Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Protur Floriana Resort



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Protur Floriana Resort

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 9 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Cala Bona was lovely

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/07/2013 Anonymous  from Scotland said...

I visited with my mother and 5 year old son. While we absolutely loved the resort of Cala Bona, we were somewhat disappointed with the hotel Floriana. The hotel itself was great, lovely pools, good facilities, nice rooms etc. However, the hotel seemed to cater predominantly for German/Dutch visitors and not at all for other nationalities. My son watched the mini disco every night but was unable to join in as it was all spoken in German by german reps. Likewise, there were no signs regarding entertainment in English. I feel we should have been forewarned about this when booking and it may have swayed our decision to book there. I have travelled with Thomsons several times and always been more than happy with the service. Again, i was quite dissapointed this year. On arrival at Palma airport, we were sent to our bus and headed off to the resort without a Rep on it. At the first hotel, the driver announced which hotel it was but was Spanish and it sounded nothing like Floriana. Bearing in mind it was 5 oclock in the morning and we were very tired!! When the bus drove away it was my son who noticed the sign for hotel as hed been studying the brochure at home and said thats our hotel. I had to run to the front of the bus and tell the driver who was not impressed with me and had to turn back to drop us off. On arrival in the room, there was the info from the reps telling us our welcome meeting was at 9.30am the day after arrival which we took to mean the next day. We headed to bed to get a few hours sleep with a very tired 5 year old. That day after enjoying some time at the pool we came back to the room to dicover a note from the reps saying sorry we'd missed our meeting!! I find it hard to believe that we would be expected to attend a meeting 4 and a half hours after arriving from a night flight. While we would not hesitate to go back to Cala Bona, we would be unlikely to go back to the Floriana and i would also be reluctant to holiday with Thomsons again until they look at some of the issues i have addressed.

Review based on a trip in July 2013

european floriana resort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 10/09/2011 Anonymous  from Derbyshire said...

most of the staff at Floriana were very freindly and helpful, the resort was clean, plenty of entertainment available, for children, who had them. The food was on occasions good and others poor, with a lack of discription on what the food was, we felts in was aimed at the more european countries that Britain. 90 of the clientel were German, most of them were very rude, making it uncomfortable at times, for us. which was a shame and could have spoilt the hoilday.

it would help in future if the discription of the resort would included this information, in the adverts.

we would go to cala bona again but not this hotel, cala bona was a lovely place nice to walk along the front, lots of places to eat and stop for a drink.

Review based on a trip in August 2011

Good hotel in an excellent resort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 01/09/2011 Anonymous  from Devon said...

Our appartment was clean and very spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Air conditioning was just about adequate. You had to pay extra for the TV remote and to use the safe. Pools were nice. Breakfasts were basic but okay (with the exception of the sugary fruit juices ! ) The resort of Cala Bona was just what we wanted. It was not as chaotic as Cala Millor (which was a short walk away), and had none of the KFC/Burger Kings that you encounter as soon as you enter Cala Millor.

The marina area of Cala Bona has the better selection of restaurants. In the seven days of our B&B stay we did not have a disappointing experience at any of the restaurants or cafes. Worthy of note were:

Champions Bar - good lunches, nice cocktails, and excellent fresh orange juice and friendly (English) staff.

Bar Leslie - superb tapas, reasonably priced.

L'Oliva - friendly English waiters, good food

Il Papparazzi - Good authentic Italian pizzas

Chiris - Friendly Scandanavian staff, very good paella, but not cheap, but portions over generous !

Pescador - Friendly staff again, nice fish and meat meals.

Panetosto - Beautiful location beyond the marina, right on the water's edge. Top notch pizzas and pasta - as good as you would get in Italy.

The glass-bottomed catamaran trips are also worth a look. They go out to the other resorts (Sa Coma / s'Illot was nice), but they have themed trips (e.g pirates) where they go to caves etc.

Many of the cafe staff seemed to be English, with plenty of bars and eateries catering for the Brits. Beaches were good - sand not quite as soft as in some resorts, but plenty of rocky areas for the kids to explore.

Review based on a trip in August 2011

Ok if you are German!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/08/2011 Anonymous  from North Yorkshire said...

We stayed at this resort for 10 days. Arrived and were very impressed with our room and accommodation. We had chosen the self catering option as we like to get out and about and not just stay around the pool. If you wanted a sunbed around one of the pool areas you needed to be up very early (like 6am) to put your towel down. We chose to walk to the lovely beaches at Cala Millor or take the bus to Sa Coma. The children swam in the pool one day only as they were then ill for three days with a sickness bug. All the staff appeared to be very good and the animation team seemed to do a good job but especially so if you spoke German. I didn't see many English people taking part. Our apartment was in Block G which had it's own pool and appeared to be mainly self catering and here you seemed to have the most English. There were a group of 12 Germans who bagged the best position every day for our stay although the Brits did reserve sunbeds too. The management said in the welcome pack that towels would be removed if beds were reserved before 9am but this this not happen. To sum up our holiday, we had a good one but did do our own thing as Cala Bona is a great resort with lots of shops, bars, restuarants and things to do and I would happily return on the same basis as we did this year as I think it is such a shame to stay around the pool and hotel for the whole of your holiday as you miss out on the lovely area. Maria's Bar just down the road has really cheap lager and cider.

Review based on a trip in August 2011


Page 1 of 2

1  2  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson