Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Talayot Apartments



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Talayot Apartments

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 382 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Fantastic Reps for the children

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 11/09/2007 Anonymous  from Perthshire said...

We have just returned from Cala n'Forcat after staying for one week at the Tayalot Apartments.The place is fab.The Thomson reps are brilliant and so are the local staff.They cannot do enough for you. The trip was spoiled for a little while because of some idiot drinking all day but he was removed,much to our delight. The small train runs around the resort at a cost of 7 euros per person. I wouldn't bother if i were you, the driver disappears all the time and leaves you waiting. Nice place and good restaurants. Only downfall is the transit time, which for us was 1 and half hrs. However we would definitely go again.

Review based on a trip in September 2007

Fun at the Talayots

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 10/09/2007 Anonymous  from Caerphilly said...

Just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Talayot Apartments. The rooms are clean but do need modernisation. The kitchen could have more equipment to help with the ease of self catering. The maid service is excellent, our rooms were cleaned every other day and the bed linen changed at least twice a week. There are fans in every room which were definitely needed. The reception staff are helpful and when we had a problem with our fan they replaced it immediately. The bar is lively and the entertainment for the kids was excellent. There were problems with older boys jumping from the bridge into the pool which was very dangerous and the parents made no effort to stop them. At night they also swam in the pool late and made loads of noise which caused problems for those in the apartments around the pool. The ground floor apartments are great for the kids, the only disadvantage is if you little ones are prone to wander off as they are not enclosed. My two children really enjoyed the pool side entertainment and the evening events. Easy to wander into the main street where there are loads of restaurants and souvenir shops. It is a very commercialised place with all things 'British' in case you get homesick. Had a lovely meal at 'Daisies' restaurant which is on statue square. Also a lovely chinese restaurant behind the Talayot near the Pharmacy - best meal of the holiday. The beaches are not easily acessible with pushchairs and they are very small. Also one beach charged 12 euros a day for hire. We took the train ride around the resort for 7 euros each and it was lovely. Visited Citadella on the bus which is beautiful, well worth a visit. There is a market there on a Saturday and Wednesday so good to go then (only 15 mins on the bus). Overall a good holiday if you like busy and 'British' feel.

Review based on a trip in August 2007

Holiday in menorca

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 10/09/2007 Anonymous  from Cheshire said...

Highly recommended holiday apartments. Very well equipped, cleaned more or less every day we stopped there. Nice clean pools, plenty of sun beds. Nice and quiet even in August. Plenty of well priced eating places in walking distance. Plenty of entertainment every night. Well stocked supermarket across the road. Would definitely go back.

Review based on a trip in August 2007

Top two weeks at the Talayot!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 03/09/2007 Anonymous  from Cumbria said...

This was our first holiday abroad with the kids, 1 and 3 so we were naturally nervous and slightly apprehensive as this was not the type of holiday we would have chosen for ourselves. However, I must admit that our last minute booking turned out to be a fabulous decision. On arrival, our little boy stripped naked and attemped a midnight skinny dip in one of the many pools, we had a lovely apartment in the X block, which although away from the centre of the complex was perfect for us as it offered a less crowded pool, plenty of loungers and peace and quiet at night. The entertainment was outstanding and the effort put in by all of the thomson reps was amazing, they really did make it feel like they were putting all of it on just for our two weeks, and not like they had been doing the same thing for months. The kids club was great, offering 2 sessions a day and the occasional evening party. Everything was available to hire for the youngsters, from potties to baby walkers, buggies and high chairs which was something that I wish I had known before I packed the kitchen sink! I was a bit disappointed with the lack of beach, but there was so much to do - water parks, inflatables, horse racing, cycling, quizes etc, that we never felt bored. The food on the main strip is all a bit bland and 'samey', we struggled to find good tasty food, but the Ancora is good, especially the onion rings, mmmmm and if you turn left out of the talayot and cross over, the first restaurant you come to, the cal 'n moll was abit more expensive, but for excellent local cuisine, fantastic. The soft drinks in the talayot are VERY expensive, we bought bulk from the supermarket! Top supermarket has more choice than the spa, it is also a great deal cheaper and has a cash point. We hope you enjoy your holiday in Minorca, it really was one for the kids, but we were surrounded by others in exactly the same boat, so the camaraderie was fantastic and we left having made some good friends. We will be booking with Thomsons again, but chosing a resort that caters for babies too - a baby sitter would have been good for one or two nights just so we could enjoy a meal in peace!

Review based on a trip in August 2007

Family Friendly - Great!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 15/08/2007 Anonymous  from North Yorkshire said...

My family and I returned from a weeks stay today and we had a great time. I purchased the holiday via www.thomsonauctions.co.uk and got a good price with superb flights. A tip for anyone that does use the auction site, make sure you decide what extras you want before you ring to confirm your booking (i.e. meals, transfers etc) as if you want to make any changes to your hol after this initial call the call centre staff won't budge grrrr! We we were checked in promptly and shown to our apartment by a member of staff. We stayed in X-Block which I was really pleased about as it was on the other side of the road from the 'main' apartments and large pool/snack bar area where the majority of the day time entertainment happened. In the x-block area there are 2 pools, one about 0.70m for the kids and a deeper one next to it. They were both clean and we always managed to get a sunbed despite some people getting up early and 'bagging' one *rolls eyes* for the time of year it was quiet and very relaxed. This is absolutely not the case though in the other area which is much livelier. There is a shallow pool with a fountain near reception which all the younger kids loved. I would like to have seen the pool areas, restaurant and all of the entertainment areas smoke free especially given the amount of kids around. I could find no fault at all with the childrens clubs reps. 10 out of 10 to all the reps - brilliant!! Some of the bar staff were great, a couple were not, my partner was waiting for a drink one night when a member of staff announced that he would be 'shagging on the beach tonight'!!!!! Er, yeah, nice one.... 2 pts of San Miguel please! TMI on the one hand, on the other we were quite amazed that he could find a beach in Cala n Forcat to carry out such an activity! The best beach area we found was left before the giant rabbit (you'll know what I mean when you get there!) you need to walk down a track to reach it, not practical with a buggy or small children. Buggies can be rented from the hotel quite cheaply as can towels. The Park: Aire bouncy castle area (the whale) and snack bar was great value for money and away from the road and you always have the children in sight which isn't the case in other bars, staff are fantastic. The apartments were basic, clean and bug free, the beds were v.uncomfy. Towels and sheets were changed regularly. We wanted to hire a car but there were none left, I think you need a car in Menorca. Good hol

Review based on a trip in August 2007


Page 67 of 77

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson