Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Los Gigantes



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Los Gigantes

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 644 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Sickness - be warned

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 21/02/2010 Anonymous  from Lancashire said...

Beware! The sickness bug that is either around Tenerife or this hotel is RIFE! Most of the hotel guests has succumbed to the illness. My partner had it and have never seen anyone so ill. Keeping your hands clean is a must. The Reps try to tell you there is a bug on the island, yet on the return coach, no one else seemed to be ill.

The hotel itself is fine. The staff are its biggest asset. They literally cannot do enough for you - and the maids - they shoud be given a pay rise! They dont stop cleaning! All main areas, all hotel rooms are disinfected daily.

Food is good with lots on offer and you arent rushed while eating, there is a relaxed atmosphere. Its true the average hotel guest is aged 70, my partner and I are in our mid 30s and must have stuck out like sore thumbs!

Would I stay here again? No. This is no reflection of the hotel staff, but more of Thomson. They should be warning people about the bug, whether it is on the island or in the hotel, I would have either cancelled the holiday or changed the destination. Los Gigantes is a long way away from the main resorts (about an hour) and there is literally nothing to do. Since coming back have been told by a few friends that this side of Tenerife is also the windy side (even Michael Fish knows its windy here!)

Stay away if you dont want to be ill and dont believe what Thomson tell you about it being under control, it isnt.

Review based on a trip in February 2010

Thomson replied...

" Thank you for your comments. We are aware of reports of illness that has affected a small proportion of guests at the Hotel Los Gigantes. The symptoms experienced by customers are indicative of norovirus. Outbreaks of the illness are common, particularly within contained environments such as hospitals, nursing homes and schools and an outbreak in a hotel or resort is therefore not indicative of a failing in hygiene standards. Thomson would like to reassure its customers that every effort has been made to prevent the spread of this illness. POSI (Prevention of Spread of Infection) procedures have been implemented since the beginning of the winter season and an independent Hygiene Consultant confirmed in January that the hotel was operating to the highest standards. "

loved the town

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/02/2010 Anonymous  from Staffordshire said...

arrived on the 8th of jan 2010 no transport from the airport was waiting for us told by the unhelpful rep wait over there got to the hotel 2 hours plus later and allocated a room on the 5th floor with great views but the loud music from t j s was unbearable but what a difference the rep was helpful and got us moved to a very nice room. food good service good but if it was your first visit you felt like an outsider although the staff were helpful and nice the regulars always got the best tables to have their meal.we both went down with the bug which was all over the island but seemed to be just in our hotel as people on the plane going home knew nothing about any bug and it seems the bug was there in the hotel in 2009 strange that.anyway the reps and staff were helpful during our 4 day confinment so no cmplaints on that score just wish we had been told the truth. all that apart i would consider returning to the hotel but would need to know if it was bug free and how to join the visitors club

Review based on a trip in January 2010

Thomson replied...

" At Thomson, the health and well being of our customers is our primary focus. We closely monitor all the hotels in which we operate with a view to ensuring that the strictest health and hygiene standards are maintained. We are aware of reports of illness that has affected a small proportion of guests at the Hotel Los Gigantes. The symptoms experienced by customers are indicative of norovirus,Thomson would like to reassure its customers that every effort has been made to prevent the spread of this illness. POSI (Prevention of Spread of Infection) procedures have been implemented since the beginning of the winter season. "

A very comfortable Hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 16/02/2010 Anonymous  from Northumberland said...

My friend and I stayed for a few days early Jan. then early Feb and felt completely relaxed and pampered. The Manager was charming and certainly on top of running an Hotel successfully. We were welcomed so graciously by all of the staff who treated us with courtesy and respect and made it apparent, that working there is a pleasure for them. In this day and age it is refreshing to see that some places retain the good old fashioned standards that cant fail. The food was excellent and attractive enough to please even the most fastidious eater. I would be happy to recommend this Hotel to couples. The only criticism on my behalf, was that the dancing each evening was not really designed for two widows unless the music was more lively encouraging everyone to just enjoy dancing for a while for good exercise and fun. We tended to wander outside for a change of scenery and the Thomson staff were after all, doing what they were asked to do for their clientele. All in all a good deal all round.

Review based on a trip in January 2010

Over 70's only

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/02/2010 Anonymous  from Hampshire said...

This hotel is 95% over 70s and all entertainment and food is geared to them. The food in all bain maries was cold unless you got there as soon as it was brought out. The staff were surly almost to the point of rudeness. They do have the NORWAK virus in this hotel and have had since Xmas, the rep did say they had thought of closing the hotel but the hotel management wished to stay open, to be fair the maid kept our room spotless. On the resort itself this was superb. The locals were friendly and welcoming, lots of lovely bars and restaurants around. Would certainly return to the resort tomorrow, but certainly not the Hotel Los Gigantes. With regards to the previous review we found the Reps helpful, knowledgable and charming unlike the hotel staff. The excursions were fantastic and well run, especially the whale watching and submarine dive. If you are going a must see is the bird of prey show at Jungle Park. Although you will have to make your own way there the display of nearly one hour is well worth the money.

Review based on a trip in February 2010

Thomson replied...

" At Thomson, the health and well being of our customers is our primary focus. We closely monitor all the hotels in which we operate with a view to ensuring that the strictest health and hygiene standards are maintained. We are aware of reports of illness that has affected a small proportion of guests at the Hotel Los Gigantes. The symptoms experienced by customers are indicative of norovirus. We would like to reassure our customers that every effort has been made to prevent the spread of this illness. POSI (Prevention of Spread of Infection) procedures have been implemented. "

Not for us

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/02/2010 Anonymous  from Norfolk said...

First Thomson holiday and they managed to screw up most aspects, not helped by the weather. Boarded the Thomson plane on time at Stansted, spent 2 hours on board being told it had a fault they were trying to identify, then all deplaned, back through immigration, collect luggage from unannounced carousel and out the front of Stansted to wait for 4 buses which shipped us to Gatwick for another plane. Gave us some vouchers for lunch but not much consolation when you had got up at 2am! No concessions on the new Thomson plane, not even a free cup of tea. Eventually arrived nearly 8 hours late just before dinner finished to find norovirus rife in hotel (see Daily Telegraph article of Feb 13 2010). We nipped out and bought some alcohol hand cleanser from the local supermarket and had no problems with the bug. Rooms had notice asking guests not to kiss each other and shake hands with staff, and alcohol gel dispensers (well used) at restaurant entrance. Many hotel guests had been up to 60 times previously so knew friendly and generally attentive staff very well - but staff (particularly restaurant manager) were all breaking their own guidelines by shaking hands and kissing guests. Somebody needs to give the restaurant manager a basic hygiene course - saw him pick up a dirty towel from the floor then immediately stir the soup!

Weather for first half of week was awful - but nice room with sea view and balcony gave us great views of the storms and shelter from the wind. Nice aspect when sun came out later!

Took a Thomson-arranged tour to Mt Tiede but weather had closed roads (although by then sunny) and we had a boring ride round the island instead - no refund. And finally, the Thomson-arranged bus back to the airport broke down. The driver elected not to tell anybody what was happening, sat reading his paper until a new one arrived, which took us to the airport to find the homeward flight delayed, fortunately only by 30 mins or so.

Summary - memorable, but not for right reasons!

Review based on a trip in January 2010

Thomson replied...

" Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately extreme weather conditions resulted in rock falls, closing some of the routes to Mount Teide. The issues with the hotel have been escalated to the Hotel Management. "

Page 80 of 129

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson