Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Los Gigantes



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Los Gigantes

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 644 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Tummy bug, or food poisening?

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/01/2010 Anonymous  from Greater London said...

We arrived on 12/01/2009 and we were greeted by a smiling chap and given a complimentry glass of wine. We got talking to one or two guests who had been at the hotel for a few days. The first thing they mentioned was that about 60% of the guests had gone down with a stomach bug. This was a bit worrying as we had read a few reviews of the hotel on trip advisor where people were complaining of this.

Anyway we got on with our holiday. The room was comfortable and clean if a little noisy at night, but only until 11.30pm as ours was on floor 3 and looked out over the town. Breakfast and dinner was the buffet type, plenty of choice here, but some food was not kept hot enough. The evening entertainment was ok, we did see a Beatles tribute band who were very good. Bar drinks are fairly pricey compaired to the prices in the bars in the town but not excessively so.

The pool area has plenty of sun loungers and there is a quiet area with a pool too.

We did the Mount Teide by night trip on the 10th January which was good and included a meal at a restaraunt up the mountain, and a 45minute astranomical lesson under the stars given by a local astonomer. Take some warm clothes if you do this trip as it was cold on the mountain.

The next day was when my wife caught the bug, or got food poisening, she is now recovering thankfully, but spent 24 hours in the room being vioently sick. The reps say that the island is rife with this, but I am not sure how true this is. We spoke to many people who had stayed at other hotels and had heard nothing of this.

I hope that Thomson get the hotel reinspected to identify where the problem is as I think it is not fair to send people to this Hotel knowing that they are very likely to get ill.

Review based on a trip in January 2010

Thomson replied...

" At Thomson, the health and well being of our customers is our primary focus. We closely monitor all the hotels in which we operate with a view to ensuring that the strictest health and hygiene standards are maintained. We are aware of reports of illness that has affected a small proportion of guests at the area. The symptoms experienced by customers are indicative of Norovirus. POSI (Prevention of Spread of Infection) procedures have been implemented since the beginning of the winter season. "

Warning gastro outbreak!!!!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 04/01/2010 Anonymous  from Scotland said...

If anyone is intending to go out to this hotel in the near future please be aware that there is a huge outbreak of sickness and dirrorhea to which Thomsons have turned a blind eye to. It is a bacterial infection and affecting nearly everyone. The Thompson rep said that you catch in the plane going out. Completely ruined the weeks holiday as my wife and I both caught it and lasted for 5 days

Review based on a trip in December 2009

Thomson replied...

" At Thomson, the health and well being of our customers is our primary focus. We closely monitor all the hotels in which we operate with a view to ensuring that the strictest health and hygiene standards are maintained. We are aware of reports of illness that has affected a small proportion of guests at the area. The symptoms experienced by customers are indicative of Norovirus. POSI (Prevention of Spread of Infection) procedures have been implemented since the beginning of the winter season. "

Great Location

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 30/12/2009 Anonymous  from Northumberland said...

The hotel is very dated (70's) and desperately needs an overhaul. The location is fantastic, we paid for a sea view room although bear in mind the crashing Atlantic is noisey even with the balcony doors closed.

We were pleasantly surprised at the standard of food after reading previous reviews. There was a large selection of both hot and cold options at breakfast (the coffee was poor - vending machine). We did particularly like the cooked to order 'grill' where meat (chicken, pork, beef) and fish (sardines or hake) was available each evening. There was a similar setup for omelettes and eggs in the morning. The service was very good, attentive waiters who escorted you to a table.

Lots of space in the hotel, games rooms, TV rooms and other sitting areas. Two pools outside, the main saltwater pool and a quieter freshwater pool around the side of the building. We never experienced any problem with sunbeds (not that there was much sun).

Large bar area with plenty of seating to watch the cheesy evening entertainment after you'd had your dinner.

The hotel seems to cater for the more senior guest although I have to say they were a really decent bunch and I think responsible for contributing a lot to the friendly atmosphere in the hotel.

The small town is literally a few minutes walk away from the hotel and the harbour is only a 5 minute stroll. The usual selection of expat bars and restaurants although we didn't get much of a chance to visit any of them (see below).

There was an outbreak of gastroenteritis in the hotel and after talking to other guests this was not just the odd case. We had to call the doctor out to treat my wife and she subsequently spent the last 5 days of the holiday feeling very poorly. There seemed to have been a total reluctance on the part of the Thomson Rep at the hotel to acknowledge the magnitude of what was going on. This was an issue considering the size of the outbreak, the age of the majority of the guests and the fact a lot of the guests were on their own. There didn't seem to be any follow up by Thomson, not so much as a phone call to rooms to check if everything was OK or whether people needed anything. This was very disappointing. The only thing the rep did seem interested in was taking details to make sure they (Thomson) or she were exonerated from any blame. The waiters (particularly the maitre'd Snr Thomas) and hotel staff showed more concern and offered more help and advice for my wife's illness then the Thomson Rep!

Review based on a trip in December 2009

Thomson replied...

" At Thomson the health and well being of our customers is our primary focus. We closely monitor all the hotels in which we operate with a view to ensuring that the strictest health and hygiene standards are maintained. We are aware of reports of illness that has affected a small proportion of guests at the area. The symptoms experienced by customers are indicative of Norovirus. POSI (Prevention of Spread of Infection) procedures have been implemented since the beginning of the winter season. Our team of Holiday Advisors will give advice where they can, but unfortunately are not medically trained. "

Fist time at hotel Los Gigantes

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 21/12/2009 Anonymous  from Scotland said...

On arrival we were taken through to a small lounge for a glass of sparking wine, whilst our luggage was taken from the coach to our room, a nice touch we thought but not everyone did many would have preferred the choice to go directly to their room. We were told a cold platter for each guest had been placed in the room fridge dinner was over, again this was greeted with a mixed response, many preferring to eat out or retire for the evening due to a very early start that day. We then got our room key and up we went to the 5th floor, first impressions not good, balcony overlooked the car park and some bars, from which loud music was blaring we suspected that due to the position it was doubtful we would get much sun, this was correct, no sun at all in fact. The room smelt stale, the floor especially in the bathroom filthy, as were all the surfaces, and the glasses we were meant to drink from opaque with dust. The person who had greeted us on arrival had been very friendly and helpful so we returned to reception to speak to him about moving to another room, our request was dismissed with a nonchalant shrug of the shoulders, we made it clear we were happy to pay for an upgrade but were told the hotel was fully booked so no other rooms were available, we returned and i got to work giving the place a clean, the quite threadbare stained bedspreads i could do nothing about and i was not under any circumstances touching the disgusting pedal bin in the bathroom but this set back was not going to spoil our much looked forward to holiday. The following day we found out many guests arriving before and after us had been upgraded without request or charge and most thought the hotel busy but not full. Returning guests are clearly favoured, they get the best tables in the restaurant and are greeted by most staff like long lost friends. We always went out in the evening the in house entertainment was not for us, and there were many bars close by with live music. The bamboo bar turn right on leaving the hotel have a cut price offer on drinks each day from 3-9pm eg.a pint of lager goes from 2.50 down to 1.50euros, always a friendly welcome here as well. We were grateful to keep our room on as we had a late flight home this cost 30 euros and worth every penny. The food in the hotel was for the most part excellent but samey, dinner much better than breakfast, the watered down juice barely drinkable some days. Overall a good holiday loved the resort jury still out on this hotel.

Review based on a trip in December 2009

Swimming Pool Fiasco

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 14/12/2009 Anonymous  from Leicestershire said...

Just returned from this hotel and overall had an enjoyable holiday,the entertainment left a lot to be desired as did the daytime activities. Food choice was excellant a wide choice to suit everyone, this hotel seems to cater for its regular visitors who always got the best tables and service in the resturant and allocated the best rooms. As this was a Thomson Gold hotel I would have expected tea/coffee facilities in every room but this is not the case and we had to pay for this service as an extra cost. My biggest gripe is the pool area where couples placed towels on the best sunbeds located where they have sea views at 8.00am each day they then disappeared until late afternoon leaving people who wanted to lie by the pool all day with the beds that were in the shade until the sun moved round. This could quite easily be solved with signs saying SUNBEDS CANNOT BE RESERVED then everyone gets a fair chance to sit by the pool and enjoy the views, if couples continued to place towels on the sunbeds then not use them the towels should be removed by the managment. Overall a very nice hotel and would probably return again if the entertainment was improved.

Review based on a trip in December 2009


Page 82 of 129

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson