Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Riu Cancun



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Riu Cancun

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 476 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Fun Happy Mexico

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 06/01/2011 Anonymous  from Greater London said...

We spent two weeks at RIU Cancun in 2007 and we loved everything about hotel, atmosphere, food, location and entertainment! I would prefer my room will be cleaned properly at that time, but everything else was very good! Lovely guests, well dressed and polite, well spoken professionals. We went on adventure trip, Xel HA and Xcaret. Loved everything about the place and hotel and the flight was on time and smooth. We decided to spend another two weeks there again in 2010! I traveled with my 17 old son and both of us had a lot of things to do together and separate and we were very pleased that hotel improved they cleaning standards! Food and Entertainment are excellent! The only disappointment was that there were way too many people with very bad language and rather from very uneducated background. Sometime I find myself thinking I am at Butlins... May be travel agents reduced the price of the hotel for 70% or more and people like us subsidized the real cost of the holiday for last second bookings. I would not expect that it will be so many of last second guests... Would never book Xmas and New Year holiday as early as in October!We paid almost £5500.00 for two weeks for two of us and I would prefer my 17 years old did not hear certain words during breakfast, lunch and dinner and my eyes will be resting on well dressed people at the Xmas and NYE party. I would not take my 14 years old beautiful step-daughter as I would not be able to relax! I think even entertainers suffered from the rudeness of some guests.

Review based on a trip in December 2010

FANTASTIC RIU CANCUN AT CHRISTMAS

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 02/01/2011 Anonymous  from Surrey said...

First time away as a family for Christmas and it was superb. Resort clean, staff fantastic. We have stayed at Grand Floridian in Disney and been on their cruises, the service topped that which is saying something. The entetainment staff made our holiday we went with my teenage daughter and her best friend and they loved it. So much variety of activities through the day which were tailored to all ages. You can have fun all day or move to the quiet area and chill out with no music. Thomson reps were the best we have ever had, 10/10 for Jimmy who clearly loves his job. We went on the excursions Dolphins much better than any others, much more interaction and swimming with them compared to SeaWorld, suggest going for the royal swim. Xplor amazing zip wires. Jungel tour fabulous and exhilirating with chilling snorekelling too. Night time you must visit Co Co Bongo, suggest purchasing the gold package as you are treated as VIP given your own seating area with the best views and an attentive waiter all night. The show and music is the best and will be a memory which gives us lots of smiles as the girls danced on the podium and were on the big screen lots too. The entertainment in the resort in the evening was varied and fun and covered all ages. The areas were always kept clean and the staff who serve drinks in the bar can't do enough for you. A fantastic resort for families with teenage children, safe and truly stunning. Spa great, had a couple of fantastic massages one with hubby who loved it too. Will be booking again and can't wait to return. Recommend booking premium seats on flight as it really makes a difference to the start and the end to your holiday.

Review based on a trip in December 2010

A must do Holiday!!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 28/11/2010 Anonymous  from West Sussex said...

Visited the Riu Cancun from 12/11/2010 to 26/11/2010 and I will honestly say this has been the best holiday I have ever been on and I am already planning on booking it for next year!!! The staff were so polite and I got told off for trying to take my case to my room as they do it for you!! They do everything for you there amazing. The Thomson Reps were also amazing and sooooo helpfull. There were waiters that would come up to you when your sunbathing and ask what you want to drink and they would go and get it (how amazing). The rooms were perfect with an amazing sea view. Every where you go there is always someone cleaning in the hotel. I would and will recomend this holiday to anyone and everyone we had the best time of our LIVES. We booked 3 trips through Thomson Reps and they were all amazing, we did the Dolphins which was by far the best and worth every penny. We also did Xcaret (Eco-Logical Park) which was an amazing day out from departing the hotel at 7:30am and returning around 10:30pm. Also not to forget the Coco Bongos Bar Crawl which was sooooooooooo amazing too. The entertainment staff were wicked and there was always something going on like water polo, water volleyball, normal volleyball, football, table tennis, kids activities, bingo and the evening entertainment was such a laugh and really fun too. If your thinking of booking this hotel I will be honest and advise you to DO IT!! It will be your holiday of a lifetime and I am defiantely going again without a doubt, I loved it. We also flew premium class which was defiantely worth it, lovely food, loads of space in the seats, the drinks were FREE and the staff were very helpfull. I arrived back today and I miss it already because everyone is sooooo friendly.

Review based on a trip in November 2010

Brilliant Holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 21/10/2010 Anonymous  from Essex said...

The hotel is excellent, Loads of choice for food in the buffet, We ate in all 3 Al'a Carte restaurants - Reserving was very easy, And the food in all of them was very nice, the beach is lovely and always sun beds on the beach. one of the pools did lose the sun at about 1pm but the other pools were ok as long as you were in the right place, the beach had the sun all day. The rooms were very nice with lovely views of the sea, The only negative i have about this hotel is the lack of staff there seemed to be in the buffet and outside restaurant during the day. If you ordered coffee in the morning you quite often had to ask a few times before you would get it. Location was perfect, 5 minute walk to all of the bars/clubs and loads of shopping malls around. Buses very easy in Cancun was about 40p and you could go anywhere along the hotel zone and they come approx every 3 minutes. Weather was perfect even though it was the rainy season. We only had rain on 2 of the days out of ten and it was only for a few hours, even with the rain still very hot. Thomson excursions were very good. We did Chichen Itza, Long day but worth it. There are reps in the shopping malls that will offer you then trips for cheaper but you dont get evertything included like you do with the thomson reps so definately worth the extra money. Bar crawl defintely worth doing as you get to go to 4 of the main clubs/bars(inc Coco Bongos) and it is about £40 which is only a bit more than the price you would pay just to go to congo bongos. Overall we had a brilliant holiday and i would defintely recommend this hotel.

Review based on a trip in September 2010

cancun!! must go back

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 19/10/2010 Anonymous  from Blaenau Gwent said...

stayed at riu cancun 25/09/10-09/10/10, what a magic hotel staff were superb allways happy and will do anything to make your stay better in every way.the hotel is very clean, room was cleaned every day! towels changed daily (in our room anyway). the food is excellent and lots of it!! bars open all day, room fridge allways stocked up. pools are very good,the one on the right of hotel facing the sea does lose the sun at about 2-30 but a simple matter of moving 100mts to other side!. beach is good but watch out for rocks !! entertainment is not bad with loads of dance troupes but on the whole very entertaining.all rooms have a great view with nice balcony to enjoy abeer from the fridge. allways tip the staff(20 pesos is not much) as they only earn about £4-00 a day BUT will anything for you regardless of tips or not. we cannot speak to highly of this hotel& staff. Tompson reps were very helpfull if they ask if you want to go on pirate ship you should GO AS IT"S A GREAT NIGHT OUT especially on Captain Hooks ship.. we can"t wait to go back, maybe in 6 months time!

Review based on a trip in September 2010


Page 52 of 96

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson