Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Riu Cancun



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Riu Cancun

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 476 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

ANNIVERSARY DREAM

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 20/05/2010 Anonymous  from Rhondda Cynon Taff said...

hotel is in a great position in Cancun near all the night life but far enough away not for it to spoil your holiday, the staff are very friendly and helpfull, a great veriety of food for everyone, beach is fantastic but they need to put more beach umbrellas as there was only 6 down one end of the beach, also it would be nice if there was a quiet pool for adults only as not all of us want to join in the fun and we don't want kids around all the time maybe thats something the hotel could look into. The rooms are basic rooms with a small table and 2 basket chairs which could have been more comfortable, we had a great holiday and we will be returning very soon.

Review based on a trip in April 2010

Mexico Mexico

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 20/05/2010 Anonymous  from Greater London said...

We have just returned from Cancun and we had an amazing time. The Rui Cancun was great and the weather was lovely. The staff at the hotel were really friendly and very helpful. The location was great, right on the beach and close to the main clubs and bars. There are four restaurants, three of which you have to book the previous morning. Im a very fussy eater and I managed to find something to eat everyday and for every meal, even if it was just chips! We went for our Birthdays and the staff were really lovely leaving us gifts and making up the room on the days. Although, there were three negatives to our holiday: 1. When we arrived in Mexico, we had to queue for an hour at customs in what felt like a sauna. If you dont want to risk fainting you should get changed into your T-Shirt Shorts on the plane just before you arrive and have a fan to hand. 2. The entertainment in the hotel isnt that great. The adult entertainment didnt start until 21:00 which was just a different group each day doing a dance show, or someone singing, not really for anyone under 50. Then the club opens at 23:00, which plays the same music mix every night starting off with 70s Disco followed by RB and Hip Hop. Other than that, theres nothing to do at the hotel in the evening. 3. The excursions are really expensive, especially if you are paying for two or more people. The holiday is already expensive and then you need to fork out #80- #300 for the excursions! Plus when you are on the excursions, you end up having to hand over more money for souvenirs you dont even want. BE AWARE if you go on the Chichen-Itza tour, the guy trys to get you to buy a necklace within the first hour and then when you get to one of the destinations, Ik Kil Cenote, he tells you to let the staff take your picture as it helps promote the site. But what he doesnt tell you is that they will stick the picture on a bottle of Tequila and then make you buy it at the end of the day for around #12. One lady said she didnt bring any money with her and he even told her to get the money from an ATM when she got back to the hotel under the pressure, she caved in! To top it all off, he asked for tips at the end of the day saying that we had to give him notes as coins were an insult!!! All in all we had a wonderful time and would go again. Please excuse the grammer, as apostrophes are not allowed!

Review based on a trip in May 2010

Fantastic holiday at the Riu Cancun

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 19/05/2010 Anonymous  from Hertfordshire said...

From the moment my friend and I arrived in Cancun and we knew we would love it! The people are so friendly and welcoming, the hotel is on a beautiful beach with clear blue sea and bright white sands....where you're served drinks throughout the day! The food was lovely and fresh, so much choice definitely easy to put on a few pounds when staying here!! Our favourite restaurant was the Japanese which is a little smaller so harder to get booked into but definitely worth a visit! We did some brilliant excursions...the royal dolphin swim was amazing, would definitely recommend it and make sure you barter with them for the photos, we paid half what they first wanted!! We also did the jungle tour where we drove our own speed boat out and snorkelled in the sea, was great fun! Also did the Captain Hook dinner cruise which was a great night out, very entertaining and good for friends, families and couples! Would definitely recommend a visit to Coco Bongos nightclub, you've never seen anything like it (get the all inclusive ticket from the rep, it includes drinks all night!) Hotel in great location, can walk to nightlife and get buses easily if you want to travel further afield. Would highly recommend staying here, I already can't wait to go back again!

Review based on a trip in May 2010

HEAVEN

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 18/05/2010 Anonymous  from Shropshire said...

wHAT A HOLIDAY. EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS HOLIDAY WAS GREAT, THE MEXICAN PEOPLE WAS SO LOVELY AND EVEN THE PEOPLE WHO WHERE ON THE THE STREETS WOULDNT PASS YOU UNLESS THEY SAID HELLO. THE ROOM WAS CLEANED EVERYDAY AND FRESH SHEETS PUT ON THE BED, THE FOOD WAS GREAT AND MOST OF IT WAS COOKED IN FRONT OF YOU, THE ANIMATION TEAM WERE THE BEST ENTERTAINERS I HAVE EVER SEEN AND THEY WERE SO FRIENDLY AND WORKED SO HARD IN THE VERY HOT WEATHER, WE EVEN HAD A GREAT TIME WITH THE AMERICANS WHO ARE LOUD AT TIMES BUT THEY JUST LIKED TO HAVE A GOOD TIME WHILST THEY WERE ON HOLIDAY THEY JOINED IN ALL THE GAMES AND WAS FUN TO WATCH. A LITTLE TIP FOR ALL YOU COFFEE DRINKERS, THE COFFEE THEY SERVED YOU FOR BREAKFAST IS WHAT THEY CALL AMERICAN COFFEE ( GROUND TO US ) IT WAS REALLY GOOD BUT WHEN IT COMES TO LUNCH AND DINNER THEY GIVE YOU THIER INSTANT COFFEE WHICH TASTE HORRIBLE SO TAKE A JAR OF NESCAFE WITH YOU. WE WHERE TAKEN ON A TOUR OF THE KITCHEN AND IT WAS SPOTLESS. WE HAD A DAY OUT SWIMMING WITH THE DOLPHINS AND IT WAS BREATHTAKING BUT WHEN IT CAME TO BUYING THE DVD AND PHOTOS WHAT A RIP OFF, THEY WANTED ( 50 USD #35 ) FOR THE DVD WHICH IS ABOUT 10 MINS LONG AND ( 20 USD #14 ) FOR EACH PHOTO. IF YOU BOOK THIS HOTEL YOU WON'T GO WRONG WE JUST COULDNT FAULT IT. WE BOOKED THE PREMIUM SEATS ON THE FLIGHT AND I THOUGHT IT WAS WORTH THE MONEY GOING BUT WHEN YOU TRAVELLED BACK HOME YOU DIDN'T REALLY GET MUCH BECAUSE IT WAS NIGHT TIME AND AFTER YOUR MEAL THE LIGHTS WERE TURNED DOWN SO THAT EVERYONE WENT TO SLEEP. WE WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK TO THIS HOTEL DUE TOO THE STAFF BEING SO NICE,THE FOOD AND THE CLEANLINESS.

Review based on a trip in May 2010

Mexico is the best

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/05/2010 Anonymous  from Hertfordshire said...

We stayed in Riu cancun in May for two weeks (one week is definatly not long enough) as soon as we got there the staff made us feel so welcome and they were so helpfull and friendly!! The entertainment staff are brilliant, so many different things to keep you entertained during the day and they take you out at night if you want to go!!! the hotel was very clean and well maintained. There is so much option for food at the buffet and all of it was very nice!! It was our first time in Mexico and i want to go back already the staff at the hotel just make the holiday even better. We did a dolphin swim which we booked through Thompson, it was the most amazing experience of my life well worth the money!! be warned make sure you take money for the photos as you are not allowed to take any yourselves!! I cannot wait to go back and i would recommend this hotel and holiday to everyone wanting to have a fun holiday and to be waited on hand and foot & drinks constantly topped up!!

Review based on a trip in May 2010


Page 59 of 96

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson