Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Riu Palace Algarve



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Riu Palace Algarve

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 337 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

salty the seagull

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 03/07/2009 Anonymous  from Lancashire said...

a gem of a hotel our second vist wonderful staff from reception house keeping restaurant bar all out to do the very best for you i can say with hand on heart the riu slogan we are all about you is certainly true food is excellent my favourite portuguese moment a glass of cava on the terrace pondering the day ahead we had a sea view room and the views are stunning the early morning walks a long the cliff tops so peacefull only the sound of the sea and of course the seagulls to keep you company bliss we shall be back riu palace Algarve your simply the best.

Review based on a trip in June 2009

Fanatstic Riu

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 28/06/2009 Anonymous  from North Yorkshire said...

Reception and check in service excellent. Rooms, mini bar and room cleanliness superb. Reception and pool areas very clean. Staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. Location was quiet but just as we like it. Ohlos is a lovely Portugese village with just enough entertainment, Hotel entertainment wasn't too bad either. Beach at Faleisa brilliant for walking as was the timber walkway from the hotel to the small beach below. Service and food in the buffet resturant was very good. All in all this was an excellent holiday very relaxing and made all the better by the staff from the maids and waiters up to management. Definetly a 5 star hotel and a creditable 10 out of 10 from the Wests (North Yorkshire)

Review based on a trip in June 2009

Relaxation

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 16/06/2009 Anonymous  from Devon said...

For a relaxing holiday (we had 7 days) it couldn't have been better. Lovely hotel, food variety would suit all (although there was one winging one night that there was no chicken and a woman wandering about the fish counter worried if fish had bones - doooh). All meat, fish etc., is cooked fresh while you wait, masses of salads, cold meats, cheeses, fruit, desserts, breads even soup. Breakfast was plentiful from muesli to full English. There was an A la Carte restaurant (you had to book as places were limited each night) free to all. Large lounge bar area and separate entertainment room. Waiters at night and around the pool (Mustn't forget the restaurant staff) were very friendly as was reception. At check in received glass of bubbly and although they say rooms not ready until 4pm we arrived at 1pm and went straight in. Rooms large, plenty of storage (bed over 2.1m wide and only criticism was hard). 2 easy chairs, dresing table TV and mini bar. Safe in wardrobe (why is it an extra cost?) On the balcony two reclining chairs with cushions. Bathroom spacious with shower in the bath but was fine. Pool area pleasant and some chairs were on the grass. Plenty of parasols. You could get 'mattresses to go on the sun beds. Nice pool (water was cold - watch out for the penguins). Small childrens pool. Watch out for our continental cousins who will grab 2 mattresses each and in 2 cases 2 parasels!!! Very disabled friendly with ramps from the road into reception and then is all on one level. Disabled WV by the pool and near reception. Ramp down from the large terrace onto pool area. Although not checked presume would have disable bedrooms. Indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna, small gym plus the ladies pamper suite, hair dresser etc. Olhos d'Agua is small, not much to see. Restauarants basic but reasonable (avoid 'English pub restaurant' near beach as twice the price of Portugese. By the hotel are steps down to the beach and you can walk the 3 miles to Villamoura. Very pleasant. Overall best for adults (not teenagers or small children) would suit older couples best although there were some couples with babies (about 8). Would gfo again? Definately but if staying longer would get a car and explore.

Review based on a trip in June 2009

Relaxing Break

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/06/2009 Anonymous  from West Lothian said...

Nice hotel Could do with some music around the pool. Breakfasts were ok but evening meals had a feel of school dinners about it. (No atmosphere) Much better to go down into the village & enjoy superb service & food at one of the local restaurants. Ideal for a weeks rest & relaxation.

Review based on a trip in June 2009

Amazing Algarve

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 22/05/2009 Anonymous  from Warwickshire said...

We have just returned from our second visit to the Riu Palace Hotel on the Algarve. The holiday was excellent again. The Riu Palace Algarve is the best hotel that we have ever stayed in and is situated in a lovely location overlooking a magnificent golden sandy beach. We found the staff to be most professional, friendly and helpful. This hotel offers very good facilities and everything is maintained to the highest standards. The food is very good with plenty of variety. Standards of cleanliness are excellent. The resort of Olhos D Agua is an unspoilt relaxing location offering easy access to other nearby resorts of Vilamoura and Albufeira. The Algarve region of Portugal is a beautiful area offering amazing beaches, scenery, sightseeing opportunities and friendly local people. Car hire gives freedom to explore this lovely area. There are also some good walks to be had - we walked from the hotel along the beach to the next resort of Vilamoura which took approx 1 hour 45 minutes. Following our welcome meeting in the hotel with the Thomson Rep (Gary Cook), he then took us on a guided walk around the resort giving us useful info and pointing out bars and restaurants that we could sample. We found this to be a nice touch and much appreciated by guests. Gary is such a wonderful Rep (the best that we have ever encountered) that Thomson ought to clone him and use everywhere. We can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and resort and hope to return again in the future.

Review based on a trip in May 2009


Page 56 of 68

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson