Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Riu Helios Bay



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Riu Helios Bay

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 101 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

FOOD POISONING!!!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 26/02/2010 Anonymous  from Cheshire said...

We first arrived at the hotel on 04/07/09 and to be fair the staff were friendly and we had refreshments waiting for us when we got their. Our rooms were spacious and always clean and tidy and we were satisfied with the location. The first week of our holiday went well, however, the second was horrendous!!

After dining in the hotel restaurant on the second Saturday, the next day I woke up with chronic sickness and diarrhea and had to go to the hotel doctor as I had food poisoning. I had to be put on a drip and sent to hospital. The hospital was an hour and a half away and we had to be rushed their by ambulance. The hotel sent us to the wrong hospital - we were meant to go to a English speaking hospital and they sent us to a Bulgarian one!! Nobody spoke a word of English and to be honest we were treated like absolute dirt!! The hotel did not appologise for their mistake and I personally felt very let down! I will never go back to this hotel nor Bulgaria as I have never been so scared in all my life!

Review based on a trip in July 2009

Thomson replied...

" Thank you for your comments; we are sorry you were not well on your trip. We promote good hygiene practices within hotels, but the hygiene standards in some foreign countries, could be lower than in the UK. Care should be taken to minimise the risk of holiday sickness. At the same time we would like to point out that as part of the RIU group this hotel maintains very high standards of cleanliness and food hygiene, which is reflected in the way the customers are scoring it in the questionnaires they fill out on their return flight. It has been rated amongst the top 3 hotels in the Thomson programme in Bulgaria for a number of years. In case of illness, it is the decision of the doctors, as to which clinic is chosen on the basis of facilities and availability. In this instance, as you have been diagnosed with stomach illness, the doctor has chosen a clinic where extensive test, including microbiological ones and specialist consultation can be provided. In this case the tests conducted have confirmed that there was no positive link to a food related illness. Life Hospital, where you have been treated is a private clinic which has key members of staff speaking English. It is our belief that these people have been in touch with you and have assisted during your stay at the hospital. Whenever a Thomson guests is hospitalized for over 24 hours, a dedicated member of the resort staff is visiting the hospital, as was the case. "

Wow, where do I start?

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 10/10/2009 Anonymous  from Merseyside said...

Went with my partner, end of Sept' to beginning of Oct' '09. On arrival, the hotel was fab. Drink supplied on arrival, staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Room was excellent - very spacious, cleaned and replenished daily. As we arrived at night, there was not much to see out of the balcony, but what a sight I woke up to later that morning. Beautiful clean beach, clear colourful water. (Only downfall was that due to the late time in the season, none of the usual beach entertainment was available..pedalos, banana boats, beach bar etc are all open during the main season.) Food was excellent, so please ignore any previous reviews about the food. There was a large selection sufficient for everyone, all of a great quality. Restaurant staff were friendly and hard working, empty plates barely touched the table before they were collected. Bar staff were excellent, very friendly, tipping not being necessary, but always well received and appreciated, especially by Vasko. Pool was very cold at this time of year, but excellent if you want to clear the hangover. Beach was just a few steps away, where the sea was warmer than the pool. Entertainment was ok, pretty much like anywhere else that deals with mixed nationalities and ages, but the staff do try incredibly hard. We had no children with us, but all the children there seemed to enjoy the kids club. Baddingo! Bottled water is available 24 hours, just ask at reception. Obzor town was a very short walk away, through a beautiful park, with a fountain and ampitheatre. A must is Bedrock, and The House (#1.60 for two nice pints) next door. Unfortunately, due to the late season, many of the shops had started to close down, but we got the impression it would be very nice when everything was running at full flow. Recommended it already to friends, who are hoping to go next year, and we will definitely be going back.

Review based on a trip in September 2009

liked bulgaria

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/10/2009 Anonymous  from Cornwall & the Isle of Scilly said...

everything good. but not happy that the bar closed 2hours before late flight leaving passengers with not so much as a coffee. entertainment was very bad unless one was five years old. team got on my parties nerves with continuing screaming. apart from that staff elsewhere brilliant would not go back to obzor as there,s nothing there but loved hotel and country. maybe another 10 years to get it together.

Review based on a trip in September 2009

UTTERLY BORING!!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 06/10/2009 Anonymous  from Shropshire said...

Just got home, thank god! We holidayed from 28 Sept to 6 Oct 2009.

The hotel is faultless, the food is nice. These were the only two positives so be warned!!

We had NO local watersports of any description available which we were absolutely gutted about. We did find some in Sunny Beach though. All waterparks were closed too and there were no boat trips from anywhere. At the hotel, there were extra charges for the tennis courts, table tennis even the pool table!! We were shocked at this as we only ever go on all inclusive holidays. These are basic activities and have ALWAYS been included in the holiday price.

Evening entertainment was a painful experience and based on what we somehow managed to sit through (which wasn't alot) was a joke in itself. Hyperactive, childish performances, totally unprofessional rubbish and considering most of the guests here started at the age of 30 and went well above, this really was unacceptable tripe. Our pack of cards really did turn out to be priceless!!!

If there were any daytime activities we weren't made aware of any.

Would probably recommend using this hotel as a base and jumping on the bus at every opportunity and going elsewhere as travelling is cheap! (which in turn, makes it pointless staying here as you'll be out all day and not taking full advantage of the free food and drinks) Catch 22!

We booked the outdoor adventure safari with our travel rep and we all agreed it was a very tame experience. Shooting(coke cans), archery (with blunt arrows no flights!) a horse ride and quad bikes all going round in circles with a guide to take you round. They took us to another beach with nothing happening on it and because the day was overcast, everybody literally just sat there for half an hour before we all walked back to the jeeps because we'd had enough of doing nothing. The guides came back to the jeeps 5 mins later to take us back. Please note: There's a video cameraman on this trip who REALLY IS in your face

Have no idea what entertainment awaits you in the height of summer but good luck to you if you get more out of this holiday than we did. This really was our most under active holiday EVER. zzzzzzzzz

Review based on a trip in September 2009

I wouldnt go back there if you paid me!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 06/10/2009 Anonymous  from South Yorkshire said...

From the minute the plane landed in Burgas to getting on the plane to come back I didn't enjoy the holiday at all. If I was to go into detail I could write a book. Would not recommend this holiday what so ever!! Poor location, Frustrating and cocky staff, Unappitising food the high light of my holiday was seeing a dog eat another dog, Nice.

Review based on a trip in January 2009


Page 9 of 21

8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson