Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Riu Palace Algarve



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Riu Palace Algarve

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 337 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

'Out on a limb'

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 06/06/2010 Anonymous  from Cumbria said...

Having just returned from the Riu Palace Algarve May/June 2010 we felt we must add our comments about this particular Riu Hotel. In the Brochure it does say that the beach is only reached by steps - but not just how many !! 370 steps to be exact. Also the Hotel itself is rather isolated from any other place, without walking up or down a very long , steep,slow hill. Certainly not suitable for anyone with any kind of walking disability, or a family who have a child in a pushchair. I myself have to use a walking stick, and found all of these things a very big turn off. As for the area around the pool, there are quite simply far too many sunbeds cramped around what is a relatively small pool for the size of Hotel. We felt we were unable to move anywhere without encroaching upon a fellow guest, both with the sunbeds, and the umbrellas. We have stayed in other Riu Palace Hotels, and have never experienced any of these problems. We did however find that the usual excellent standard of both food, staff etc, was as always FAULTLESS. We were therefore totally disappointed with this particular Hotel, and will not be returning. If you enjoy being cramped up, and a feeling of isolation - without using a hire car (which are expensive) then by all means go for it. If however your tastes are not of these things, then give this one a wide berth.

Review based on a trip in May 2010

1st Holiday in Portugal

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 02/06/2010 Anonymous  from Shropshire said...

Returned on 30th May,2010 after a weeks holiday.We went for the first visit to the Algarve and chose the Riu Palace from Thomsons site on the internet.The hotel was in our opinion absolutely fabulous,and we found the staff to be the most helpful and wanting to please more than anywhere else we have stayed in the world,can't praise them enough.Dining in the hotel was good a good choice of dishes on display,you have to be a very fussy eater if you couldn't find something suitable from the breakfast or dinner selections.The evening entertainment supplied wasn't always our choice but the standard was good.If there was a downside to this hotel it would have to be it's location,although the views were nice the walk to the fishing village was a bit of a bind if you wanted to visit the local cafe bars.We went to Albufeira old town which was a nice change of environment for a days visit,plenty of local shops and cafes to look around ,a taxi ride cost 7.50 euros each way from Olhus d Agua.As a holiday to a new location and a time to chill out and relax,this was a perfect choice,a big thankyou to all the staff and thomson team at the Riu Palace,well done.Will we return,definitetly,can't wait.

Review based on a trip in May 2010

Loved Algarve

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 02/06/2010 Anonymous  from Staffordshire said...

Hotel excellent in every respect - especially the staff who went out of their way to make the holiday special. Room and bathroom had plenty of space and very comfortable. Buffet breakfast and dinner had plenty of choice of freshly cooked food. It was in fact the best organised buffet we have ever had - particularly the cleaaring of dirty crockery at the end of each course. Only criticism - not enough working parasols around the pool. Thomson reps - Lola and Wayne - the best we have encountered - very professional and considerate.

Review based on a trip in May 2010

Paradise at the Riu Palace, Algarve

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 02/06/2010 Anonymous  from Cambridgeshire said...

This was our third visit in the last year to the Riu Palace, in the Algarve. We have never returned to the same hotel more than once before but we can not speak highly enough of the Riu Palace. The staff are the best we have ever encountered anywhere in the world with no exceptions, they gave 110% all the time. The hotel was spotless 24 hours a day. The resturant excelled in choice , presentation, and the freshness of the food. The village of Olhos d'Agua is a delight, Portugal as it used to be. We had perfect service from Thomsons, transfers were handled efficiently and the Reps were always helpful and charming, although we did miss Gary this time. Well done Thomsons, one of your best.

Review based on a trip in May 2010

Fabulous

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 27/05/2010 Anonymous  from Cheshire said...

Had a fabulous family holiday everybody loved it from the welcome champagne to the excellent food and friendly sincere staff & Thompson Reps. Everybody went out of their way to ensure that they did everthing they could to enable us to enjoy our holiday and we felt completely spoilt and relaxed and wanted to stay longer. The kids are already asking can they go again.

Review based on a trip in May 2010


Page 50 of 68

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson