Other Accommodation Reviews
More hotel details, photos and videos
We stayed here for 7 nights from the 1st -8th January 2008 self catering. we have two children aged 6 and 3. The apartment was spacious enough but you had to pay extra for hairdryer, tv and remote, safe and superfamily towels (which werent superfamily!) we go to ibiza every summer to the superfamily hotal presidente and nothing has come close to this hotel since.... there was bed/linen change once in the week we were there but i think that is only because my daughter came down with a bug and was sick during our stay that i rang reception to ask for a maid at 7am and she turned up at 3pm! the restaurant in the complex looks so lovely and i cant believe thomson havent sorted it out yet as no one eat in there all week as it is so bad. we got a taxi into town to eat every night which was cheap enough and walked to tiffanys for breakfast. because we had to go to town every night to eat we didnt get back till quite late so didnt see the entertainment but on our last night the kids were desperate to go to the mini disco as they kniow all the thomson songs from ibiza so we took them to the club bar where the drink prices were very dear and the reps were the hotel spanish reps, they had to speak in spanish then english then german everytime they said something which was just so time consuming, and there were no thomson songs or reps there at all which i though bad for a superfamily rating, this did not deserve the status as far as we were concerned. my husband spoke to the reps on the second day to ask where the medical centre was as our three year old was very poorly he just got given a leaflet and the reps didnt even see how she was for the rest of our stay, the day we were travelling home my daughter was still ill and i asked the rep on the coach if he could make sure we were sat near the toilet on the plane he said he would do this then as soon as we got off the coach he was gone. the only good thing about this complex was the small pool for the children but saying that the pools were never cleaned out and had tiles chipped off the bottom and litter in so no wonder my daughter had a bug which lasted 8 days! it seems that come the winter months you dont get offered the same service as the summer months but get charged the same!
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about the Oasis Papagayo Apartments. Our FamilyClub programme (previously Superfamily) is a summer only programme, hence why there was no representation of this whilst you were staying here in January. From summer 2008, these apartments are part of our new FamilyClubXtra programme and will be offering fantastic activities and childcare facilities meaning it?s a great choice for family holidays. We trust that despite your disappointment with the apartments at this time, you had an overall enjoyable holiday in Fuerteventura.
This is the second year that we have stayed there.
Same rooms could not beleive it, it is the best holiday we have, sun all day.
Walk down town in evenings. Have a meal, so cheap, there is six of us and it dont come to over 50 pound for every thing drinks etc.
Lovely food best place to go, will be back again this year so look out hear we come sun sun, must visit paddy bar great place.
Water park a must brill roll on september
I thought I'd write this as I found other reviews helpful but not very recent so I hope this will help you decide if this is the right destination for you. This was last minute decision for a 4-night break away in the sun before Christmas with my eight-year-old daughter and the weather was perfect. Almost unbroken sunshine for the whole stay with temperatures in the mid 70's and really lovely and quiet. Never having been to Fuerteventura before, we weren't sure what to expect, but the Hotel was great. Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and well serviced with everything you need (Microwave, fridge, TV although we never turned it on), and plenty of bars, restaurants, and enterntainment all within easy walking distance.
The Play Park just over the road from the hotel was open to wander around during the day but most of the rides didn't open until the evening but then provided rides, trampolines, and even a Haunted House (but for Adults only) so we didn't try that (bit of a disappointment for my daughter)
The Hotel's facilities were very good. Pools (3) had plenty of sun beds (beware they are salt water pools and unheated), tennis courts, 5-aside football pitch etc. We managed to pack quite a lot in to a short stay. The ten-pin bowling alleys were a good evenings entertainment and I would recommend the excursion to go Snorkelling for the morning. All equipment provided including the speedboat trip out to the Island of Los Lobos was great fun, never mind the the fish, which were unexpectedly spectacular.
The Oasis hotel provided free cabaret enterntainment every night which both my daughter and I enjoyed. The main town of Carralejo is a good 20 minute walk (down hill) from the hotel, but we took a Taxi which cost between 2-3 Euros each way. The water park was open when we were there although we were told that it wasn't by the Hotel Reception, so worthwhile checking for yourself as it defintely looked worth a visit and there's even a Rock climbing centre a few minutes walk away which cost 8 Euros for Adults and 6 Euros for Children (all safety equipment included).
Also recommend the Waikiki Beach Club restaurant in Corralejo - good value and varied menu (Burgers, Pizzas, Fish, Paella) with tables on the golden sandy beach. You can enjoy your meal and cerveza whilst your young'uns wander off and enjoy the beach but still remain in full view.
Would I go back? - Yes, definitely, but for longer next time.
3rd time I have stayed at Oasis Papagayo Apartments, great location, all clean and tidy just don't bother with the on site 'A La Carte restaurant', we found service and food quality are poor and the prices are high.
My partner and I stayed at this complex from 27th November to 4th December 2007.
We booked half-board with Thompson (£412 excluding flight extras) at this complex as our favourite Oasis Tamarindo closed down in September and we had a good holiday there before. The Papagayo is in the same area and run by the same hotel group so we thought it would be right for us.
Our first room was overlooking the main road and the sofa bed was broken in parts on the floor (nowhere else to sit) so my partner went straight back to Reception and said we weren't accepting the room. He was given the keys to a room behind the pool which was clean and quiet and everything was in working order. Our towels were replaced next day Wednesday with hand towels and then we got two bath towels on Friday which were not changed again, yes they were old and stained. The room was only cleaned with beds made on Wednesday and Friday although the rubbish was removed 4 days and we couldn't see the point of complaing again as the reps from Thompson stay on the complex and must know what is going on. Thompson obviously ignore cleanliness as it has been mentioned on these reviews before!! Perhaps they are waiting for an outbreak of illness but they have been lucky that nobody has died from food poisoning see below!
We stayed half board,but would not recommend this option as the food was terrible and always cold, and the beef carved by the chef was (blue) rare and the pork and chicken on other days were not cooked through. The other dishes were always leftovers reworked into tasteless stews and salads and definetley not up to Thompson 4 T standard, we would give it 1 -2 stars. We went over to the Hotel Arena where we stayed 4 years ago and the staff showed us around the rooms again and gave us details for booking directly with them, they were very friendly and helpful. It definitlely deserves its 4 stars as the food was the best we had out of our four trips to the island.
Both the Oasis complex and The Arena are situated out of the main town of Correlejo but it is only 3 euros or less by taxi and reception calls them for you. If you want to explore the different beaches and towns you should hire a car which is between 150 - 170 euros per wk. with an open credit card slip deposit of 100 euros which is returned when you give the car back undamaged.
Evenings were very quiet in the bars and restaurants in the town, a big change since we were there in 2005 and we talked with Bar/restaurant owners who complained how few visitors were coming to Corralejo since May '07. We blame the Tour Operators who are overpricing holidays to inferior complexes and giving the destination a bad name. You could go to the Caribbean or Florida for £400 on the same week we travelled. If you are travelling from Dublin, Ryanair fly direct from £50 to £90 return and you can book the hotels directly much cheaper than going with tour operators. I have yet to find cheap flights from London but perhaps someone else has this info??
We had airport delays/problems on the way home which Thompson did not manage well at all so I would not reccomend travelling with them. A beautiful island with great weather all year so don't let tour operators put you off going there.
Thank you for your comments. We would like to assure you that we are working with the management to assure a resolution to the cleaning issues at the hotel. We would like to let you know that their procedures have been improved and our reps are on site to handle any issues if still occurring. As for the food, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the international cuisine in the Oasis Papagayo but we can assure you that this hotel consistently receives very good scores on our customer satisfaction questionnaires in regards to food and accommodation.
We would also like to take this opportunity to tell you that Thomson T-ratings are based on our annual appraisals and customers' views taken from the end-of-holiday customer satisfaction questionnaires. We can assure you we use a strict criteria when assessing hotel T-ratings, including quality, comfort and facilities as well as our own customer responses.
Page 42 of 62
23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 more...
Prev | Next
Calls cost 10p per minute plus network extras