Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Eden Mar Suite Hotel



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Eden Mar Suite Hotel

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 115 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Lack of information

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 19/07/2013 Anonymous  from South Yorkshire said...

After reading very positive reviews about the food and service at this hotel, we were dismayed when we experienced our first breakfast, as it was far from good and the service was pathetic. While we were experiencing this cold food and poor service for a second time, we were informed by another holiday maker, that there was another much bigger and better restaurant that we should use in the sister hotel Porto Mar. For the rest of the week we acted on that advice and although we found the food to be basically the same, it was hot (when appropriate), freshly cooked (when appropriate) and with a bit more choice and the service was second to none. The strange thing is that although its considered a 'sister' hotel, it is more like the main hotel with the Eden Mar as a smaller annex, with an inferior restaurant. It would be much better if only the best restaurant was available and/or better information was provided to make you aware it was a better option. Other than that the rest of the hotel was good but I'd make the following comments; 1) Rooms in the region of ours 1122 are directly over the entertainment room and restaurant and as a consequence they are subjected to a great deal of noise, whether you want to hear it or not. It is so bad that in one instance a noisy couple at an outdoor table sounded like they were in our room with us, so I'd avoid those rooms if you don't want uninvited vocal guest. 2) The air conditioning didn't work adequately (it was cooler in the corridor than in our room with it at max setting) but they were quick to fix it, albeit that it needed 2 attempts before it stayed fixed. I certainly wouldn't rank this hotel as high as many others have done but as long as you use the main restaurant I'd rank it highly.

Review based on a trip in July 2013

Relaxing Stay

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 19/07/2013 Anonymous  from Angus/Forfarshire said...

We had a very enjoyable relaxing stay at the Eden Mar. The staff are very friendly and helpful and work very hard to ensure that you have a comfortable stay, every member of staff that we asked for assistance or advice were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure that you were happy. The hotel is very clean and the room was very comfortable with a daily maid service, we had a Junior Suite with a view over the sea, the room also had a small kitchenette which was handy. The hotel provides toiletries in the bathroom, tea, coffee and milk, towels for you to take down to the pool and also clean towels daily for your room. The breakfast is a continental buffet style with a range of breads, meats, cheeses, cereals etc and there was always a table available. The hotel is part of a complex which includes the Porto Mare Hotel and guests of the Eden Mar are able to use the facilities of both hotels, it is just like one big complex with a choice of indoor and outdoor pools, spa, air conditioned gym, bars and restaurants. We also attended the Thomson Rep meeting which is a good way to find out more about the complex and the island of Madeira, our Thomson Rep Margaret, was very helpful and again she made sure that you had all the information you were looking. We spent each day down at the pool and there are plenty sun loungers but if you want a sun parasol you will need to get down to the pool sharp as some people would have multiple parasols around them, so if you went down to the pool later in the day you did struggle to get one, the pool staff did work tirelessly to ensure that guests looking for a parasol had one, the sun does get very hot and a parasol is a definite if you intend on sitting by the pool all day. We ate out each night and there are a lot of good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, we had a look on trip advisor and went to a few restaurants which had a trip advisor award, they were all good, we had a meal in the Med Restaurant in the hotel complex which was very good, we ate at the two restaurants just outside of the hotel Casa Italia and Shelter, both were good, we also went to the restaurant offered by Thomson as one of their trips and this was very good too. Overall we had a wonderful holiday, I would recommend this hotel complex to friends and family and I would definitely stay there again with Thomson, the people and service was very good and made our holiday thoroughly enjoyable.

Review based on a trip in July 2013

Madeira Experience

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 12/07/2013 Anonymous  from Leicestershire said...

We loved this holiday, the lavada walks, the fireworks and old Funchal. The Edan Mar hotel was very good and only spoilt by the check in proceedure which took 45 minutes with only one person on duty. Everyone we spoke to had an issue with this.

Review based on a trip in June 2013

Absolutely wonderful

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 08/07/2013 Anonymous  from Essex said...

Have returned from a wonderful week in the Eden Mar. Grounds were stunning and well maintained. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Food in the Med was extremely good as was the service. The Italian resturant situated below the hotel (forgotten the name) was excellent too (as was the service). We had a junior suite with mini kitchen which was very handy. Rooms are in need of an update but that is the only thing I could find fault with. Well done Eden Mar staff, they worked very hard. Botanical gardens and Tropical gardens in Funchal well worth a visit - and a ride on the cable car is a must.

Review based on a trip in June 2013

A great holiday

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 02/07/2013 Anonymous  from Suffolk said...

We had a wonderful holiday. We stayed half board at Eden Mar and had our meals at the buffet restaurant at the Porto Mare hotel although we could have gone to any of the other restaurants on site. The food was excellent and there was a huge choice. The kitchenette was well equipped and we appreciated being able to use the fridge and kettle etc. The hotel Porto Mare and Eden Mar are on the same site and guests can use all the facilities. The gardens are beautiful. The walk into Funchal takes about 35 minutes. We made use of the courtesy coach (visit the hotels website for times and stops). Book your ticket from reception. The cable car stop is near the Old Town, Market, shops and the cable car, the town centre stop is a short walk to the marina, harbour, town square and cathedral. Wear comfortable footwear as the paths are cobbled and often uneven. The Thursday free ramble by the tour reps is brilliant. We went on two organised tours, Monte and magnolia and Enchanting East which we enjoyed. You can easily organise a Monte trip ( including the tropical gardens and toboggans) using the courtesy bus to the cable car and buying an appropriate package from the ticket office ( see the cable cars website for package details). The toboggan rides are paid separately but be warned they end before Funchal and a taxi ride can be expensive. The cable car was not working the week we were there. The waterfront is being reconstructed to prevent future flooding and there is not much of a promenade. We believe it should be finished by August and should look lovely. Do take a good guide and map with you. Have fun.

Review based on a trip in June 2013


Page 1 of 23

1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson