Show Review

Thomson Holidays - Hotel Reviews of the Hotel Galaxy



Overall Rating:

 

Other Accommodation Reviews

Hotel Galaxy

More hotel details, photos and videos

What to expect based on 9 review(s)

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Have you stayed here?
Write a review | Holiday Reviews

Read other reviews

Read reviews

Loved relaxation

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 24/10/2011 Anonymous  from Bridgend said...

Hotel Galaxy was comfortable if a bit dated, but the welcome we had was second to none. The area was ideal so close to the marina, and a nice leisurely stroll along the front, down to Kos Town itself, which took no longer than 30 minutes, where there was a variety of shops. It was like a labyrinth, finding places to eat was no problem at all, and no dearer than if you were eating out at home. Would recommend this island of Greece.

Review based on a trip in October 2011

Hotel Galaxy - a very budget hotel

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 09/10/2011 Anonymous  from Leicestershire said...

We have stayed in budget accommodation before and always appreciated that things aren't 5-star, so are fully aware of what 'budget' means. But Hotel Galaxy fell below expectations.

The bar is open until 6am. Bear this in mind, as most rooms overlook the hotel bar and music is playing until the early hours. The hotel barman talks very loud and sings badly to this music. As it is so hot in the tiny, poorly ventilated rooms, you need to have your balcony door open at night. Or pay the hotel barman 7euros per night for the aircon so you can close the doors and drown out the music with the sound of the aircon. If you're looking for a relaxing break, take ear plugs.

Security: "leave your keys behind the un-manned reception and help yourself" to everybody elses' room keys? Didn't feel safe to do that so we kept our room key on us which was frowned upon and told was a problem. We did it anyway. But needn't have bothered as the cleaners opened our street opening patio doors and left them open all day. Thanks. Luckily nothing taken.

Breakfast. Hope you like luncheon meat. The bread was ok, jam ok, but don't ask for cereals - you won't get any. You can have orange squash instead of juice, and a thimble of tea/coffee to wash it down with.

Our room was tiny. The shower room/toilet was by the exit door furthest from the patio. There was no window or fan in the toilet, hence no ventilation. So our room didn't smell very nice. The door of the toilet even had to be cut away to allow it to swing past the sink - that small!

There's a great little Taberna down the road, Lithino - go there! Amazing food!

Review based on a trip in September 2011

Loved Kos - hated the accommodation

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 29/09/2011 Anonymous  from Hertfordshire said...

Kos Town was brilliant, the location was good and Thomson staff were efficient and friendly and the flights were fine.

Unfortunately, the accommodation was very, very sub-standard. Looks as though it had not been updated since the 1980's, the furniture in the bar area was full of holes and very tacky, the shower room was very small, scruffy, old fashioned and every morning there was not any hot water at all. No plug in the sink and half the lights did not work.

Breakfast was two dry rolls, tastless cheese, a bit of cold meat (not sure what type), hard boiled egg which was absolutely stone cold and a couple of sachets of jam - yuk. Needless to say we did not have any breakfast there after the first morning.

The barman, who was there most of the time, was unprofessional - thinking it is is okay to swear about the weather (the f word).

Overall, the Hotel Galaxy was awful and we would never go back there. There were four adults in our party and we all felt the same.

Review based on a trip in September 2011

Loved Kos not too keen on the Galaxy

Overall Rating:
 

What to expect

Room Comfort
 
Location
 
Food
 
Cleanliness
 
Overall
 

Writing on 27/09/2011 Anonymous  from South Yorkshire said...

I was in shock when we were shown to our room, I thought we had arrived in the year 1940. we were not actually located in the hotel we were in a small self catering apartment with no balcony (so what was displayed in the brochure was not what we got). There was a couple of chairs and table outside but no privacy. Although we had lovely neighbours including a lady from Finland.

The sheets were clean but I couldn't put my clothes in the wardrobe ( well sort of a wardrobe!) as it smelt damp as did the kitchen cupboards.

The sheets were only changed twice and I emptied the toilet bin as this was not done every day either. to top it all building work began next door the next morning after we arrived. Grrrrrrr.

I have visited Greece for the last 20 years and I always enjoy the breakfast however no cereal, no greek yoghurt no cake.....just boiled egg two cheap looking bread cakes and plastic cheese ham and some jam. one small glass of juice!

The night bar man was very friendly other than that if you didn't buy drinks in the bar they didn't really want to know. But who would want to when the drinks were more expensive than town and the seats were grubby and torn with the foam exposed!

A short walk to the end of the road and you could climb some steps and wave to the prisoners! yes the prison was at the end of the street.

However this has not put me off going to Kos again, Kos town is beautiful, lots of lovely restaurants not over priced either. Drinks were very reasonable in most bars.

The other saving grace was the Hotel Peridis around the corner, with a beautiful pool reasonably priced food and drinks and you were welcome to join in the nightly entertainment.

If I had paid the full price for this holiday I would have been furious. This is the first time I have been disappointed with a Thomson Hotel.

Review based on a trip in September 2011


Page 1 of 2

1  2  

Prev  |  Next

seltxtCountry seltxtResort seltxtAccommodation seltextCountry seltextResort seltextAccommodation
 
 
 
 
Explore Thomson