Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Riu Yucatan



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Riu Yucatan

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 353 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Excellent stay in mexico

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 16/07/2010 Anonymous  from Cheshire said...

This was our 3rd attempt at going to mexico cancelled due to hurricane & last year swine flu but 3rd time lucky & that right ! It was well worth waiting for & lived up to all our expectations. The staff at the hotel couldnt do enough for you, entertainments team were there to do whatever they could to make your holiday special. Hotel facilities and food excellent with plenty of choice having the extra 3 restuarants which we didnt have to pay extra for !! a refreshing change !! Very informative with some special effects not a show !! Would definately recommend Mexico to others (and have already). BRIL HOLIDAY

Review based on a trip in July 2010

our holiday in mexico

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 07/07/2010 Anonymous  from Caerphilly said...

stayed at the RIU Yucatan for 2 weeks had a fantastic holiday. Beach is superb. Hotel is quite oldy worldy but this is what makes it so special.The staff are wonderful and will do everything they can to make your holiday as wonderful as possible.The two reps Wendy & Maylee? are great as is William(room manager) and Anjelica(reception), Edith(room cleaner)was fab made animals out of our towels every day.Sadly however there are 1 or 2 issues with the hotel that should really be addressed by the management. Firstly the pool area needs a lick of paint. The pool needs to be cleaned better in order to prevent masses of dead insects floating around, and lastly at about 4 pm everyday the groundsmen come around with a machine that they use to "fumigate" the buildings? this really stinks & is quite offputting when your in the open air restaurant eating a meal. Its these little things that just take the shine off what is a wonderful hotel. A word of warning being ill in mexico is very very expensive, one nights stay in hosp. cost us 2000 u.s. dollars only had sickness and diahorrea read your insurance pol. very very carefully. But I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful holiday. Well done Thomson once again.

Review based on a trip in June 2010

Viva Mexico

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 28/06/2010 Anonymous  from Norfolk said...

We stayed at the Yucatan in June this year. The hotel is lovely, transfer from airport around 1 hour. Our room although standard was spacious, with a total mini bar including optics for vodka tequilla etc and coke, organge and beer. Refilled every other day. The hotel itself has everything you need, food can be same old each day, but very good and tasty. There was only 2 downsides, one was the pools, they are quiet dirty and you seem to be swimming all sorts things I dread to imagine. They need a pool attendant as what we saw some people doing was disgusting in the pool, kids doing what they liked with drinks and the parents dont care. The 2nd thing was (and not really an issue of the hotel) the mosquitos they are fowl, my husband whom never gets bit anywhere we go, both 21 on one ankle along. We both looked like leapors within 2 days. Its the jungle nothing you can do. We did the captain hook tour, is was fantastic. A totally novel tour. We were on the Black Pearl and the other boat was Captain hook, they played silly games, danced and partied. They kept the drinks flowing and the food was wonderful. Then they had a battle at the end of the night to see who wins the treasure. Great night for all. We also wanted a special resturant for a nice meal for 2 as we were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversiry our there, we went to Aluxus, its a resturant and bar in a cave, and a totally wonderful experience. The food was lovely and the staff are amazing, a little expensive, but totally worth it, a really special place. Weather is extremely hot, like needles on your skin. This hotel has a wonderful beech with loads of sunbeds, but there is no shade on the beach, and believe me you will need it. All in all a great hotel and holiday, we totally enjoyed it and would go back sometime in the future.

Review based on a trip in June 2010

never again

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/06/2010 Anonymous  from Falkirk said...

My wife and I have only just returned from 2 weeks at the Hotel Yucatan. Sorry to say but we will never return to this area of Mexico or this hotel. We were badly bitten by mosquitos throughout our holiday which was not nice. On the hotel itself, we were extremely disappointed by the hotel on a few things. Firstly the pool area is in need of some refurbishment and the pools themselves badly need cleaning, there is a slick over the water which was there all 2 weeks. There is nowhere apart from your room where you can go and enjoy a drink in a cool room, no area apart from the main restaurant on occasions has air conditioning. The entertainment staff are good dancers but thats all they did which becomes boring. On the plus side, the staff are all lovely people who do try to make your holiday enjoyable. Suffice to say we will not be returning .

Review based on a trip in June 2010

...

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/06/2010 Anonymous  from Shropshire said...

i really loved the riu yacatan. it was a fab holiday for all the family! the entertainment waas fab! the food was amazing. there was such a veriety and breatfast and night time. the only thing that wrecked my holiday was the mosquitoes.i was covered in them. so you should be prepared when you go.We enjoyed going up fifth avenue because there was some nice shops and some not so nice. but our hoiday overall was very nice. and the weather was outstandingg!

Review based on a trip in June 2010


Page 40 of 71

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson