Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the San Giorgio Hotel



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

San Giorgio Hotel

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 131 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Great holiday at the San Giorgio

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 24/06/2009 Anonymous  from Caerphilly said...

We were looking for a quiet and relaxed holiday in beautiful surroundings - which is what we found! The San Giorgio is on a steep hill, so is not for those with mobility problems, but we found it the perfect backdrop for our stay. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean, with regular towel and bedding changes, The only thing we were surprised at was that we were charged 3euros a day to hire a kettle, and we had to pay a further 15euros for a late-check-out room. The pools were cleaned every night and had such a great view. All the staff at the hotel were really friendly - reception, waiters and cleaners - nothing was too much trouble for them. The restuarant for evening meals was great, plenty of choice and really tasty, ideal if you felt like "staying in" for the evening. The breakfast was fine, but could have done with a bit more variety. The free shuttle bus into Skala was great, even if a bit restricting, i.e. you have to book it in advance and return on a specified pickup - the alternative is to get a taxi back to the hotel from the centre of Skala for 5 euros. We enjoyed "eating in" most evenings and then catching the 9.00 p.m. shulttle into Skala for shopping, drinks in the bars and "people watching", returning by taxi whenever we chose. We stayed for one week and went on 2 trips organised by Thomson - highly recommend "Discover Kefalonia" and "Idyllic Ithaca" - two great days out. My husband is a keen sea fisherman and found a good spot just below the hotel on a ledge next to a small pebbly cove. We spent all morning there completely on our own, even the beach at Skaka was remarkably quiet. A fair walk, but not too bad if you go before it gets too hot - and definately worth it! Take your beach shoes though as the shingle quite sharp - and gets everywhere!! We spent a couple of days on the beach near a supermarket, and were certainly not in earshot of anyone else - at least 100yds between us and the nearest other sunbathers. You will need to take an umbrella, or some sort of shade - you can buy one for 6euros at the supermarket. All in all a great holiday and we would like to return to the San Giorgio in the future.

Review based on a trip in June 2009

The Beautiful Island

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/06/2009 Anonymous  from Kent said...

This hotel is the best on the island, the rooms are large and airy with a large scenic balcony, air conditioning and a fridge. We stayed half board and found the 3 course evening meal excelent with the option to eat from the full menu with reduction of 12 euro from each persons bill (this is more than we paid for the half board upgrade). The beach opposite the hotel was small, secluded, scenic and whilst we were there normally empty as there were 3 pools in the hotel. The main resort of Skala was 3Km down the road, far enough to give you the feeling of being in the country but accessable by a enjoyable 45min walk or on the free hotel bus. Entertainment was on for 4 of the 7 nights. I would grade this hotel as 5 star.

Review based on a trip in June 2009

Lovely late Break in Kefalonia

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 27/10/2008 Anonymous  from Gloucestershire said...

Just spent a late break in Skala at almost the end of the tourist season. Weather was beautiful and enhanced the beauty of this lovely island. The San Giorgio is a lovely hotel but no good for people with problems walking uphill or negotiating steps; there are lots of them due to the hotel being built up the hillside. Pools and gardens were really nice. Food in the restaurant is good and if you are on half board you can still choose from the evening a la carte menu and pay the extra over 12 euros per person. Buffet breakfast is basic and enough but it would have been nice to have a little bit of variety from day to day e.g. some bacon or boiled eggs or cooked tomatoes, fresh fruit, brown bread, marmalade! The hotel is a bit isolated and it takes about 35 minutes to walk into Skala along narrow winding road with no pavement for much of the way - certainly not recommended at night. There is a hotel shuttle but you need to book at reception and be prepared to come back in 2 hours or walk or taxi! We hired a small car which gave us freedom to go out of the hotel whenever we wished and to explore much of this lovely island. In October the roads are fairly empty but you must not be nervous to drive on winding roads with frequent sheer drops alongside! We were welcomed everywhere we went and found the local people friendly and helpful. We will go back to Kefalonia.

Review based on a trip in October 2008

A Great Hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 26/09/2008 Anonymous  from Greater Manchester said...

We've just returned from this great hotel. We were there for 2 weeks and stayed BB. We had an evening meal at the hotel restaurant on 5 occasions and found the food to be very good and comparable with the tavernas and restaurants in Skala. The breakfasts were ok but a bit boring, limited and basic - the same everyday. However, we had lunch/snacks from the snack bar which were very good. The 2 large pools were clean and pleasant in nice settings and with plenty of sun loungers and parasols. Our room/en suite was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and it was well appointed with fridge, hairdryer etc. The lack of tea/coffee making facilities in ou room was our only grumble, especially as the breakfast room didn't open until 8am. So, if you like an early cuppa take a travel kettle - the dining room will give you cups and saucers. Our balcony was a bit small but had a delightful sea view. All the staff were very friendly and efficient - I asked for an extra pillow on the first night and one was delivered to us almost as soon as I'd put the phone down! There was evening entertainment in the hotel on 3 nights per week which was fun. The hotel was in an ideal situ for us - approx 3kms walk into Skala - there is a free hotel bus that runs approx 2 hourly until 9pm and plenty of taxis if you don't fancy the walk but take a torch if you plan to walk at night as the road is unlit in parts. Skala is apparently the largest resort on the island but still quite small and quiet in comparison to most European holiday resorts I've been to and doesn't appear to be the sort of place to attract those who like to go late night clubbing, which suited us. There are plenty of taveras to choose from both in the town and on the road between the hotel and Skala. If you get the chance visit the seafood restaurants in Katelios - a village approx 6.5kms west of Skala - we had a gorgeous fish dinner at Gerry's. I'd definitely go back to Skala and definitely go back to the San Giorgio.

Review based on a trip in September 2008

Jim in Paradise?

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 10/09/2008 Anonymous  from Lancashire said...

We were two middle aged independemt travellers.We had bought a week at this hotel on a late offer. At about #20 per day it should have been a bargain but it didnt feel like it.First problem is getting from the mainland.Ferry from Patras to Sami was a beautiful sail but then no bus service at all from Sami to Skala. 50 euro taxi ride.Better to sail from Kylinni to Poros. The first room we were given was awful room 122, never saw the sun and smelt like it! The next room ,157, was lovely but at the top of the complex which is on a very steep hillside.Had the impression we did very well in 157 as most balconies suggested smaller rooms. We had dinner in the restaurant first night which was both good in taste and portion size.Reasonably priced. Breakfast every other day was poor. Every day the same offering of beans and sausage and scrambled eggs, cold.The coffee was the highlight.(The orange juice the lowlight) There was a very good selection of swimming pools which in late August were never over full. We had visited Scala once before and thought we liked it but closer examination was not very inspiring.Depends what floats your boat I suppose but the connection from the hotel to the town was poor. Several kilomtres of unlit road and a rare transfer bus with about 15 seats was inadequate and rather surly. Overall would probably accept 4 days or so at the price but any longer is only a denial of better options

Review based on a trip in August 2008


Page 24 of 27

23  24  25  26  27  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson