Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Aparthotel Catalonia Gardens



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Aparthotel Catalonia Gardens

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 5 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

primative

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 22/05/2008 Anonymous  from County Antrim said...

Read reviews after booking, but surely appartments not that bad as we go to spain every year. We would have been better off in a tent as you couldnt get any more basic than this appartment. We had to pay 100 euros up front?? (I think to stop us leaving!) and then to have to rent a kettle, toaster, tv, iron etc was over the top. I felt sorry for people with children as the appartments had nothing for them, no cafe, no pool (closed off), no play area, nothing at all to keep them amused. Having been a regular visitor to Spain over the past 20 years this is without doubt the worst appartments my wife and myself have ever been to. It would spoil the holiday of anyone who booked this place in good faith. It should not be advertised by any travel company until the appartments meet at least some basic standards of hygiene, and quality of service.

Review based on a trip in May 2008

Review of Catelonia Gardens

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 08/10/2007 Anonymous  from Angus/Forfarshire said...

We stayed here for 1 week with our 2 kids (aged 9 + 3) the holiday was what we made it and the thene park Port Aventura was by far the best part of our holiday. Location was good ... near to main street in salou and the fountains in Salou centre are not to be missed. Plenty of shops and resuraunts nearby. The apartment was a different kettle of fish .... no reception,resturaunt,safe deposit boxes, sunbeds, cafe or bar with widescreenTV open .... we had to use InternationalII hotel accross the road for all services and I couldnt fault the entertainment or food there ... the staff were very helpful. We only used the apartment to shower and sleep as there were no facilities present despite what it said in the brochure. There was a kids play park on the complex but a 70ft tree fell down accross it and it couldnt be used ... just luck that there was no one in it at the time. Im sorry to say that these apartments spoiled our holiday as they were grubby and had cockroaches and we were in the 5th floor so they didnt wander in off the street. There was no kettle in the apartment either. I dont expect to return to these apartments which is a shame as my friend was there same time last year and she said it was fantastic ..... great kids entertainment etc - basically what the brochure boasted and lots more.

Review based on a trip in September 2007

Hated every minute in this appalling accomodation

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 15/08/2007 Anonymous  from Bridgend said...

We were offered this accommodation at very short notice after Thomson overbooked our first choice.The apartments are very very dirty , poorly maintained with ripped furniture and stained walls and completely unsuitable for children.There was rubbish strewn all over the stairs including used condoms.The accomodation was mainly taken up by large groups of drunken and noisy youngsters.Unless you are young and in a large group aviod this accomodation at all costs

Review based on a trip in August 2007

Thomson replied...

" Thankyou for your comments. We are sorry to hear the apartments appear not to meet our usual high standards. We will pass these comments back to our suppliers to make sure these issues have been rectified. "

Dissappointed!!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 14/08/2007 Anonymous  from Berwickshire said...

Just returned from a week in and around Salou. We stayed in the Catalonia Gardens self catering apartments and were disgusted with our accomodation. Firstly we had to check in at the Hotel across the road as the reception at the Catalonia Gardens has now closed down, our flat was on the top floor and the lifts only worked intermittently, the apartment was dirty when we arrived, the cooker was old and unsafe as the temp setting markers on the controls had worn off completely, the fridge was rusty and minus a door seal, freezer box door and door shelves, the minimal furnishings were tatty, torn and broken, there was only one small wardobe with one shelf which was sporting a large rusty nail coming through the middle of it, the curtains were filthy and during our stay the curtain rail in the bedroom decided it had had enough and fell off the wall!! I could go on but I think I have given you enough info to put you off booking to stay here, please do not spoil your holiday by booking into these apartments. However Salou itself was lovely, plenty of super resturants, short walk to a smaller, quieter beach which was clean and safe. Thomsons City tour to Barcelona was fantastic, guide was knowledgeable and interesting to listen to. Portaventura was a good day out with plenty to do, even for adults who don't have the guts to attempt the scarier of the rides! The highlight for us was the swimming with sea lions we arranged for our daughter at Aquopolis, she spent a full hour with them which included a fair amount of handling them and learning about them, real value for money.

Review based on a trip in August 2007

Thomson replied...

" Thankyou for your comments. We are sorry to hear the apartments appear not to meet our usual high standards. We will pass these comments back to our suppliers to make sure these issues have been rectified. "

HOLIDAY FROM HELL

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
Location
Food
Cleanliness
Overall
 

Writing on 27/05/2007 mrs  from Angus/Forfarshire said...

THESE APARTMENTS ARE AWFUL IN THE WEEK THAT WE STAYED THERE IN OCT THE WHOLE PLACE WAS DISGUSTING THE BEDS IN OUR ROOM HAD FALLING TO PIECES WE HAD TO SLEEP ON THE FLOOR THE WHOLE WEEK AND WE DIDNT GET CLEAN TOWELS WHEN THE MAID CAME IN OUR ROOM ALSO GOT BROKEN INTO TWICE WITH SEVERAL ITEMS BEING STOLEN AND THE BEST PART IS A KEY WAS USED AND THE STAY DIDNT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND THE SWIMMING POOL WAS A DISGRACE IT WAS LIKE IT HADENT BEEN CLEANED FOR YEARS THERE WAS BITS OF GLASS AND BROKEN GLASSES IN IT ASWELL SO I WOULDNT RECCOMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE ITS A BIG DISAPOINTMENT TO SALOU AS ALL THE OTHER PLACES IVE STAYED IN SALOU ARE LOVELY AND THERE BEACH IS TERIFFIC

Review based on a trip in October 2006

Thomson replied...

" Thankyou for your comments. We are sorry to hear the hotel appears not to meet our usual high standards. We will pass these comments back to our suppliers to make sure these issues have been rectified. "

Page 1 of 1

1  

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson