Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Los Gigantes



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Los Gigantes

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 644 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

In a time warp

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 08/02/2011 Harry and Judy  from West Yorkshire said...

This was a last minute holiday and having stayed at the Los Gigantes hotel several times before decided to return. Nothing appears to have changed over the 15 years or so we have been staying there. The rooms are very clean, large and airy. The bedding and towels also good. The staff are mostly very pleasant especially the General Manager and the Restaurant Manager. However the most worrying thing is the norovirus bug which is rampant in the hotel and I believe has been for well over a year. There were so many people down with it that the doctor was calling almost every day and charging 70 euros for a prescription or 100 euros for an injection! The hotel provided antibacterial hand gel both at the entrance to the dining room and by the lifts. My husband and I were lucky and did not catch the bug I am pleased to say!

Review based on a trip in January 2011

What a disapointment

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 07/02/2011 Anonymous  from Derbyshire said...

We returned to Los Gigantes hotel with high hopes, having enjoyed a lovely holiday there 3 years ago.It really need bringing up to date, its shabby now with well worn carpets on the stairs, dark corridoors and tatty fixtures. The main problem and its an on going problem is the sickness bug that is there.The week we were there guests were dropping like flies including ourselves.The rep told us the whole island is affected but this is not true,, just check on line.. its hotel based and it need sorting.We only had 2 meals at the hotel when my husband was struck down by it,, I honestly cannot remember him ever vomiting in 30 years but he certainly made up for it,Bearing in mind the age of most of the guests the hotel should be shut down and deep cleaned.Thomsons are well aware of this issue and yet continue to sned guests to this hotel..unbelievable !!!!

Review based on a trip in January 2011

Thomson replied...

" We are aware of a small number of guests falling sick at the Los Gigantes hotel in Tenerife. The health and safety of our customers is of primary importance to Thomson. The symptoms experienced by customers who have reported sickness this winter are indicative of norovirus and the illness was just as prevalent in Tenerife as it was in the UK. There was an increase in cases of norovirus in the UK during the winter months and it is estimated that between 600,000 and one million people are affected on an annual basis. Outbreaks of this airborne virus are common, particularly within contained environments such as hospitals, nursing homes and schools and an outbreak in a hotel or resort, therefore does not indicate a failing in hotel hygiene standards. As one of our key properties, our resort teams work closely with the hotel management and follow the advice of Independent hygiene consultants. Following their advice, we have taken several steps to eradicate and prevent the spread of infection, including the implementation of precautionary enhanced cleaning procedures. Independent Hygiene Consultants have confirmed that the hotel is operating to the highest standards. The reported level of illness remains low when the overall population of the hotel is taken into consideration. We are happy to offer advice and information to any customers who wish to contact us prior to travel. On arrival we provide all our customers with information on general hygiene and wellbeing. "

The bug is still here

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 04/02/2011 Anonymous  from Cumbria said...

Stayed 11 days and overall enjoyed the break though it was spoiled for my party of six in that all of us to some degree were affected by the norovirus which for a short time at least is extremely unpleasant. The hotel staff did their best but I felt that Thomson did nothing, not even mentioning the problem to new guests at the Welcome Meetings. Prevention is much better than cure and a warning word on arriving at the resort is definitely needed.

The Hotel itself I felt was dated when I was last here four years ago and in that respect there has been no improvement though one still has a comfortable feel here. Food is of a good standard without being exceptional though occasionally it was not hot enough and the water for tea was NEVER hot enough. The staff in general show a good attitude, though the cleaning staff could have been more thorough especially in the bathrooms where guests had the bug. The Thomson reps seemed to keep a low profile and appeared to pass any questions on to reception staff to deal with.

The Hotel has a high reputation but it is perhaps becoming a little tarnished and I think the bug will certainly do it a fair amount of harm.

Review based on a trip in January 2011

Thomson replied...

" We are aware of a small number of guests falling sick at the Los Gigantes hotel in Tenerife. The health and safety of our customers is of primary importance to Thomson. The symptoms experienced by customers who have reported sickness this winter are indicative of norovirus and the illness was just as prevalent in Tenerife as it was in the UK. There was an increase in cases of norovirus in the UK during the winter months and it is estimated that between 600,000 and one million people are affected on an annual basis. Outbreaks of this airborne virus are common, particularly within contained environments such as hospitals, nursing homes and schools and an outbreak in a hotel or resort, therefore does not indicate a failing in hotel hygiene standards. As one of our key properties, our resort teams work closely with the hotel management and follow the advice of Independent hygiene consultants. Following their advice, we have taken several steps to eradicate and prevent the spread of infection, including the implementation of precautionary enhanced cleaning procedures. Independent Hygiene Consultants have confirmed that the hotel is operating to the highest standards. The reported level of illness remains low when the overall population of the hotel is taken into consideration. We are happy to offer advice and information to any customers who wish to contact us prior to travel. On arrival we provide all our customers with information on general hygiene and wellbeing. "

Picturesque Los Gigantes

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 01/02/2011 Anonymous  from North Yorkshire said...

The hotel is wonderfully located, but try and get a west facing balcony room. The sun will wash over the balcony during the afternoon and evening. Everyday the temperature was around 25 deg. The coach transfer from the airport was 50 mins and we were the first to be dropped off. Our reception at the hotel was very civilised. We were taken to a reception room and offered a glass of wine whilst our bags were transferred to our room. Our room was only adequate and had an east facing balcony. The TV was very small and reception not very good, but the room did have a fridge, which was most useful for bottle water etc. I don't know what the room allocation policy is, but we would have preferred a west facing room. It may be worth exploring the cost of a room upgrade. If you want to walk locally be prepared for a few hilly climbs. If you want to go further afield using public transport, it is relatively easy to get to Adeje, Las Americas and Los Christianos. During our stay the hotel was 100% full and yet there was never a problem in getting a sun bed or seat on the terrace areas. The dining room was fine and the buffet meals (breakfast 7-10am and dinner 6.30-9.30pm) were good with enough choice to meet most needs. There was also an option to choose waiter service one night per week. It was encouraging to see that the hotel promoted good health practices with antiseptic hand cream dispensers throughout the hotel and by the restaurant. However, during our stay a number of guests succumbed to a viral illness. The hotel staff were efficient and friendly as were the Thomson reps. The cost of drinks in the hotel whilst not cheap were not prohibitive. Most guests made an effort to dress smartly in the evening. The Thomson daily activities had no appeal for us, but if you want that sort of thing then each day had organised events from 10.30 to 1600. There was also a sign up sheet in the hotel foyer for guests to indicate an interest in bridge, table tennis etc so that liked-minded people could get together if they so wished. The evening entertainment was good, with a cabaret from 10pm to 11pm. The cabaret acts flown out from England were very good. Overall, the holiday was good value for money, but I didn't like the "holiday camp" atmosphere of evening presentations of BAFTAS (Best and Finest Thomson Awards) nor the "Gold Guest Quest" evening quiz. Furthermore, the weather was mixed. We had some gl;orious days but some afternoons of cloud, rain and cooler temps.

Review based on a trip in January 2011

beware the camera shops

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 20/01/2011 Anonymous  from Ayrshire said...

lovely hotel and location great sea and harbour views staff extremely friendly a good variety of dishes in the restaurant entertainment reasonable a quiet resort with a small number of bars/cafes Stayed here for the first time the first two weeks in January weather fantastic a 50s to 80 holiday a lot of guests return year after year as we found out as it seemed to be us and them there a lot of hills in this resort not really a place for after dinner stroll. BEWARE of the camera shops in tenerife where you will be looking in the shop window and you will be offered a sony for 25euros this is to entice you in to the shop then they will try to con you into buying another much more expensive but inferior one the reps at the welcome meetings do not tell you about this though they are fully aware we met 4 couples that had been conned this way

Review based on a trip in January 2011


Page 64 of 129

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson