Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Protur Aparthotel Bonaire



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Protur Aparthotel Bonaire

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 587 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

The fantastic Bonaire

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 27/07/2010 Anonymous  from Hampshire said...

Have recently returned from a two week holiday all inclusive , we have 3 teenage boys and a two yr old ,all of the children had a great time, the staff were really friendy infact my sons absolutley loved Oskar the barman. The resort is great for all ages , i could not fault the resort in anyway we are definatley going back next year - food is varied , cooked well and tasted lovely .We took trips on the bus to SaComa where the beach is beautiful, would recomend this resort to anyone planning to visit Majorca. I have to say from reading a pevious review that i did not in the two weeks i was there see anyone drunk staggering around !! And as for the comment re all inclusive option spoiling the hotel due too too much alcohol being consumed and lack of sunbeds around the pool being due this, i have to say how rediculous as i'm sure self catering guests use the sunbeds too !! Anyway would recomend this is a fantastic family orientated resort with great staff to anyone 5*

Review based on a trip in January 2010

great family holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 26/07/2010 Anonymous  from Lancashire said...

we returned from our first visit to the bon aire last week.we went self catering. we had a fantastic family holiday,The room was great for our needs, my eldest slept on the sofa bed, and my youngest in a cot, there wasnt one in the room when we arrived but informed reception and one was brought up very quickly, if you shut the doors at night the air con comes on, the rooms were very clean, and new towels were provided on the days the maid went in.because we went self catering we only ate in the resterant twice once for evening meal and once for breakfast but i really enjoyed both times, there was lots of choice and my daughter loved having the childrens area. my children are 5 and 2 my eldest spent time in tots which she loved you have to que in the evening but it only took about 10 mins and was definately worth it, the reps worked so hard and went out of their way to get to know the children, same goes for the creach, great service and my two year old loved the fact that she got to go as well as her sister, entertainment was great in the day and night, but there is also plenty of places to relax if you dont want to get involved. all the other reps worked really hard as well. the pirate pool is great for younger children. all the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the bar staff worked very hard, obviously we cannot compare other years but i do understand why people wouldn't like all inclusive, i think it did seem to put the bar staff under pressure, but i didn't witness anyone excesively drinking in the day, the children seemed to play very nicely together athough it did get busyier towards the end of the holiday as the summer holidays started. i would recomend this hotel, and the holiday as a whole. cala bona is very charming, we enjoyed eating out in the evenings and coming back for the childrens disco and entertainment, some nights, but you can also walk though to cala millor, its an enjoyable walk, and nice for a change of senery. make sure you get up early for a sun longer. deffinatly want to go back.

Review based on a trip in July 2010

We are going back next year!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 26/07/2010 Anonymous  from Cheshire said...

We loved our holiday at the Bonaire and are going back next year. The apartments are quite small but clean and you have everything you need and are cleaned 5 times a week. There is a supermarket quite close by, a short walk down the road. We went self catering so found this really useful. We did eat out every day as the kitchen in the apartment was really too small to cook in. My daughter (2) loved the splash pool at the back of the hotel which caters for smaller children and has slides and a pirate ship in the pool. The main pool was like getting into a bath in the afternoon as the weather was so hot! The entertainment staff were fabulous and there were things going on all day for all ages. Bingo at 9.15pm becomes a bit of an obsession! You can win well over 100 euros each night. The girls in the creche were fantastic and she loved going in here for a couple of hours every few days. Getting a sunbed at the hotel was a bit of a joke. Seriously.. people went down at 5.30am to put their towels out, we saw them on the last morning as we got up to come home!! Resturants in the resort were fab, especially Smithy's down by the harbour. Janet & Johns do a great chilli and the rope and anchor do great food too. I HATED the transfer to and from the resort, it was by coach and took an hour and a half to get to our hotel. On the way back, it was even worse, 2 hours! The driver, after picking up all his passengers went back into Cala Bona after his last pick up to collect somebody that wasn't ready first time! Should have told them to make their own way!! Private taxi next year!! No beaches really in Cala Bona, just a few rocky ones, you have to walk into Cala Millor where you will find sandy beaches, and the further you walk, the sandier they get. All in all, had a great time and can't wait until next year.

Review based on a trip in July 2010

Wish it had not gone All Inclusive - Spolit the place!!!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 25/07/2010 Anonymous  from Kent said...

Really sad that this wonderful place has gone all inclusive.....NOTE TO THOMSON, PLEASE CHANGE IT BACK!!!!!, I can recommend Coma Gran in Sa Coma as an alternative (hope they dont ruin this one too), its a bit more 'high-rise' in style, although the kids facilities are fabulous...bigger babyzone room, bigger soft play area and bigger playgrounds, and its all fenced in so the kids cant get out. The apartments are also lovely spacious and clean and the sofa beds are much better than Bonaires, they are proper pull-out sprung beds. I would definately go there again. I am in two minds about Bonaire which makes me sad as my boys love it there, I just dont want all the hassle of waiting for meals and people drinking too much as its 'free'. I would like to give a special mention to Nutty Nat who runs the Thomson creche at Bonaire, she is wonderful and gives confidence in parents who leave a child in her care, she is excellent.

Review based on a trip in September 2010

Still loved the bonaire!! concernced about the future though

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 24/07/2010 Anonymous  from England said...

This was our 3rd year in a row at the bonaire and it was great to see the same staff that we have got to know over the past few years and bump into fellow holidaymakers that we have met before. The reps and entertainment was great again. Everything we loved about it was still there with the addition of the excellent pirate ship which the kids loved! We also love the resort of cala bona and again it was great to go to the local restauraunts (Xaloc) and shops (julies) and see the same people still there. The personal feel from the resort and hotel itself still remains (but for how long i dont know) Having read reviews before we whent away we were concerned about the all inclusive option that had been introduced and were interested to see for ourselves how it would be! We still had a great time and the all inclusive set up didnt really impact us that much or even the queues for drinks etc but I have to be honest and say that the waiters and bar staff didnt seem happy with the changes and i can only guess its becuase they are losing money (less tips) and having to work harder. However they were still fantastic and an asset to the hotel as allways!! Bonaire please realise that these staff are excellent and are the reason why people return, they are the customer facing staff of your hotel and need to be looked after. Same with the resort, the restauraunts were quieter (especially those on the outskirts) and some of the shops like julies which is a great sandwich shop also seem very quiet compared to the recent times. I am worried about what and who will still be there next year should I book up again. Overall yes a great holiday but its 2011 and beyond that worries me. I think that Thomson may be doing the staff at the bonaire and the resort a great injustice by keeping going with the all inclusive option. Peoples livelyhoods could be at stake here and the bonaire and thomson need to realise that people dont just go back for all of the things we are being asked to rate you on above. They go back because of the resort, staff and to meet with people they only see once a year because they have built friendships over time. The whole familiarity thing is important for young families and is the essence of what makes the bonaire such a great place. So yes an excellent on the above overall but also some real heartfelt concerns over a hotel and resort that my family have grown to love.

Review based on a trip in July 2010


Page 59 of 118

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson