Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Son Baulo



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Son Baulo

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 422 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Very good overall

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 22/09/2009 Anonymous  from Surrey said...

The Hotel Son Baulo is in a great location right on the beach and from what I could see, there are no other hotels in this resort that are right on the beach. Its at the end of the bay with a nice promenade walk into Can Picafort just 15 minutes away. There are a few bars and restaurants on the way into town before you hit the main strip of the town. The beach is really nice although be aware that if you want to use the sun loungers and umbrellas that are there, it will cost you EURO 8.5 per day which is pretty steep. There are plenty of loungers and umbrellas on the hotel terrace and by the pools that are free so you dont have to pay unless you have to be on the beach. We were there with a 17 month old baby so we stayed by the kids pool and just walked onto the beach when we wanted to go into the sea. Around the kids pools all the parents that had brought toys along each day basically just put them all around the pool for all the kids to share which worked out really well. The pool snack bar is ok although the range is not all that extensive. The portions are good and the staff very friendly. Prices are ok too. There is a fairly large bar area which also serves lunches and snacks during the day. This leads out onto a large terrace overlooking the beach. There is a quiet room with TV and a seperate kids room with Sky TV and games. We didn't see much of the evening entertainment as we had the baby to get to bed but the little ones certainly seemed to enjoy the nightly mini disco. The food in the main restaurant was very good. The breakfast had everything you could want with good hot fresh ingredients. Dinners had a pretty good choice and the quality again was good. My only criticism would be that it would have been nice to see some more Spanish dishes. Whilst they did have paellas and a few other bits occasionally, I felt they could have veered away from the 'please the Brits' menu a bit more. Even Patatas Bravas instead of chips would have been a nice change. The staff in the hotel are very friendly and always happy to help, from waiters and chefs to the reception staff and cleaners. The rooms are ok but fairly basic. The big problem was no light on the balcony. Once the baby was asleep we had no light to read. Ask reception for an extension lead for the lamp. DO NOT pre book a fridge through Thomson - It cost us #66.00 for 11 nights, compared to EURO 28.60 in resort. Overall a great resort and hotel for famillies with kids.

Review based on a trip in September 2009

C'an Picafort

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 13/09/2009 Anonymous  from Nottinghamshire said...

Just returned from Hotel Son Baulo with husband and little boy of nearly 4. Brilliant!! Would definitely recommend for families with children under 5. Ramps everywhere for buggies. Kids club available if required. Food good - no problems with choice for kids. Pools are always clean and a 'No Reservation of Sunbeds' policy that is enforced. Was always a sun bed available at any time of the day. Rooms very basic, but plenty of room for 3 of us. Clean towels every day if required. All the staff were brilliant with little ones and you were never made to feel uncomfortable if your little one went wondering round through dinner! Beach was great. Nice shelving bay into the shallow water. 8.50 euros for 2 sunbeds and parasol for the day. Lovely walk along promenade into centre of C'an Picafort- about 20mins. Son Baulo is actually on the outskirts of C'an Picafort, which is good as C'an Picafort very built up and busy. Plenty of shops and bars near to Hotel and cashpoint round the corner. Are thinking of going back next year. Many people return year after year. One elderly couple who were there had been going for the past 16 years. I think that says it all.

Review based on a trip in September 2009

Disappointed

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 11/09/2009 Anonymous  from Middlesex said...

This was a late booking as the hotel we usually go to had got expensive, we were recommended by lady at thomson shop as the hotel had been given a large discount. You get what you pay for. We are pensioners, and asked for assistance at the airports, brilliant, no cost and we were treated like royalty, well nearly. I had dreaded the walk at Palma. We got to the hotel around 11pm, I had asked for low floor, but the room was awful, the furniture looked as if it had been there since it was built, the sheets you could see through, could have at least supplied a hair drier, some of my family were joining us on and off during our stay and my son had a room with his two children, TV and Fridge supplied. The room was clean and clean towels supplied. Very picturesque setting, and the beach just outside, but getting in and out of the sea, nightmare, big waves and yucky seaweed. Not good for young children. Hotel pool great with plenty sunbeds for all. If you want a holiday without too much noise and kids dont go there. The food especially breakfasts was good, eggs cooked in front of you, the chef had a good nod as to how many you wanted and if you asked for anything but a cheese and ham omelette you put him in a panic. All staff were excellant and friendly nothing too much trouble. Jill the oneman entertainment organiser had a lot on her hands, although should have been more activities round pool during the day especially for the older children we had girls of 12 and 14 to keep amused with us, and were bored. We also hired a car because of a lot of collecting and deliverying of family to the airport and was cheaper than hiring taxis, what a rip off. We went to see Pirates again, amazing, Excursion I booked with Thomson before we left to make sure I got tickets. We wanted to go to the Water Park in Magaluf and Marine Land, I asked Thomson rep in hotel if it was cheaper to go on excursion with them or in our car, she said they were going to Arenal, so off we went only to find Magaluf closed till next year, she could have told us. The kids Mini disco, was fun and even the girls joined in and loved the bingo after. The evening entertainment later was good but not that enjoyable for kids, so they were pleased to have the games room and Sky TV to watch. They felt very safe. The hotel had its good points and not so good, very pretty area, but we didnt feel safe in the sea at that point so doubt if we will be back. Back home in less than 7 hours, amazing.

Review based on a trip in August 2009

Loved Hotel Son Baulo

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 04/09/2009 Anonymous  from North Yorkshire said...

Just returned from 7 nights at above hotel with my husband and 2 children aged 9 and 5, this is the first time we have taken them abroad and we all loved it. I booked this hotel after spending ages looking through reviews on various websites, I can only say I wasnt disapointed. Hotel very clean and in lovely position on the beach. Good selection of food for breakfast and evening meal. Staff lovely and helpful and couldnt do enough for you. Location of hotel is in quiet spot on beach, approx 20 min walk from centre via promenade, lots of smaller bars near to hotel which would recommend. All in all had a lovely holiday, everyone we spoke to had been to hotel before and had returned because was such a lovely place, we will be one of them, have already enquired re prices for next year.

Review based on a trip in August 2009

Son Baulo is one in a million....AMAZING

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 02/09/2009 Anonymous  from Dorset said...

Just got back and have to say this is the cleanest friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in. I can't think of anything that anyone could complain about. Staff were always smiling, and chatty - even the ones that spoke only spanish tried to chat with my 3 year old daughter!!...maids were constantly cleaning rooms halls, bars even the loos were cleaned constantly during the day and night and were spotless. The food was superb different main dishes every night and the hygiene was great. Staff attentive and happy, always had a joke and a laugh. (Hilarious Joni & Sweet Rosie) Breakfast grill chef was hilarious with him small omlettes...howmany eggs does he cook in a week and he is still grinning and laughing with you!!! Entertainer Jill was always laughing and kept us in hysterics nightly...how does she do it every day??? She never had an off day! She even got my Dad up dancing at the kids disco to please my daughter who wanted her Grandad to dance cartoon heroes with her - no mean feat!! Thomson reps were superb working day and night and never a complaint - always smiling. My daughter loved Emma (who she thinks might have lied about the fairy living in the hotel!!) and also Rachel who always looked hot but was ready to leap on stage and dance the night away or chat with you about anything - all the reps were great! The waiters were hilarious, Antonio Jesus and his duck and cow, Nacho, Manuel...we loved em all...the pool bar staff were funny. Son Baulo where did you get these people??? They are priceless, I have NEVER met a bunch of such happy workers. I wanted to share this with you but my only worry is that it becomes too popular I won't be able to get booked up next time. Did I mention you walk out of the door onto a superb beach????

Review based on a trip in August 2009


Page 51 of 85

23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  36  37  38  39  40  41  42   more...  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson