Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Alexandra Beach



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Alexandra Beach

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 93 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

paradise island

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 04/08/2009 Anonymous  from Cheshire said...

Returned Alexandra beach hotel, potos, Thassos, 2 days ago and have withdrawel symptoms! A beautiful place to chill out and catch the sun with some stunning sceenery. Potos village is manic after 9pm when all the shops and cafes open and locals come to shop. typically Greek and authentic. Brilliant tavernas to eat cheaply, I recommend Taverna Irene for locally caught fish and hospitality. We went on the recommended boat trip which was out of this world, swimming off the boat into the clear blue water and fab bbq too. We were upgraded to a superior room as it was a honeymoon trip which i could only fault as to the cleaners schedule. Sometimes they dont clean your room until after 3 pm, which can be when you are returning from the beautiful beach for a shower. Food the fruit, salad and bread choice is endless and superb for a vegan , such as me! The choices for main courses were sometimes cold and resembled the food left over from the day before! Drinks are a bit London price at the hotel, but there is a shop on site to take drinks onto the beach,head for the Tavernas in Potos for a change! The only niggle i personally have is with some of the other guests. We were informed not to lay a towel on the sun loungers beside the pool or beach but our european friends did this from 6AM!! Also the pool gets so over crowded with gangs of kids, the beach is a must if you want to chill. We were told that as it is an out-of-the-way resort there wouldnt be too many children, but there were, so if it is your honeymoon , head for the sunloungers on the beach infront of the bar and near to the sea. The rep, Lauren is a really honest, genuine kind person who is there to please. I want to go back right now!! enjoy!

Review based on a trip in July 2009

Anniversary in Thassos

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 22/07/2009 Anonymous  from West Midlands said...

Just got back from the island of Thassos in Greece, we stayed at the Alexandra Beach Hotel Potos, room 603 with a balcony veiw over looking apple trees and pear trees, in a court yard location on the second floor. This was our first time to the island and hotel, and WOW it had every thing we wanted to relax for one week. The food as you would expect from the greeks, was loads of salads, fish, pasta, lamb, chicken, etc. Plus traditional greek cusine olives and oils. Bar prices reasonable 3 Euros for a small beer, bigger than at home 4.5 Euros for a large very large, 7 Euros for a small bottle of house wine. Location of the hotel is beautiful, veiws out too sea and the beach area, pebble lined not sand, if it bothers you with sunbeds and parasols, and a great water sports location for the brave. Would go back tomorrow, but it will have to be 2010 try it and see, would recommend have a nice day!!!!!!!!!!!!.

Review based on a trip in July 2009

Excellent holiday in Potos!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 21/07/2009 Anonymous  from Oxfordshire said...

We recently spent a week in Potos and had an amazing time. The trip to the island was a little bit tiring - after the flight you put your bags on a lorry to be taken seperately to the hotel and then get on a coach for 20 mins to get the ferry. The ferry crossing takes about 40 minutes and you get great views of Thassos as you approach it. To get to Potos you then have another coach journey of about 45 minutes. The hotel Alexandra Beach was amazing - very well kept, clean with good facilities - definitely 4 star and the staff are very hard working. The room we had was superb - it was quite big with a sea view, a fridge, and air con. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was nice although it was a bit hit and miss whether the water would be freezing or boiling hot! The hotel also had a wonderful spa - I would definitely recommend the hot stone massage! There is a pebble beach right next to the hotel which is lovely but you need your flip flops to walk comfortably to the sea. There is a small bar on the beach for refreshments (watch the prices though - 2.50 for a coke, 2.50 for an ice cream!) which plays music all day - sometimes this was relaxing music but sometimes it was annoying depending who the bar tender was! If you want total peace and quiet I would suggest getting up early and getting a sunbed further down the beach. There always seemed to be enough sunbeds to go round so there is no need to get up too early - we usually went down about 10am. The local resort of Potos is small but has a number of bars lining the beach and a few shops. More than enough for a quieter holiday. I would strongly recommend hiring a motorbike or a car to see the whole island. It is only about 40km from Potos to Thassos and lots of places to stop off on the way with great views of the coast from the mountains. It cost 22 euros to hire a small motorbike for the day which I thought was great value. The food in the hotel restaurant was ok but a bit bland as you would expect from a buffet. There is also a snack bar open until 4pm but don't expect a quick lunch as service was very slow. If you fancy a change there are enough restaurants/bars to choose from in nearby Potos village. I would recommend Thassos to anyone looking for a quiet holiday where relaxing on the beach is all you want to do. I wouldn't recommend for families as there wasn't really anything for kids or teenagers to do and most of them looked bored while we were there

Review based on a trip in July 2009

a dream holiday in Thassos

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 27/05/2009 Anonymous  from Staffordshire said...

this is a great hotel very clean all the staff were very helpfull and very happy food very good as much as you could eat but the only small thing was we wished thay did glasses of wine not just bottles at dinner ,all around the hotel are pine trees and the hotel gardens just great and at night all the lights come on and great sitting places with the sea it is so chilling,lots of places to walk we have told all are family and friends what a great time we had at the hotel and in Thassos .

Review based on a trip in May 2009

Relaxation at it best!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 25/05/2009 Anonymous  from Essex said...

Just arrived back after our 3rd trip to this hotel and cant wait to go back again, stayed for 2 weeks this time and had a relaxing holiday with the weather when we left at 34 degrees. Lovely bars and restaurants and small port just a 10 min stroll from the hotel with lots of choice in music etc. Not much in the way of excursions as the Island is fairly small so only a boat trip etc plenty of time to chill out and just unwind. Very slow paced, although the hotel staff work very hard and are really friendly. Rooms have all amenities that you would need, but are fairly basic but lovely and clean with linen and towels changed regularly. Beach towels can we used courtsey of the hotel with a 1 euro charged per towel to be exchanged for a clean one. Drinks are rather pricey but lots of small bars around to get better value for money if you enjoy a drink. Tom the rep is very helpful as is the management etc of the hotel and can only praise the good service. The foods was lovely and especially their deserts! We enjoyed the quiet lst week better than the 2nd week as by then the hotel was fully booked, but still plenty of sunbeds on the private beach and around the pool. Would recommend for a quiet peaceful holiday with relaxation on your mind.

Review based on a trip in May 2009


Page 14 of 19

13  14  15  16  17  18  19  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson