Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Riu Yucatan



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Riu Yucatan

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 353 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

1st All inclusive family holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/05/2010 Anonymous  from Kent said...

As the title says this was our first holiday in an all inclusive resort. The hotel lived up to it's ratings and pleasantly beat our expectations. The beach is lovely and didn't get over crowded. The sea was even warm enough for mum and dad to go in! The hotel is nicely laid out and the room was fine. We found the mattresses hard and although I heard you can get mattress toppers there were none available. There were a few mozzies around - it might be worth considering getting a mosquito repellent plug as well as body sprays. The main restaurant has a good selection of food of high standard - so much so we thought it beat the Ala-carte restaurant. We pre-booked via the Thomson 2 excursions. One Dolphin adventure (must do) and a day's trip to Chichen Itza. We learnt during our induction that the Chichen Itza trip was 2:40mins each way on a coach so we cancelled it. Instead we hired a car for half a day and went to Tulum an Coba (where you can still climb the pyramid). Definitely worth considering doing if you are short of time. You also need to get a taxi to Akumal where you can snorkel out to the coral reef and apparently it's guaranteed you can swim alongside turtles. We were lucky enough to do exactly that. All in all a great holiday and we would consider going back and certainly favor RUI hotels for our future holidays.

Review based on a trip in April 2010

Love it at Riu Yucatan

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 08/05/2010 Anonymous  from Middlesex said...

My boyfriend and I, both aged 21, stayed at the Riu Yucatan from 3rd April- 17th April 2010. With the volcanic erruption, we ended up gaining an extra 4 days of holiday and flew home on the 21st!! Thomson & Riu Yucatan were faultless during this time & we did not incur any charges or changes to our accomodation. We continued to stay in our current room & enjoy all that was to offer of the All Inclusive resort. The beach is outstanding, golden sand & crystal clear waters. (The photos are very accurate). Food was lovely & ALWAYS readily available throughout the day. Bar staff were very efficent & always friendly. The grounds are specatular & entertainment staff always keep you busy. Shows were great. It was our first tie at a RIU hotel but we are definately considering returning again to Riu Yucatan. Swam with dolphins at Xel ha, worth the money!!

Review based on a trip in April 2010

Stranded!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 27/04/2010 Anonymous  from West Midlands said...

As there are so many nightmare stories about holidays ruined because of the volcanic eruption, I felt I had to write to say that our holiday was made even better because of this disaster. We were certainly the lucky ones. We booked a 7 day holiday and ended up with an 11 day one. From start to finish we found nothing to complain about. Even the first 3 days of non-stop torrential rain was a good laugh and thanks to our crocs we walked and paddled all around the area! The hotel suited our needs in every way. The rooms were comfortable and cleaned thoroughly every day, the food was varied and delicious, the staff worked so hard and still managed to smile and say hello to us all the time. The Animation Team certainly kept us entertained with daytime activities and wonderful dancing skills in the evening.(Oh to have their energy!) One day we were given a behind the scenes tour of the kitchens and were very impressed with the cleanliness and organisation. No chance of health and safety complaints. When the flights were cancelled we were reassured by the Thomson staff, told to stay on as normal and were given regular updates on the situation. We simply can't praise the hotel or travel reps enough for such a super holiday with, what we consider, a bonus extension. Just another example of our satisfaction with Thomson holidays.

Review based on a trip in April 2010

Good holiday, bad rep!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 25/04/2010 Anonymous  from Essex said...

Riu Yucatan - Riviera Maya. The location is fantastic, you only have to walk down a few steps before you're on a gorgeous beach. There are plenty of activities to do - on the beach and by the pool, with a brilliant entertainment team keeping you busy.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable, fresh towels every moring.

The food is in a buffet style, so there's alway's something for everyone.

Evening shows put on by the entertainment team were always good (Especially the Michael Jackson show).

The only problem we encountered on this holiday was the Thomson Rep. Adrianna never seemed to be around when you needed her. She never arrived on time and you were forced to sit and wait for her. Or she'd be packing up her things to go home as you sat and asked her questions. Several other guests commented that she was never there. We were unlucky to be caught up with the Volcano issues and had to ask everyday when we'd be going home. After being given a leaving date and time (1 day later than our original leaving date), we were told to come down the following day at 9am to confirm. We did this but unfortunately Adrianna wasnt paying us much attention and wrongly told us that we wouldn't be leaving today (Saturday 24th April) that it would now be Monday 26th and to enjoy our additional days. Assuming this information was correct we returned to the pool. By chance I had a headache and went up to our room at lunchtime. 1/2 hour later we recieved a phone call asking why we hadn't checked out yet and that our bus to the airport had already left! Telling us that we had to hurry up and check-out to ensure we got back to Birminham (Even though we were travelling to Gatwick!). When we argued that she had informed us about now leaving on the Monday, Adrianna denied ever talking to us in the morning (even though we had gone back to ask her about purchasing mosquito patches, which she didnt have and claimed never work and arent worth buying!!) Her attitude at reception was less than professional, saying it wasnt her fault as she had to many customers to look after. Then told us that we had to pay for a taxi to get ourselves to the airport! I am very disappointed that Adrianna, a very rude and unprofessional member of your Thomson team managed to ruin what was otherwise a very nice holiday. We were in such a rush to get to the airport that we only just made our flight. I hope you follow up with this member of staff an will await your comments. Mrs Kappas Travel Ref: 1534219

Review based on a trip in April 2010

Thomson replied...

" Thank you for your comments about the hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed most of your holiday. We're sorry to hear the rep service you received was disappointing. We must accept that we had a few last minute changes regarding the inbound flights, as the organisation of the flights was according to the aircraft availability and information that we, as a company, were receiving regarding the volcano activity. Many customers that were due to leave on Saturday were rearranged on a Tuesday flight, but as a result of all these changes, the flight ended up with more seats available and this might be the reason of being told different information by your Holiday Advisor during the week. However, we strive to provide the best possible service with regards to all aspects of your holiday and can assure you that we will be looking into this further. Your comments about the Holiday Advisor will be transmitted to the Resort Team Manager for the Riviera Maya. "

dont trust thompsons customer service

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 21/03/2010 Anonymous  from Essex said...

stayed at riu yucatan during beach renavation hotel,food,entertainment very.but thompsons would let us change hotels as beach was shut for ten days of our holiday dont trust them they will cheat you out of ur money

Review based on a trip in January 2010

Thomson replied...

" Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were affected by this inconvenience. It is actually true that the beaches in Playacar were closed for quite a few days in January. The government decided to renovate the beaches and refill them as they had become very narrow and small. Trucks and heavy machines were used for this purpose. Thomson was unfortunately misinformed by the authorities as they advised that there were going to be small building works on the beach and these would only last for a couple of days. Some hotels were affected by these problems, and the customers in Riu Yucatan were allowed to use the beach facilities in Riu Lupita and Riu Palace Riviera Maya. Hotel changes without any charge were accepted in the end, after receiving the authorisation from head office for TUI UK & Ireland. Unfortunately the resort team had to wait a few days before we could advise our affected customers that they could move into another hotel with a beach without any charge as an exception, as normally, hotel changes are always possible as long as the customers absorb the difference in price and as long as there is availability. "

Page 42 of 71

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson