Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hudhuranfushi Island Resort



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hudhuranfushi Island Resort

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 110 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

EXCELLENT!!!!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 28/07/2007 Anonymous  from County Down said...

We are just back from this island and how we wish we were back. Yes the weather was a bit unpredictable but we did go during monsoon season. Everything was great we could not fault anything the rooms were spacious with aircon and a fan, the outside bathroom was novel, great when having a shower in the middle of a tropical storm. The outside decking was great at night to sit and relax and watch the wildlife from the fruitbats to the lizards. The island itself is still under construction but that did not affect are holiday in any way. The water bunglows are nearly complete. The ocean was amazing, full of colourful fish, turtles, reef sharks, stringrays and mantas, a definate for snorkeling also my husband went open diving which is on offer here. There is a variety of food on offer each day. The main restaurant caters for even the fussiest of eater also all the dishes have english titles on them. I need to mention the staff on this island they were extremely friendly and definately made the holiday. Nothing is a problem to them they do not expect tips but after your stay you will feel that they have earned it. This island was our little bit of paradise and i cannot wait to go back. I would strongly recommend it to everyone.

Review based on a trip in July 2007

Hudhuranfushi

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 27/07/2007 Anonymous  from West Yorkshire said...

This resort and holiday gave us everything that we were hoping for. Despite going in the 'rainy' season, the weather was virtually perfect. The resort itself was immaculate, absolutely nothing was too much trouble, never been so well looked after. The food in the main banyan restaurant is well varied, and in my opinion very good. A la carte is pricy, but very nice for a treat. The watersports at this resort are excellent, and merely snorkelling with the countless species of fish was an unforgetable experience. On the negative side, the live entertainment isn't great, and, if you dont fancy the weekly disco, unfortuately there is no escape from the noise on the island. If you are wondering, it is two single beds pushed together (or at least it was in our villa), although it wasn't uncorfortable. If you are going for the surf (I wasn't), then it looked more than adequate (in my uneducated opinion). If you are not going for the surf don't worry, the water at the otherside of the jetty is very calm, and is well separated from the surfer hangouts. Although there is still construction work going on on the beach bungalows, there was absolutely no disturbance to us whatsoever. After 11 hours squashed in like sardines on a flight, the outcome is seriously worth it. There are other resorts that charge lots more money than this one, and I really cant believe how they can justify the price being so much more. We got everything we wanted from this holiday.

Review based on a trip in June 2007

Holiday sham

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
Location
Food
Cleanliness
Overall
 

Writing on 12/01/2007 Kim Child  from Buckinghamshire said...

Aside from the snorkelling and the weather - which I know is nothing to do with the resort itself - the state of this Island was unacceptable. There was no 'low introductory price' for this hotel. It was sold as a 4* resort that was newly refurbished. It is not our fault that it was not completed and we should not have had to endure building work just because it is expected that the Maldivians will be behind schedule. JCB digers, builders, uncovered trenches, live wires, cement mixers, constant hammering and drilling, uneven footpaths - none of this sounds like the 4* hotel that is expected. Complaints of rooms with untiled walls, broken sewage pipes in to the sea, approx 100 workers living in tin shacks 50 metres off shore, smell of sewage across the whole Island, substandard food that is served up day after day, workers eating in the restaurant at the same time as guests, workers using facilities such as volley ball and badminton courts during peak times, the Island running out of red wine vodka and diet coke two weeks after opening, management useless and un-caring about peoples experience, staff apologising for the shortcomings, dirty table cloths day after day and sheets in room changed twice during a two week stay, pipes dunped in the sea and left rusting.... I could go on. I have travelled a lot and never come accross anything like this. I defy anyone who tries to say we should have 'researched this' and expected it. I infact did look up the Island and knew a fair bit about it before we went. Further more, I along with many others endured weeks of contact with the resort and Thomson trying to establish what was going on and were left with no choice but to go and deal with it. The place should not have been open. It may be better in six to eight months time. If you have booked water bungalows - they are not starting building them until April and so will not be ready for June. I am sorry to be the bearer of bad news but I was so disappointed with this Island and it is a shame because the Maldives should not leave people with these memories.

Review based on a trip in December 2006

Worst Island in the Maldives surely.

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
Location
Food
Cleanliness
Overall
 

Writing on 11/01/2007 Mark Singleton  from Cambridgeshire said...

I have just returned from this isalnd. Thomson informed me there was no building work going on there but there was. The spa is not even built yet, the water bungalows are nowhere near finished, they are building a confrence room close to the restraunt.

The sea does not have a nice sandy floor like you would imagine from the maldives it is just broken coral and rock. The all inc deal entitles you to drink some disgusting beer in the bar at night no other alcholic drinks are included in the bar, you get wine by the glass in the restraunt, you do not get fruit juice included. You get no activities included either, jet ski rental to give you an idea of prices is 50 dollars for ten minutes. This island has cables laying in and out of trenches they have dug that they are using to install new electrics along the walkway to the islands snorkel point which is poor by the way. If you want to know more from other people who have been to this island go on the Trip Advisor website and search for it. Thomson should not have sent anyone to this island in its current state, if they tell you there is no building work they ar elying as many other visiors to this island will tell you. I doubt they will put this on here anyway so its pointless me writing it but i have taken a screen shot of this review just to prove they i did write a review but they never posted it cos they know there are major problems on this island. Avoid at all costs!

Review based on a trip in December 2006

Thomson replied...

" Our overseas staff keep us constantly informed about any building work - especially in growing resorts. We have no control over building schedules. However, we always do our best to tell you about any specific work going on near your accommodation, if time allows before you go on holiday. This Island is now fully completed & no building work is taking place. "

Nice when it's finished

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
Location
Food
Cleanliness
Overall
 

Writing on 04/01/2007 Anonymous  from West Sussex said...

We arrived to overcast weather which was a little disheartening but we tried to remain positive. The speedboat to the Island was exhilarating and certainly made you feel alive. As we approached the Island it was everything we had hoped for; a friendly welcome and picturesque.

The reception area was tranquil and refreshing which was just what we needed after the long flight. A few small forms to fill in and then off the room. Suitcases followed shortly after and again were delivered with a smile. What was really nice about the place was that in the 7 days that we stayed here, no one held out there hand asking for tips. As it happened the odd dollar here and there was given with appreciation rather than out of guilt.

The room was spacious, simple and cool. The beds were rock hard. The outside bathroom was both novel and natural. The safe in the room is free along with t&c making equipment and fresh water which is topped up daily at no cost.

The island itself it almost finished. We experienced a bit of work still going on with the refurbishment programme and I would say it was about 80% complete when we were there. The island opened about 1 month too soon. The natural beauty of the Island coupled with the amazing fish out weighed any negative feelings we had.

The food was ace. Lots of variety, hot and cold and excellent service from our waiter Saeed. There is some confusion over the all inclusive drinks and when you can have certain beverages so if you like your spirits choose the upgrade option. Brandy is 8 Dollars.

The live Music was not good. As for the Richard Clayderman LP that was put on in between the Live music, well come on ? this is paradise ? not Bluewater!

The Water sports team were excellent and really tried to help us enjoy our stay. The windsurfing is offshore but you can walk out on a sand bar to the appropriate area and get a jet ski back if you ask nicely!

The Fish.
Well, if you like snorkeling with big fish then go to the end of the Jetty at fish feeding time (5.30) and you can swim with 12+ Manta Rays, a Couple of Turtles, Moray eels and many other amazing fish. We heard there were some small black tip sharks on the other side of the island but we didn?t swim over there as it wasn?t so attractive. We also saw some Dolphins when we did a snorkel trip but only in the distance.

If you love a warm sea, amazing fish and friendly people then you could do a lot worse.

Review based on a trip in December 2006


Page 22 of 22

21  22  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson