Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Fort Arabesque



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Fort Arabesque

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 123 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

WINTER SUN IN FORT ARABESQUE

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 30/01/2008 Anonymous  from Surrey said...

Fort Arabesque is situated on a beautiful sandy beach in the bay. Plenty of sun loungers umbrellas. The grounds are really lovely and very well maintained. There are plenty of bars with all kinds of music to suit all tastes as well as the arena with nightly entertainment. The animation team are very active the only problem being they are all Italian and the evening entertainment is mostly carried out in that language. The food is good and well presented. There are two restaurants and the waiters are very helpful and courteous. Our room was excellent and as we chose a high floor room the view over the bay was great to watch especially as the sun sunk down over the distant mountains in the desert. The only drawback was not enough room for all my clothes. The whole atmosphere was very friendly and all the staff were helpful. We shall definitely go again and I have recommended that to my friends.

Review based on a trip in January 2008

A disappointment to be honest

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 26/01/2008 Anonymous  from Kent said...

First Choice flight - crew left alot to be desired. Outbound one stewardess very rude to passengers, at best disorganised, at worst downright dangerous - the crew member in charge even said out loud the access code into the flight deck in front of passengers queuing for the toilet next to it! Hurghada airport disorganised. The tour rep had to be tracked down as he had not waited in or even near the terminal for us. 30 min transfer to hotel. Check-in chaotic. Reception staff surly. Hotel reception area undergoing cosmetic refurb - very strong smell of varnish which was used on floor tiles lasted duration of 7 day stay - not pleasant as this is where the bar it located. However this was masked at night by the very smoky atmosphere. High percentage of Italian, German and Russian guests. Majority of UK guests appear to be with Saga on long stay. Bar staff very efficient and attentive, a please and Thank you is gratefully received as some behaviour from certain nationalities is downright ignorant and rude. Hotel is clean but some areas are in need of attention. Our rooms were 350 351. Located on third floor opposite the Quiet beach. Bathroom sinks cracked, tiles in shower missing and broken, shower doors that had a mind of their own. One shower tray leaked water that ran out into the main bedroom area on each use. Bedrooms are very large. One king size bed and one double in each of our rooms (one was reserved for a single person). Food in the restaurant was Ok. Dishes were not kept hot, which was disappointing as some dishes would have been good. Vegetarian selection poor, even many of the salad dishes contained meat or seafood. Only main meals were labelled. Appeared to be some recycling of some meals from lunch to dinner. No dodgy stomachs though. Evening meal starts at 19.00 - 22.00, alot of people being turned away at 19.15 as restaurant full asked to return later in the evening. We ate at 21.30 on evening of arrival and food selection was dire - little choice left and wasnt being replenished. Service a little slow. The beach is very clean, active areas a quiet zone. Massive amount of sun loungers on beach. Witnessed little regard by some for the coral reefs just off shore. Gardens are well maintained and large open areas as the hotel site is very spread out as the hotel is split into 2 wings. Would I return to this hotel? Sorry but No. Why? as I have stayed in far better hotels in Egypt. Having said that is was a fair price.

Review based on a trip in January 2008

Amazing Arabesque!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 28/12/2007 Anonymous  from Hertfordshire said...

WOW! Fantastic, amazing. We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in December 2007. 2 adults and 4 children aged 4 -9. We all have a very relaxing time, but still had plenty to do. The snorkleing is a MUST! Crystal clear sea, an abundance of fish and coral. Could have snorkled all day if the children let us. Canoeing was fun and great exercise. The children enjoyed the children's entertainment and the entertainment team were really friendly. The pools all have plenty of space for swimming and relaxing, only 2 pools were heated. The food was unbelievable. You could eat and drink from 7am - 1am! The variety of food was brilliant, any diet could be catered for from vegan to total carnivor. The children's favourite meal was breakfast with crepes and doughnuts! We went on a couple of excursions, which we really enjoyed, it just made a break from the hotel environment. One trip was to Mahmya island. Breathtaking! Your own tropical island, with white sand, turquoise sea and deep sea snorkleing, totally recommended. Another trip was called stars and dinner, we went by jeep into the desert (not a trip for the faint hearted) climbed a small mountain, watched the sun set, had dinner with the Bedouins and then through really high powered telescopes looked at stars, planets and the moon, totally amazing. We couldn't fault our 2 week holiday and the children wanted to stay longer. The hotel isn't massive which is nice, the hotel's beach is the best beach in Makadi bay, we walked along the other hotels to be nosey. Makadi bay is quiet. It is just hotels along a bay and if you look inland all you can see is desert. One of the hotels on the bay has a very small shopping center, entertainment is confined to the hotel. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet and because you can go on excurions or get a taxi or minibus into Hurgada you didn't feel isolated. The hotel was immaculate, the housekeeper was lovely, all the staff were really friendly. This is one hotel to recommended 100%.

Review based on a trip in December 2007

Wonderful Find

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 10/11/2007 Anonymous  from Surrey said...

Stayed here Nov 2007 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are spacious with two king size beds a huge tv set with mini bar whch is part of your AI deal which has water juice and cans. This is re stocked on a daily basis. The building is set like a horseshoe with the reception and bar restaurant ares in the middle of the semi circle. They also have another restaurant/bar which you find by following the red road.. Here also are some new blocks of rooms which appear to be newer. These also front the beach but are set back. Everyroom had a sea view which ever block you are in. The food is the same served as the main restaurant but doesnt seem to canteenish. The food was very good and no one I spoke to had caught the dreaded tummy bug. The beach is great. Lots of snorklng to be done. The beach does however get very busy. You will be hard pressed to find a bed after 9.00. I dont know what availability was like further on near the new block but by the beach bar it was always chocker. However saying that the room between umbrellas/beds was generous. The beds also had lovely mattresses which were tied to the beds. Apparently you could get beach towles from as early as 7.00am. Alas I was never up at the time to witness it. The pool areas where very quite and you could always find a bed there. You could walk along the beach path to Makadi bay, passing all the other hotels and as we walked through them we could see how lucky we were with the beach umbrellas as they seemed to be all squashed on top of each other. Makadi Bay was quite with a few restaurants and some touristy shops and a supermarket. The gardens are beautiful and there is always someone working on them. All in all a place I would return to and recommend to others. Just to note that Mark the rep was brilliant and his knowledge of Egypt is tremendous.

Review based on a trip in November 2007

A Fantastic holiday!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 20/08/2007 Anonymous  from East Sussex said...

This holiday was fantastic! The hotel is set directly on the beautiful beach and we had a great view of the bay and swimming pool from our balcony. I went with my boyfriend who also really enjoyed it. It is suitable for a young couple like us, but don't expect much nightlife as the hotel entertainment was for the Italians. The food was good with a variety throughout the 2 week holiday. The All Inclusive doesn't include snacks, but this wasn't much of an issue. The pool bar was excellent! We took a day trip to Cairo which was well worth it but tiring. We had a 24 delay going home so Thomson put us up in a different hotel in Makadi centre which was meant to platinum but I preferred the location of Fort Abrabesque. A beach view from your room makes a big difference! I would recommend this holiday to people looking for a relaxing time in the sun at a beautiful location.

Review based on a trip in August 2007


Page 24 of 25

23  24  25  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson