Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Los Gigantes



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Los Gigantes

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 644 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Peace and Quiet

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 23/07/2009 Anonymous  from Kent said...

We had stayed in the Los Gigantes for a long weekend earlier in the year and wanted to go back and see some more of the sights. Los Gigantes is not for you if you want noisy nightlife and discos etc but as we wanted peace and quiet with no children in the hotel this was perfect. The views are stunning and the hotel is right in the middle of them. Great for walks down to the Marina (you have to feed the fish! they are sight to behold) and along the cliffs. We usually went for a walk in the cooler morning and then sat by the pool in the afternoon. We had no problem getting a sun lounger, there were always lots to spare. The room was lovely, cool and clean. We overlooked the front entrance (not the sea) but it was still an enjoyable view. We arrived after 10pm but the hotel had kept back some hot soup and rolls and a ham salad. All served with a glass of champagne but waiters were available to take your order. We went on a couple of trips. One to the Los Christianos market which at 19 euros each isn't that cheap but was enjoyable. Loads of leather handbags to haggle over. The catamaran trip out to see the Whales and dolphins was fascinating but again expensive for what it is. I have to mention Tenerife airport. It took us an hour to get through passport control on the way in and an hour of queuing to get through check in. It was like a 'free for all' and of course you are always in the slow moving queue. The shows put on by the Thomson reps were slightly amusing but really there should be more than 4 of them trying to run the whole entertainment side. They tried their best and were really nice but you could see why some people went to the bars just outside the hotel entrance for the evning. Lots of people return year after year and you can see why. The staff are helpful and cannot do enough for you. The manager is always around checking that everything is OK at dinner. Stunning views and peace and quiet. We will be returning.

Review based on a trip in July 2009

relaxing break

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 22/07/2009 Anonymous  from Bristol said...

this was are second thomson gold hotel vist and didnt think it could get better but this place is great.if you want a nice relaxing quiet break this is the place for you. the service in the hotel is second to none they cant do enough for you . the food is again excellent plenty to chose from ,.including champange for breakfast if you want it. the entertainment team at this hotel are great they try so hard even if they are a bit competived between themselfs yes darren and craig . theres activites during the day if you wish which is nice . and the thomson reps join in sometimes which is good fun. thanks sam and amanda im still wearing the thomson gold t shirt i won . and at night darren craig ,sam ,amanda do try hard and put on some great shows for you . the only slight thing was the resident duo again try there best but really arnt the best singers in the world iv seen . outside is quiet with a few bars and shops and a lovely little harbour down the bottom of the hill .thomson trips are a little on the expensive side . the only down thing was we were only there a week . hopefully next year back for two . thanks everyone had a lovely time.

Review based on a trip in July 2009

great service

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 18/07/2009 Anonymous  from West Midlands said...

having not had holidays for many years this hotel was a real treat. The service was proffessional and efficient but more importantly all staff were friendly nothing was too much trouble. We went also for a rest so despite being intially worried that shows etc would be in your face not so you dip in or out when and when. We were welcomed with a meal and drinks very much needed after the flight and very efficient service with bags taken to our room whilst we ate.We would recomend the trip at night to mt tedi amazing views of the Vocanoe and the stars and sunset. Food quality excellent with so much choice our only dissapointment was lack of a kettle in the room as early risers we welcome a cup of tea /coffee . The Walk to marina little steep if you have mobility needs but if you take your time very pleasant lots of cafes on way down and at the marina for weary legs We would certainly go back again. We did not actually need to go to any resturants as the food at the hotel was not to be missed especially the fish but our family who were staying in the resort elsewhere did and would recomend the Taste of Italy especially the steaks.

Review based on a trip in July 2009

Time to update...

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/07/2009 Anonymous  from East Yorkshire said...

Firstly - I had a wonderful holiday and the room was clean, comfortable and the view great. However, the air conditioning was awful so I can't give it an excellent. Most of the staff are lovely but there are a few who need to go to charm school! Interestingly the hotel smells strongly of shake n vac and it is sadly starting to look a little tired. There are lots of reps who seem smiley but we didn't need them. The restaurant serves food which is not 4 star. The breakfast coffee and juice comes out of a machine! Yuk! And the bread rolls are out at 6.30am until breakfast stops at 10am! Cereal and jams are all the cheapest of the cheap variety. Many of the dinnner dishes taste very "packety" but some are delicious - it is a bit of a lottery! It's worth going just to see how they decorate the food (with coloured gel crystals which stain your clothes!). The freshwater pool is great and there is a fab terrace for the cliffs on E floor. However you will be charged 3 euros to play table tennis but nothing to play snooker. Entertainment is great for people who enjoy listening to power ballads and musical classics being loudly murdered! Still had a brilliant holiday though!

Review based on a trip in July 2009

HOW REFRESHING

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 17/07/2009 Anonymous  from West Midlands said...

We saw this Thomson Gold Hotel on a day trip two years ago and said we would come back and we are so pleased we did. The hotel, the pool areas and grounds are kept spotlessly clean by an inobtrusive (almost invisible) team. The staff are extremely polite, professional, helpful and always up for a chat - nothing seems too much trouble. The quality and the quantity of food is amazing and we challenge anyone not to be able to find something they like! The decoration and presentation of the food and the surroundings in the restaurant are superb -where else can you have champagne for breakfast (if you want it) along with your bacon and egg (if you want that too)? We had a standard twin room with a sea view overlooking the main pool which was fit for purpose with loads of storage space and room to walk around. Disapointed not to have tea and coffee facilities in the room as it is 4 star rated (only available in superior rooms). It would have been a nice alternative to have sat on the ample sized balcony with airer, table, chairs and looked at the spectacular view of La Gomera. We were grateful for the complimentary bottle of water due to our late arrival and having a fridge in the room was a godsend. The air conditioning is not brilliant, can be noisy and is down to the manager's discretion (it was off more than it was on it would seem). We heard a few guests ask for extra fans in their rooms as it was 40/45 degrees on average each day! We did overhear the reps say that if you ask for an extra room key you can use it to keep the air con on when you are out of your room but we found this to have little effect (particularly as the maid kept taking it out) and found it more cooling to have the patio door open with the curtain across (as did the maid!) The Thomson reps were friendly, professional,visible and sell a good excursion! However, the sales pitch may not live up to the reality of your expectation. Having said that we still enjoyed the whale and dolphin spotting experience albeit overpriced. The Thomson entertainment team are obviously talented but lack professional delivery resulting in poor standard of productions more suited to cliched holiday camp. TJ's next door is better. Los Gigantes resort itself is clean, expensive and steep (anyone with walking difficulty will struggle). The black sand beach is well looked after.There are places to eat and drink with typical tourist focused shops. Excellent holiday, relaxing, would go again

Review based on a trip in July 2009


Page 89 of 129

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson