Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Captains House Hotel



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Captains House Hotel

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 15 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

we will be back again this summer

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 26/03/2009 Anonymous  from Kent said...

I stayed at this hotel with my mum in July when the weather was fantastic. skala is very nice resort and kefalonia generally magnificent.the captains hotel is situated in the centre of village.We had a newly refurbished attic room which was lovely - fairly basic but clean and cosy.the hotel was clean and the staff fabulous.the only negative was that not exist elevator.the bar across is very lively until 12-12:30.after the music goes down and close about 01:30. dont thought that it was going to be 18-30 clubs & parties & too loud like other resorts in greece. but if you like to go very early for sleep try one other hotel.there is some goods little out of skala in beach road. I'd recommend staying here if you're looking for a no frills but fun, easy going holiday. I'd definitely think about going back this summer.

Review based on a trip in July 2008

Forget breakfast

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 21/10/2008 Anonymous  from Kent said...

Skala is a lovely though fairly quiet resort with plenty of places to eat and a good beach. The staff at Captain's house are friendly and the hotel is pleasant enough. It is opposite a very lively bar so forget trying to sleep before midnight (even with the windows closed). Worth paying for the air-conditioning. Breakfast is the same every day and is very basic even for continental breakfast. Not even a toaster or choice of cereal. Worth walking the short distance to The Pines where the choice is excellent and the coffee endless.

Review based on a trip in June 2008

I dont know what your talking about - its rubbish here!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 19/10/2008 Anonymous  from Herefordshire said...

We stayed in this 'hotel' for one week during September and I can safely say that we wont be returning. The hosts were husband and wife and were very much miserable all the time. They would never say hello to you and just watched you struggle while carrying your suitcases up 2 floors. Actually no, I lie. They would only say hello if you were spending money in their bar across the road which only had a small amount of alcohol in it - especially in there cocktails. They only changed the towels once a week and the beds were quite hard and the showers were tiny. The breakfasts were shocking - pre packed toast and some orange juice. It did get very boring. When I was sitting in the bar the lady owner would come over and talk to the young lad who worked there, start laughing, look at you then laugh again. It was very intimidating as you dont know what they were saying as they were talking in greek. It was very uncomfortable. Skala is lovely and I would visit again - just not this dump of a hotel.

Review based on a trip in September 2008

Kefalonia - Skala

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 21/08/2008 Anonymous  from Herefordshire said...

Skala was a good resort that is not purpose built, with good amenities for the tourist. You need to hire a car to enjoy the beauty of the island, but it is worth it for a number of days. We staid in the Captain House Hotel which is a very nice family fun business; while we were there, the other occupants were young couples, young families and some older couples. The breakfast at the Captain House Hotel is basic consisting of tea, coffee, fresh juice, bread & jam, other wise it was very enjoyable. The thing you must do are go to Assos, Petani beach, see the Karavomilos Lake. Mirtos Beach is beautiful but now the road the snakes down to it looks like a car park in high season.

Review based on a trip in August 2008

Can't wait to go back ....

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 19/05/2008 Anonymous  from Cheshire said...

This was a last minute booked holiday and exceeded expectations, good value for money. Captains House is a lovely small hotel, rooms good size and well furnished. Balconies small, 2 can just squeeze on to sit. If you want to close the shutters at night you have to move the balcony furniture but leave it and wake to the sunrise. Breakfast could do with improving. Orange juice and coffee great, cornflakes, one slice of bread, packet of crispbreads and jam. Could do with adding vogurt or ham and cheese. Full English breakfast can be bought at most of the restaurants in the village for 5 euros. Loads of good restaurants, would definitely recommend, The Pines, The Flamingo and for a real treat Symposium which looks expensive and you may pay 10 - 20 euros more for a meal for 2 but well worth it. Well worth booking the taxi transfer from the airport. We had checked in, unpacked and were on our way to the beach by the time the coach arrived! Second week of May and Skala was only just waking up from it's winter rest, I would definitely leave going next time until beginning of June to enjoy all the water sports, water taxis etc. Skala has to offer.

Review based on a trip in May 2008


Page 1 of 3

1  2  3  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson