Home » Popular » UK Holiday Calendar 2014

UK Holiday Calendar 2014

It’s the New Year, which can only mean one thing: time to plan your next holiday…

Want to make the most of 2014? Here’s a handy list of dates for the year ahead in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. We’ve included bank and public holidays so you can eek a bit more out of your annual leave, as well as some important dates for your diary. If you’re looking for school holiday dates, scroll to the link at the bottom to search by region.


2014 beach scene

 

UK Holiday Calendar 2014

Wednesday 1st January - New Year’s Day (bank holiday)
Saturday 25th January – Burns’ Night
Friday 31st January – Chinese New Year (of the Horse)
Friday 14th February – Valentine’s Day
Saturday 1st March – St David’s Day, Patron Saint of Wales
Tuesday 4th March – Shrove Tuesday
Wednesday 5th March – Ash Wednesday
Monday 17th March – St Patrick’s Day (bank holiday Northern Ireland)
Sunday 30th March – Mother’s Day/British Summer Time begins (clocks go forward)
Tuesday 1st April – April Fool’s Day
Sunday 13th April – Palm Sunday
Friday 18th April – Good Friday (public holiday)
Sunday 20th April – Easter Sunday
Monday 21st April – Easter Monday (bank holiday England and Wales and Northern Ireland)
Wednesday 23rd April – St George’s Day, Patron Saint of England
Monday 5th May – Early May Bank Holiday (national)
Monday 26th May – Spring Bank Holiday (national)
Sunday 15th June – Father’s Day
Monday 14th July – Battle of the Boyne (substitute day, bank holiday Northern Ireland)
Monday 4th August – Summer Bank Holiday (Scotland)
Monday 25th August – Summer Bank Holiday (England and Wales and Northern Ireland)
Sunday 26th October – British Summer Time ends (clocks go back)
Friday 31st October – Halloween
Wednesday 5th November – Bonfire Night
Sunday 9th November – Remembrance Day
Sunday 30th November – St Andrew’s Day, Patron Saint of Scotland
Monday 1st December – St Andrew’s Day (substitute day, bank holiday Scotland)
Thursday 25th December – Christmas Day (public holiday)
Friday 26th December – Boxing Day (bank holiday)
Wednesday 31st December – New Year’s Eve/Hogmanay

Looking for school holiday dates?

Try GOV.UK’s handy search tool to find school term dates for your region.

You May Also Like

6 Responses to “NEW – Thomson Airways Introduces Mobile Boarding Passes”

  1. sue555@icloud.com' Sue Taylor

    Dear Sir/Madam

    My husband and I have just returned from the Grand Efe Hotel at Ozdere Turkey. This hotel is fantastic the food is good, the entertainment is brilliant and the entertainment team are fantastic for adults and children. The hotel is overlooking the sea and it is an all inclusive hotel.

    When we were there, there was only 7 British people there because British people have not heard of this hotel/place in Turkey because it is not on the major travel companies. We only heard of it through friends who work there.

    When we booked our travel agent had to book it by booking everything separate but we like booking holidays as a package so I highly recommend this hotel for your company so British people will hear about it.

    Your regards

    Sue Taylor

    Reply
    • hayley.pattison@thomson.co.uk' Hayley Pattison

      Hi Sue, Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback. I’ll be sure to pass this on for you to see if it’s something we could offer as a package holiday in the future. ^Hayley

  2. sian.taylor26@googlemail.com' Sian Taylor

    Hi, I have been attempting to print out boarding passes for our family holiday…all the logos, headers are there, but no passenger information is appearing. Am I doing something wrong?

    Reply
    • melanie.james@thomson.co.uk' Melanie James

      Hi Sian, Could you please confirm your booking reference and I will check this for you.

  3. cerysbenes@gmail.com' Stop cat spraing in house

    Spoiled ҟittens only do what they want, when they want. Instead of you telling the cat to
    avoid the furnitսre, let the fսrniture itself tell the cat to stay away.

    In the RockforԀ, Illinois area or wҺеrever you are, this site is a must have for all animal lovers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

We would love to hear your feedback or comments about this blog post here. For further information about holidays you've booked or questions about destinations you would like to visit, please call us on 0871 231 4691 or ask our advisors a question and they will be happy to help.