Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Platja Dor



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Platja Dor

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 362 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Oh dear whats happened to the food?

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 11/06/2011 Anonymous  from Norfolk said...

We returned on the 10th June 2011 after spending 14 days at the hotel. This was our 8th visit. There seemed to be 3 main talking points amongst the regular visitors that we met again. Firstly was the poor weather, which obviously nobody has any jurisdiction over. Secondly the absence of Tracy who organised the entertainment over many seasons. Thirdly and the most serious and the one causing the most aggrevation was the extremely noticeable decline in the variety and quality of the food which was often not as hot as it should be. The head chef who resided for over 20 years has departed together with some of his team and has been replaced by a chef who does not seem to grasp what the British visitor expects. His team also do not appear to understand how important it is to have the food trays replenished in good time.

Other than that the hotel is still excellent, it is clean, the staff are friendly and the bar staff brilliant particularly Paco and Pedro. The location being just across the road from a lovely long sandy beach along which you can stroll to the port in under an hour is wonderful.

Review based on a trip in June 2011

Love this hotel in Alcudia

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/06/2011 Anonymous  from Flintshire/Sir Fflint said...

We have stayed at the Platja d'or for four consecutive years and due to go back in July this year 2011, we are in our 50's and love this hotel, all the staff are friendly and rooms are kept spotless, we are however concerned now about the extreme negativity of the comments about the food, we have always enjoyed the choice of food (although sometimes repetitive, but we would always feel satisfied following a meal)

Every review that has been documented this year have highlighted a concern about the change of chefs or the food being cold and unedible, is this really the case? Do the Thompson reps read these reviews and attempt to improve this, do the staff in the hotel read it to try and improve the situation.

We have no choice to go there now and despite this, we arew looking forward to staying there with the wonderful beach so close by but I shall be writing a review as soon as I return and hope all the negative comments will have changed for the better.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple

Review based on a trip in August 2010

Going downhill

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/06/2011 Anonymous  from Perthshire said...

Having stayed at Platja Dor before we were looking forward to going back. Not so the reality - the restaurant food was not up to previous standard. Foods meant to be hot were at worst cold and at best tepid. Very limited choice - same thing every day. Meats were obviously of the cheapest cuts available. On the whole, very disappointing. Weather not good but no one could do anything about that. Will not be going back.

Review based on a trip in May 2011

SHOULD HAVE PACKED OUR WELLINGTONS!

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 08/06/2011 Anonymous  from West Yorkshire said...

The first day we arrived was nice and warm and sunny and then we had five full days of persistant heavy rain!! omg!I know noone can predict the weather, but we could have had a week in Filey and spent £100 all in! The Thomson rep was totally preoccupied with himself and showed little interest in the guests. Whilst guests were arriving later in the week the other rep was busy texting on her phone and didnt lift her head! Hotel was OK but thats all. The reception staff were a bit snotty I thought and not what I would class as helpful. When we arrived at 8.40 on Saturday evening all we got as a welcome was Hello - Passports please - dining room closes in 20 mins so youll have to hurry - chop - chop!! The impression I got was that because 90 of the guests are elderly the reception staff had become used to being slightly disinterested. One good point to mention was the Rod Stewart impersonator, Dylan Cassidy - he was fantastic!!!! mega!! super, and all those kind of things. He was more like Rod Stewart than Rod Stewart. The rest of the entertainment was a bit of a washout (just like the weather). The food is fair - breakfast was the best meal, the full english was tasty and filling, oh and the coffee was nice. Bar staff were friendly and fast and you can drink as much as you like till about 11.45pm. Everyday it rained and the sunbeds were covered with towels or piled high with one towel covering it. You dont really expect this behaviour from people of a senior age. The hotel was like living in an old people's home. We have nothing against older people but we expected a mixture of different age groups. All in all very disappointed and wont be going back to this hotel anytime soon. Thinking of asking Thomsons for a full refund!

Review based on a trip in May 2011

Half term break

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 04/06/2011 Anonymous  from East Sussex said...

Very nice chilled hotel, small road to cross to am amazing beach which stretches for miles either way. You have to wade in a long way to swim as its lagoon blue but shallow, very relaxing though. The hotel was big but being adults only very quite no rowdy people, rooms we thought were cramped, no chest of drawers,but OK, very clean beds quite hard, cleaned daily. Food was good, sometimes had to wait for dishes to be brought out, but staff always helpful. We had a good 10 minute walk to the local shops, so not as near as we expected its not central to anything, apart from a Supermarket over the road. Entertainment in evenings was good, stand up sit down bingo a bit of fun after dinner, you can win a few Euro's if your lucky and the Rod Stewart tribute was very good reps are on hand and friendly, Had Adam to guide us through the week Aj . always helpful. All in all a nice friendly hotel pool nice but cold. Good location for the beach.No complaints. Would go back to the location again but might pick a hotel nearer the shops.

Review based on a trip in May 2011


Page 38 of 73

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson