Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Phillipion Hotel



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Phillipion Hotel

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 24 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

hated hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 18/10/2010 Anonymous  from Cardiff said...

stayed at phillipion hotel wish i hadnt. ok the room was huge basically the biggest i have ever seen and the view was fantastic they were the good points the bad points were as follows,lucky there were only two of us because the sofa bed was filthy dirty and covered with stains, we had a table and chairs but again the cloth chair covers were filthy. the air conditioning did not work after three requests to have someone look at it i gave up and yes you guessed no one came. the room was dirty and on our take over there were still full ashtrays there, also bread and crumbs in and on cupboards. the fly screens on the patio doors were broke,the sink plug held no water hard when you want to shave and the bath water wouidnt go. the towels smelled damp and fausty even when changed which was twice a week.the balcony floor was filthy so we cleaned it ourselvs. the balcony patio set was broken and the table dirt stained. the upstairs pool bar was shut. the pool itself had no water heating and was so cold couid not be used and actually there was green moss growing on the bottom so god knows when it was last cleaned and treated the pidgeons were drinking the water all the time so i wonder when the last time chlorine was added. upstairs had a residential limping white cat which done its mess where ever there were two lots in the shower area and one on the decking upstairs for two days. the management decided they could not speak english when you asked them a question and yes 25 euros a week for a safe box was a bit much.our flight home was early and we were being picked up at 01.20 we had to be out of our room by 12 o clock dinner time so we paid another 25 euros to stay until 6pm but still had another 7 hours twenty minutes to wait until pick up time only 4 seats in hotel lobby so just hung about we did ask if we could use our room longer and were told no. so overall not a great hotel infact quite poor .

Review based on a trip in January 2010

Thomson replied...

" Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear the hotel appears not to meet our usual high standards. We will pass these comments back to our suppliers to make sure these issues have been rectified. "

This hotel ticked all the boxes

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 04/09/2010 Anonymous  from West Lothian said...

With two teenage kids we wanted to be in a location where we were not slap bang in the middle of everything but accessible by foot to them when we wanted. The hotel from the outside looks small but once inside you are soon aware that this is not the case. The apartment was large, very clean and there was a large bedroom and very modern bathroom then the main living area which had a small kitchen area with table and chairs and lounge area with two very comfortable firm sofas which acted as the other two beds. The air conditioning in the bedroom and the main living area worked very efficiently and therefore as windows did not need to be opened there is only minimum noise from outside so had very good nights sleep. We used the upstairs pool all the time and it is a lovely area to sit in and we never had any problems with getting a sunbed. There is another pool area down stairs which was not as nice and it was in the majority occupied by the foreign guests who were in other parts of the hotel. The pool when we got there was a lovely blue but they must have put some chemical cleaning thing into midway through the holiday and it turned to a rather off putting green colour... bit off putting but sure it was harmless. Our room was cleaned almost everyday and sheets and towels changed every two or three days. We had a fabby wee cleaner called Veronica and she always had a smile for us. My only complaint about the Phillippion was that when we arrived we booked a safe in the room for the fortnight and it cost 50 euros, I really think this is an excessive amount to pay but because you want to protect your valuables, passports etc then they have you by the short and curlies. I have 2 at home and they cost less to buy than it cost to rent for two weeks. Booked all our trips independently and visited the Aqua Park, Nysoris the volcanic island, The 3 islands cruise which included a lovely lunch and the trip to Turkey. I got the 3 boat trips for 4 of us for a total of 170 euros which was cheaper than the cost of one of the trips would have been if we had gone with Thomsons. We hired bikes and the cycle paths are very good and even when you have to go on the road you feel safe enough. We cycled to the Therma springs but there is a very long hill that unless you are strong in the legs then its off the bike and walking .... mind you nice coming back down them. Altogether thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and would recommend the Phillipion and Thomsons.

Review based on a trip in July 2010

Excellent position

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/07/2010 Anonymous  from Lancashire said...

I agree with the previous review the management at this hotel left alot to be desired but the young girl who runs the bar on the roof top bar is lovely and does everything she possibly can to make sure you have a relaxing time by the pool. We also had a problem with towels bedding not being replaced until the day before we went home (think the maid was angeling for a tip). The hotel if a good distance from the town centre (only about a 10 minute walk). I loved Kos Town and thought it was a good mix of people, very clean place and friendly locals (without being over friendly)

Review based on a trip in June 2010

Relaxing holiday in Kos

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 26/06/2010 Anonymous  from Surrey said...

Volcano trip - really enjoyed the trip, sometimes too much spare time with lots of waiting around but otherwise very good. Apartment - good location, decent size for 2 people, bit too small for 4. Not very clean, seats on balcony were not cleaned so could not use them. Had all crockery etc you need for basic cooking. Food at apartment was expensive for what it was and not that tasty. Ate out or cooked to avoid it. Swimming pool at the top - great place to spend some time, staff at bar very friendly. Good location for getting to castle, marina, bars, restaurants, bus station. Best restaurant was a greek taverna situated behind market square near church, local food at very reasonable prices. Camelot bar - best music and clean compared to others. Irish bar - friendly staff but very small. Mix up with times for transfer, had to wait nearly an hour for coach and arrived last at airport. Airport was badly run and reps disappeared so no one to help. Being called for flight before had chance to check in. Thankfully no security queue.

Review based on a trip in May 2010


Page 1 of 5

1  2  3  4  5  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson