Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hudhuranfushi Island Resort



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hudhuranfushi Island Resort

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 110 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

not bad for money

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 03/12/2009 Anonymous  from Cumbria said...

just got back having stayed for two weeks. the food was good however very reputions the second week. the other two restaurants were very expensive however the food was excellent so was the service. The beaches were quite dissapointing due to the coral, had to have coral shoes on. The snorkling was great and plenty of places to go from. on a score of 1-10, i would give it a 5. The staff were very friendly and helpful

Review based on a trip in November 2009

Fantastic Holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 21/10/2009 Anonymous  from England said...

My partner and I stayed at Hudhuranfushi for two weeks in October. Like many others I was slightly worried by the mixed reviews that I had read but once there I soon realised there was nothing to worry about. Once we arrived at the resort we were welcomed with a VERY refreshing cold flannel and orange juice. We then had to wait a short while for our rooms to be allocated. We were then taken to our room with our rep Laura, who I have to say was fantastic, and our bags soon followed. The food seems to be a sticky point with many people but I enjoyed the choice available. I imagine it will get slightly repetitive if you go for a bit of everything once you arrive but I made sure I limited the amount of different foods on my plate. It was refreshing not to have chips at every meal time. A soup is always available. The soups I tried were delicious. Lots of different types of bread to choose from so even the fussiest eaters coiuld make a sandwich. The salad bar was fantastic with the choices rotated everyday. My partner loved the puddings on offer, I enjoyed the fruit on offer rather than the sweet puddings!! The rooms are basic but clean. The outdoor shower is a real novelty, absolutely fantastic having a shower and looking at the stars!! All the staff will do their best for you. We went on the sunset fishing excursion which we enjoyed. Remember to take a snorkel and coral/reef shoes as snorkelling is the main activity to be enjoyed here. The fish you see are amazing. This was the first time that I've ever been snorkelling and I am sure it wont be the last!!! All in all it was a fantastic holiday. You go away to unwind and enjoy yourself and not pick faults at the smallest of things (like grout in the shower tiles?!?) unlike some of the reviews on here. I would definately return and hopefully will do in the not to distant future.

Review based on a trip in October 2009

What you should know

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 06/10/2009 Anonymous  from Herefordshire said...

We got back yesterday from this resort, The Maldives are breathtaking, but take note of the following: The food is served in a buffett style and although they try and cater for everyone after 2 weeks the food is very much the same. Sea shoes are a must! we would not have been able to go into the sea for the broken coral. Take your own snorkle and mask as to hire a set is $80 per person for 2 weeks. The sun loungers are very hard and they do not provide cushions, so be prepared for numb bottoms! The sun is incredibly fierce - we wore factor 30 - a must! The rooms as basic but clean and the outside shower is a bit of a novelty. Ladies take flat shoes no need for heels and the dress around the resort is casual! There is no air con in the buffett restaurant so be prepared to sweat whilst eating! We upgraded to a Ocean villa on our last 3 nights, they were fabulous a real treat. it cost $420 for 3 nights. The staff are very friendly, Laura the thompson Rep was great and would appreciate some UK magazines. They have the uk 3 pin sockets so you dont need a travel plug. Make sure you go to the jetty at 2100 every night to see them feed the sharks and rays. And a visit to the Cocconut Spa is a must. THe swimming pool does not have steps into it, so if you are older or disabled you may struggle getting into it. This resort is cheaper in price than others and may lack that extra bit that you would get from other resorts, but for a trip on a budget it delivers.

Review based on a trip in September 2009

Hudhuranfushi Island Resort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 03/10/2009 Anonymous  from Tyne & Wear said...

Fabuloulous island for a relaxing holiday - we had a beach villa which are basic but still very clean and confortable. For that extra treat upgrade to a water villa for the last few nights of your hol its well worth the money, very luxourious and special and much cheaper than booking at home it cost us #190.00 for 3 nights. Book sunrise villa for morning sunshine from 8.00am til about 2.00pm or sunset villa for afternoon sunshine. We had sunrise and found it was too hot by 11.00am to sit out on the balcony. Coral shoes are an absolute necessity we bought ours at home after reading other reports so thanks for the tip. Mozzie repellents also a necessity I have never been bitten on any other holiday but was eaten alive here - still treating some of the bites and have been home 2 weeks! There are also a lot of sandflies which bite your feet and legs so be careful for those. I must add this did not spoil our holiday and would definitely return once we have saved up again! If you like sitting with your travelling companions pay to sit together on the plane when booking - we didnt and were very lucky to get sat together on both journeys a lot of other couples were separated and it is a long flight to sit on your own. In all this island is lovely we always found something to do and the food is not as bad has had been reported - we always found something we liked (and my husand is extremely fussy and doesnt like fish). All the staff are wonderful and go that extra mile to make your stay memorable. We were told by other holidaymakers there are far better islands than this one (and probably worse) but we had no complaints and didnt pay a fortune so were delighted with our stay. Definitely good value for money and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it.

Review based on a trip in September 2009

Mr Melvinder Narang General Manager

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 27/09/2009 Anonymous  from Hampshire said...

without the help of laura the rep would have wanted to go home. Had tarantula style spiders in our room on the ceiling on two consecutive nights. already arranged to upgrade to water villas which we paid a lot of money for. Due to problem asked to upgrade 2 nights earlier. The manager made us pay for those 2 extra nghts with no concessiom over the problem. all he would offer us was a free meal. Ha Ha Ha we are all inclusive. the spiders where the size of a saucer. would I recommend this place. Never in a million years. Feel very sorry for the rep Laura who is brilliant but with a dip stick of a manager there she is in for a very rough time

Review based on a trip in September 2009

Thomson replied...

" We?re sorry to hear certain aspects of your holiday were not as expected. As Maldives is a tropical country it is possible to get a lot of unwanted pests and insects on the island. Tarantulas are very rare and are not usually seen on the islands. Spiders are usually very small and are not a threat. With a request for the room boy to spray the room, they usually vanish before being caught. On the whole, there is no major issue with insects at all. The islands are fumigated every morning to counteract any insect problems "

Page 12 of 22

11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson