Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Samos Sun Hotel And Apartments



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Samos Sun Hotel And Apartments

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 4 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

samos sun

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 27/09/2012 Anonymous  from Suffolk said...

samos was a very nice island to stay relax and explore the area i stayed was pythagorion there was plenty of things to do beach is only 5 minutes walk from hotel samos sun the harbour is 30 minutes walk where there are many shops and restaurants but local bus and taxi are cheap enough samos has lots of history i would recommend a hire car shop around for best deal as there are many hire companies available i went all around the island where there is plenty to see and do with many stunning views down the harbour in the evening where it was very lively with so many restaurants to choose from where the food was very good would recommend walking around the narrow alleyways tucked between the shops as there are some very good restaurants to be found hotel was good and clean and only 5 minutes from the airport from our balconey you can see the runway and the planes landing and taking off there is not too many flights here so no ploblem with noise from planes i have been to many greek islands now and this one did not disappoint weather was excellent many nice beaches with crystal clear waters

Review based on a trip in September 2012

Wish I was still there!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 12/07/2010 Anonymous  from Greater London said...

Monika, Stella, Lena, Yiannis, Sue and anyone else I've forgotten - thank you so much for your help, assistance and friendliness during our stay in Samos Sun (1-8 July 2010). Thanks also to the guests in the Samos Sun who made our stay even more great - you know who you are! Hotel is 1km from Airport which is not a problem as Samos only has around maximum 8 flights per day.Also 1.5km from Pythagorion town itself, which is a delight of tavernas, bars and typical tourist shops. Excursions: Sunshine Cruise was also great - thanks to Captain Andreas, Isabella and Captain Yiannis and crew. Great tavernas: Four Seasons, Faros and Pythagorion Taverna were all fantastic and food choices were superb. Car Hire from Evelyn's was also good value 25 euro per day! We had an absolutely fantastic time and we hope to visit again next year.

Review based on a trip in July 2010

Pitiful Pythagorian

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 11/09/2009 Anonymous  from Cheshire said...

Just returned from Samos Sun after 2 weeks, we found the hotel to be too far from the centre of the resort as you had a 20/30 min walk. Hotel had large amounts of ants in most of the rooms as this seemed to be a common complaint amongst the guests. Breakfast room was very old fashioned and variety of food very poor (we actually had a feast the first week as they provided jaffa cakes). Hotel needs a lot of updating, on our first night as I walked onto the balcony I cut my foot on the patio door stud which was sticking out and should not in my opinion have been there. Our bathroom was poorly lit and decorated in a drab creamy colour. Not all the lights had bulbs. Downstairs toilets in the hotel were crawling in flies so not suitable for use. Jacuzzi never got switched on unless requested. Edge of pool was rusty in places and slippy. This hotel is grossly overrated and we will not be returning to Pythagorian. Should I return in the future it will be to Kokkari as the place is beautiful and has everything you need all within walking distance.

Review based on a trip in August 2009

Thomson replied...

" Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear the hotel appears not to meet our usual high standards. We will pass these comments back to our suppliers to make sure these issues have been rectified. "

Sunny Samos

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 18/07/2009 Anonymous  from Essex said...

The Samos Sun was clean with friendly helpful staff. The rooms were basic and for self catering a kettle and toaster are not provided, although a coffee maker was available. However, Monika, one of the receptionist lent us her own personl toaster, which was nice. Rooms have air-conditioning which is usually on from around 3pm to 9am next morning. However, as the temps were in the high 30s, they left the air-conditioning on all the time which was greatly appreciated. The Samos Sun had a poolside bar which was nice - basic snacks available during the day. Right next door to the Samos Sun was a well stocked supermarket, which was open 7 days a week until around 10pm. Pythagorion was about a 25/30 minute stroll and plenty of places to eat. After trying several we settled on the Four Seasons which was reasonably priced and had a good selection to choose from. It was obvious that several other couples returned to eat there. The staff were also friendly and made you welcome. We usually took a taxi back to the Samos Sun and this cost between 3.50 and 4.50 euros - I think the price was based on how quick the driver got you back. The airport was a very short distance from the Samos Sun but this did not cause any problems with noise as there was only a dozen or so flights a day. It's worth hiring a car at least for three days as there are some nice places to see - Efpalinon Tunnel (not for those who do not like confined spaces), the temple of Hera, Byzantine Monastery of Timios Stavros. Samos town was interesting, but we did get approched a couple of times by people asking for money so that they could get to Athens on the ferry. Not a real problem, just try not to look British! Overall an enjoyable holiday and we will be going back to the same resort and hotel.

Review based on a trip in July 2009


Page 1 of 1

1  

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson