Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Sonesta Beach Resort



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Sonesta Beach Resort

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 210 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Fantastic Hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 12/05/2013 Anonymous  from Essex said...

What a fantastic hotel! Really great staff, food (both taste and variety) and location. The rooms are a little dated but are really clean and make up for it in the amount of space they provide. The hotel could be three bolted together, each offering something for everyone. Would highly recommend and certainly visit again.

Review based on a trip in April 2013

Lovely hotel but constantly harrassed by sellers

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/05/2013 Anonymous  from England said...

Me and my boyfriend spent 9 nights at the Sonesta Beach Resort. The room was big and was kept very clean. The food was average but very repetitive. We both had really bad stomaches so make sure you buy 'Antanol' (costs about £3.50 for 12 tablets) and it take effect within a few hours. There are a few shops in the reception area to buy gifts from but beware of the shop at the bottom of the stairs to Ali Baba's the man comes across as lovely and friendly but is extremely rude and gets aggressive if you don't buy anything from his shop. We would highly recommend Ali Baba's which is roof top terrace you can smoke different flavoured shisha pipes for only £1.50 and watch the shows on the stage below. The staff are friendly but on occasions would laugh about guests and make jokes in their language that we couldn't understand making you feel uncomfortable. The all inclusive drinks aren't very good and all the cocktails taste the same (very sweet). The beer is ok and the soft drinks are good. The one big put off was the amount of people trying to sell you excursions, photo sessions, spa treatments and little children selling jewellery. They give you the hard sell and become rude if you don't buy anything. The only good thing is as you start to tan they back off abit. The sea was fantastic and the fish are very close to the shore so you can snorkel just off the jetty and see loads of beautiful fish. I would recommend a snorkelling boat trip which was amazing. Overall the holiday was good but I wouldn't go back to the same resort.

Review based on a trip in April 2013

back again

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 07/05/2013 Anonymous  from Essex said...

This year was the 5th time we have returned to this hotel complex. The rooms are a bit tired but everything is excellent. The grounds are very pleasant and well kept, the accommodation is all low rise, 2 or 3 stories. No hesitation, we be back next year.

Review based on a trip in April 2013

best holiday ever

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 02/05/2013 Anonymous  from Herefordshire said...

we stayed at Sonesta beach resort and we couldnt believe how fantastic it was, the food was 1st class with so much choice, the rooms were huge & towels/bedding was changed every day, the staff who cleaned the rooms even made swans etc out of towels & placed them on the massive bed each day, i have never been anywhere that pays so much detail to making your holiday perfect, your cases are carried to your room & collected on departure, the grounds are looked after from morning to night by teams of gardeners, This place suits all age groups, its flatness would be a help to elderly or infirm, the activities keep the young entertained without disturbing the ones who want peace & quiet, the bar staff in the many bars were so friendly & the pool men bring you clean towels for the sun beds everyday, ( the beach towels are supplied foc ) If i had to say one thing against it then i think adding free Wi-fi is a must, the amount of people who we spoke to left the resort as a short walk away you could get free Wi-Fi, Sonesta Beach would get a lot of free advertisement through facebook comments /pictures holiday makers would post, we definately will return to Sharm & Will definately be stopping at Sonesta, we are trying to sort our rotas out and we will be booking again soon, we were warned by lots of friends about upset tummys in Egypt, we took a vast array of pills incase we had a bout but nothing, we found out that all food prep is washed with bottled water, ice cubes from bottled water, even washing up done with bottled water, cleanliness & hygene are Sonestas priority along with customer experience & satisfaction all of which they deliver in droves, best place we have ever stayed and nothing was to much trouble,

Review based on a trip in April 2013

Not 5star no where near

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 30/04/2013 Anonymous  from North Yorkshire said...

Beach area small and sun beds crammed together. Beds so hard and uncomfortable both me and my husband suffered hip problems due to this. Cleanliness in rooms and public areas not normal Egyptian standard. Went to evening meal 1 night and chair in restaurant was soaking wet and on looking at other seating they were stained and very shabby. Food was equivalent to a 3star not really up to normal thompson standards. Drinking glasses in all areas not cleaned properly as these were plastic as on day 4 my husband started with a cough that several other guest had this was due to contamination from these glasses . The only positive I can say is the beach recreation staff Muhammed and the rest could not do enough to help you and Khalim in the blue wave bar was also pleasant and so was Jimmy in the cactus pool area . Entertainment was extremely poor nothing but the animation team for the average guest , the Danish girl Oriel ?? I think her name was was extremely pleasant and friendly. And finally all the flies on the food in all dining areas really the food should be constantly covered and actually you would also expect it to be hot but majority of the time it was cold. If I hadn't holidayed previously with Thompson I wouldn't go again but previously holidays with yourselves have been good so we shall see next time. And finally the excursions to soho where the bus was 20 mins late no contact to reception by rep so when security said soho bus all 14 Thompson passengers went on this unbeknown to us this was the free shuttle bus provided by the hotel and then finally the excursion to old sharm market we actually were on the bus 45 minutes and had only travelled approx 300yards from our hotel as most passengers not ready but the other passengers paid. By the time we got to sharm 1hour and 10minutes travelling my wife felt so ill due to the coach we went straight back to our hotel in a taxi . So we would actually rate these excursions as 2 out of 10

Review based on a trip in April 2013


Page 1 of 42

1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson