Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Villa Mandi



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Villa Mandi

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 284 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Oh Mandi!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 15/07/2007 Anonymous  from Tyne & Wear said...

Just returned from 2 weeks S/C at Villa Mandi. Were upgraded on arrival to a spacious 2-bed apartment (2 storey with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, roof terrace) which was a nice welcome surprise. Complex is well equipped (on site supermarket pricey, but has essentials) and reps Vikki, Anthony and kids reps were very cheerful and worked very hard to ensure everyone had a good hol. The reception staff (apart from the night security guard who was worse than useless) were very helpful and accommodating. Downsides were the food and the location. Fortunately we chose S/C but the lunchtime snacks were just about passable, and the one evening meal we had there was seriously over-priced and just about edible (with canned carrots...yummy!). Bar is expensive and it's pot luck whether you get served. Hotel is about a 20 minute walk to bars and restaurants via what looks like a building site to the left of the hotel. Taxis were plentiful, but prices varied considerably so recommend asking price before you get in! Be prepared for the usual ridiculous fight over sunbeds and reserving them at the crack of dawn...and then not turning up until mid-afternoon to use them?! Our holiday was sadly spoilt by a group of people who did not seem to understand (or care) what a superfamily holiday was supposed to be about...and persistently partied on their balcony night after night until early morning, swearing and screaming etc. When they were tackled by the rep due to several complaints, they targeted those who they thought had complained and made threats to them (including us) and we therefore had to move to avoid them. All in all, apart from kitchen being small, the accommodation was excellent and was cleaned every day with a towel change every day and sheets twice weekly. The gardens and surrounding areas by the golf course are very picturesque but the front of the hotel is like a building site. Enjoyed trips to Jungle Park and the Catamaran Trip to see whales/dolphins (sadly no dolphins on our trip, but loads of whales). Although the description of this hotel states not for those wanting a lively holiday (which is why we chose it due to having two young children), the type of people who come here appear to want the opposite and don't seem to care about upsetting others around them. Not the best advert for Brits abroad!!

Review based on a trip in June 2007

great holiday for all ages

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 07/07/2007 Anonymous  from Durham said...

As a party of only 2 adults in family hotel, it was great. Room fabulous, cleanliness at its best and it was great to have air conditioning. Facilities - supermarket everything that you need and good service. Loads of things to occupy the children with the reps. Pools cleaned every night, well kept pool area also. Reps 2nd to none. Staff where friendly and very helpful. It was a holiday we could choose if we wanted to relax by the pool and eat in the hotel resteraunt or walk into either Los Christiarnos or Las Americas 25mins either way and enjoy the shopping and eat in one of the hundreds of different snack bars or resteraunt. There is also plenty of trips to go see in the area, Jungle Park and Aqua Park for the kids, a boat trip to see the whales and dolphins is must, and a trip up to see Mount Tiede. I had a great time and would recommend the Villa Mandi to all.

Review based on a trip in June 2007

Family Comes First

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 29/06/2007 Anonymous  from Nottinghamshire said...

Just returned from a brilliant holiday at the Villa Mandi in Los Cristianos. We got an automatic upgrade which was brilliant, apartment was huge, nice and clean. ALL staff friendly from reception to cleaning etc. Thomson Kidzone is brilliant, staff are great from Krazy Kaz, Anthony, Loopy Laura, all brilliant, thanks for a great time, Children loved it. Pool was very clean, food was slightly disappointing, breakfast excellent, bar snacks not bad, evening meal poor. Location excellent, cheap taxis to Los Cristianos very prompt and reasonably priced. Immaculate 4 star accommodation, will definitely be re-visiting next year without a doubt. Thank you Thomson and Villa Mandi for a fun-packed week - with a family emphasis, i.e. no lager louts!

Review based on a trip in June 2007

Brilliant

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 28/06/2007 Anonymous  from Cornwall & the Isle of Scilly said...

We stayed at Villa Mandi for two weeks in may 07, when we arrived there we were immediatley welcomed by alan and met some of the other reps later on. The kids club was brilliant and the kids loved the reps working there, super sam, krazy kaz, giggles and tracy beaker. Anthony and laura were brilliant and really full of life, DJ barry was class and entertained us aswell. Alan and katie were the head reps an halped you in every way possible. We went on two trips with thompson, loro parque and the medieval night. That was brillian, free wine and some great entertainment, Alan was brilliant here as he halped with the kids and cheered up micky (throughout the entire holiday!) The hotel was brilliant and the room was locely, the only negatives were that the bathroom window faced the pool so you had to crouch down for a shower and the food in the hotel wasn't the best. However we are still going to come back again, best holiday so far!!

Review based on a trip in May 2007

ok holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 18/06/2007 Anonymous  from Newport said...

We arrived at villa mandi at 1 in the morning after a relatively good, albeit delayed, journey. However, on arrival at the resort, I found that my party had been separated and that my 6 yr old who was to stay in the same room as my parents was not placed next door as requested and again requested by fax two weeks before arrival. As there was not anything I could do at that time, I stayed in the allocated room which was had obviously been occupied by a smoker previously. A few hours later, after my 3 yr old had been terrified by a cockroach in the room, I attended reception to try to change rooms. Initially, the staff were reluctant to help but then they arranged for us to transfer rooms that day and for my parents to be allocated the room next door a few days later. This room was lovely and clean and had natural light which the previous room didn't as it was built into the underground of the complex. The staff were generally helpful and tried to assist, even when my sunglasses were stolen from the laundry room. This was more than the Thomson reps did who although pleasant, did not make any impact on me whilst there. The kids reps were just finding their feet when we arrived but were very nice and took care of the children well, remembering their names. One criticism is that all the different age groups run at different times, so to collect one child at 1230 and get the other to club for 1330, having lunch and ensuring that you arrive at club early to get your child in, as they are restricted to very small numbers, was a challenge! As it is a Superfamily resort, I would have expected that more children would have been allowed to attend than 16 per group.The supermarket was good. The pool area was nice, although the tiles were extremely slippery and numerous children fell over. The pool bar was slow to say the least. Don't expect to get your order correct or within a few minutes. I gave the children ice lollies before paying or they would have melted. The resort was a little too far away for my young children to walk too often, but it is easy to get a taxi. We travelled to centro commercial safari most nights as it had a large range of shops, bars and restaurants and was in a smart part of playa de las americas.We only ate at the Villa Mandi a couple of times out of necessity and it was very average food. All in all, we did have a good time and the staff were nice but I wouldn't return as Thomson did not give the service I would have expected from them

Review based on a trip in May 2007


Page 50 of 57

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson