had some terrible meals, eventually found the Nichteri restaurant on the front & that was nice. Beware of places with huge menus, there is no way the food can be cooked from fresh.

Take plenty of money, it's very expensive & beware the exchange places. One on the front near Navys was only giving 0.88 euro to £1 when the other was giving 1.11. I thought I'd use the last of my euro for a drink on the plane. The drinks would have been £4, I gave a 10 euros note & got back £3 so the drinks actually cost me the equivalent of £6, outrageous profiteering from Thomson.

Review based on a trip in September 2009

Santorini Experience

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 31/08/2009 Anonymous  from Kent said...

Hotel excellent but could do with variation at breakfast, tended to have the wonderful Greek yoghurt and honey every day. Was windy most days so didn't go in the sea at Kamari but if you got the boat taxi round to Perissa was not so windy and sea was calm, much nicer beach as well. Thira and Oer wonderful villages and fantastic views. Sunsets to die for! Overall good holiday but the Euro made it expensive.

Review based on a trip in August 2009

'Heaven is a place on Earth'

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 16/07/2009 Anonymous  from Warwickshire said...

Santorini is a beautiful island, I have travelled to many of them but this beats the lot. My wife and I (kids free!) stayed at the Hotel Santellini in Kamari, Kamari is very nice, good for couples and families although with the pebbly beach and shelving shoreline you would need to be watchful with small children. You can get 2 sunbeds and umbrella for 7 Euros which we thought was ok, beer 3.50, cocktails 4 Euros on average. A meal for two around 30 euros including drinks. Alexis restaurant became our favourite although there did not appear to be any bad ones. The 'loveboat' was good for after meal drinks, the owner was very friendly and always gave a free drink before departing. We went on the 'Simply Santorini' Thomson trip, set off at 2pm and returned after sunset in Oia around 10pm, good trip and excellent guide. Santorini is quite small but Thira and Oia are two must sees. We walked down to the small port in Thira and took a mule trip back up, what a laugh! Cruise ships dock here all the time, Thursdays appear crowded where Sundays are quiet. Gentlemen leave your credit card at home, jewellery shops are everyhere! Local bus was excellent and very cheap 1.40Euros into Thira which only took approx 15 mins. The hotel Santellini is immaculate, the owners and staff are very friendly and the place is spotless. A continental breakfast is included which is good, there is a bar and prices are no dearer than outside, take time to have a drink and chat with the owners who are very proud of their residence. It is a resort mainly for couples young and old. we did see one 'club' for younger holiday makers so I think groups of young adults may struggle. It is a very romantic island, we did spot one or two weddings. Oia in particular is a photographers dream, thank god for digital! We do not usually attend welcome meetings but we did with this one, the rep Nicola was excellent, very imformative and not at all pushy. Try Santorini and the Santellini in particular, believe me you will not regret it!

Review based on a trip in July 2009

Sensational Santorini!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 06/07/2009 Anonymous  from West Sussex said...

We visited Santorini June 2009, staying in the resort of Kamari, in the Hotel Santellini. When we booked this, there were no reviews of this hotel as it was 'new' to Thomson but we did some research, looked at their website etc and it all looked good. We were not disappointed! The hotel is small (about 26 rooms, including a few 'maisonettes') but beautifully formed! We were greeted by Leah who showed us to our room, with balcony overlooking the main street. At first, we were a bit miffed as we thought we would have preferred one overlooking the pool but it actually worked out better. It was quite entertaining, watching the people go by and not at all as noisy as you would have thought. The hotel is beautifully clean, the staff are welcoming and friendly. The hotel is situated just a minute's walk from the beach - near enough to be close to the bars and restaurants, but a little way back to ensure not too much noise. Kamari itself is lovely - we visited several other resorts on the island and agreed that Kamari was the best for us. Perissa seemed very quiet and there were lots of closed bars/restaurants (clearly the credit crunch had hit Greece too!). Monolithos seemed a bit industrial and again quite deserted. So, for us, Kamari was the best. The main strip along the beach is littered with bars restaurants, we could have eaten in a different one each night and still missed some. Mostly traditional greek dishes, but there were the odd pizza palace, steak house, even an Irish bar! Prices generally in the shops seem to be much of a muchness - no need to trawl the whole village trying to find the best deal. We did feel that prices were a little on the expensive side but the exchange rate was bad at the time. We did two excursions - both Thomson ones - a boat trip round the caldera, including a walk to the top of the volcano and a bbq in one of the little bays plus a coach trip round the island to see other villages, the winery, the capital city, and culminating in the sunset at Oia. Would thoroughly recommend both trips - our guide, Maria, was excellent. She lived on the island and her knowledge and command of the English language was faultless - what she doesn't know isn't worth knowing! I've read comments about the airplanes flying low and it is true, however, its not like living near to Gatwick! There are only a few planes each day and it can be quite fascinating, seeing them fly past! All in all, we would definitely go back!

Review based on a trip in June 2009

Best Hotel in Greece ever

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 08/08/2008 Anonymous  from Cambridgeshire said...

Everything was superb about this holiday and hotel. Very friendly family run place so looked after you and presentation of their hotel. Situation wonderful. Resort lovely, restaurants good look around at prices though as can vary. Get out and around the island its beautiful. The only downside to Kamari was the beach. If you want a pool holiday ok but beach holiday no. I wouldn't recommend the hotel for small children due to steps and pool surroundings and marble and probably not teenagers either and there is nowhere they can let off steam. I went with my daughter of 9 and we had a fab time. Flight good, Thomson representatives bit of let down and never saw them so luckily didn't need one and they booked me on a trip the week before I travelled so I spotted the date on the ticket and corrected it before the day!

Review based on a trip in August 2008


Page 6 of 6

5  6  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson